Unlisted Brand • Solia Ceramic Ion Flat Iron • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.0(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 katiexkaboom on 6/24/2010 8:59:00 AM more reviews by katiexkaboom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in the limited addition pink after having CHI flat irons for about 7 years before that. I wanted something else as I believe that CHIs have not changed at all while the technologies in flat irons have improved. I tried this instead. The Solia iron does not pull my hair, straightens it pretty quickly, and makes it look very silk. It does a good job of not burning my fine hair. My only complaint is that my hair is very susceptible to humidity now, more so than when I used my CHI. I'm going to try some different products with it and hope that that aspect improves.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nidsters19 on 3/10/2010 11:38:00 AM more reviews by nidsters19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just read the review from nutterbutterstar, and I can't agree more. It sucks. It pulls my hair, it takes forever to straighten my hair, and it's bulky. I get dents in my hair since it's not smooth at all. I have no idea who actually likes this iron, but they need to see the light and buy anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nutterbutterstar on 12/30/2009 11:17:00 PM more reviews by nutterbutterstar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I decided to buy a "nice" flat iron after a couple years of using my Remington iron with mediocre results. I stupidly figured that a more expensive brand name iron would be better than something bought at Target...I was wrong. I have semi-thick wavy hair, but the top layer is straight (very annoying). I always use a heat protectant.


For reference, my Remington would need several passes before it got straight and looked good. I tried the Solia out at 370 degrees first, and it failed. At the highest temp it worked better, but it still needed several passes and never got fully straight and never looked good.


For starters, it looks and feels cheap. It snags my hair. It didn't straighten no matter how slow I passed it through my hair or how high the temperature was. It didn't leave my hair feeling soft or looking silky. It doesn't get close enough to the root which leaves me with wavy roots/dents. It left my hair looking oddly greasy rather than shiny.


I wouldn't recommend this to anyone; even those with straight hair should stay away due to the excessive snagging. Horrible product. I ordered it from Folica, and I will be returning it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Theresa13n on 12/12/2009 6:59:00 PM more reviews by Theresa13n

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I find that the solia works great at straightening hair if you run it slowly thru your hair. If you run it thru fast there is no time for the heat to straighten your hair. With a toumaline flat iron, I am not worried about burning my hair. Also, I use a heat protectant spray before using any heat styling tool. Hopefully this will help those that find they have to run the iron thru their hair many times before it works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 11/8/2009 3:39:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This iron heats up to 450 degrees however, it takes more than one pass even on the highest setting for it to get the hair straight. I ended up eventually throwing this iron away. As, there are much better flatirons on the market than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UltraPremiumDeluxe on 9/16/2009 3:03:00 PM more reviews by UltraPremiumDeluxe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I did hours of research on this and eventually got the pink 1". I have fine wavy very long hair. This transformed my hair entirely, like putting on a wig. It doesn't even hold a curl anymore. I use CHI Straight Guard and Silk Infusion and it's AMAZING!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vix5586 on 9/5/2009 7:35:00 PM more reviews by vix5586

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased a Solia a few years back, hated it and returned it...only to discover later it was defective. I purchased another one and I am in love. I've had it for almost 2 years now and it still works as good as the day I got it. It gets my hair so straight and shiny with only one pass. I love it so much I bought one for my sister for her birthday...and now she loves it too! It's pricey, but Folica runs sales all the time. I have literally nothing bad to say about this flat iron. When, God forbid, mine does eventually wear out, I will absolutely buy another one :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* normaestrada19 on 8/10/2009 3:09:00 AM more reviews by normaestrada19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love my Solia, and let me tell you I did my research before purchase. After much comparing between the sedu, solano and GHD I decided to add the Solia to my list of possible straightening irons. Well the price, it was the cheapest out of all the irons, and great reviews made it an easy choice. I have had many people use my Solia, ranging from thin, wavy, thick and curly haired girls and never once do I hear a complaint. If anything they are convinced the straightener came from the heavens, lol. For the record I got mine through Folica.com for the awesome price of $80 bucks, you also get a free heat pouch that allows you to store the solia away after usage, even at 450 degrees! No more burned bathroom sinks, something I am sure my landlord appreciates.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Michele0588 on 7/8/2009 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Michele0588

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I started straightening my hair in middle school and at the time just got the cheap drugstore ones until it just became such a pain in the rear to go out every couple of months to get a new one because they couldn't handle the monster that I call hair. My mom, after doing some extensive research (she is a scientist) bought me the Solia.
I've had my Solia for about 5 and half years (I'm not even kidding) and it's still amazing. Granted, you can tell that it's a five year old straightener because the wires have started poking out but a little electrical tape fixed that right up and really, what do you expect? They're not meant to last forever. But after that happened, I started looking around for a new straightener. My friend has a CHI and I tested it out thinking I would get one of those but it seriously killed my hair. I happen to like a little volume because I think poker straight hair should stay in the 60s. After a couple of months of searching, I decided on a FHI (because it was pink) for $80 on sale and it was the worst mistake of my life. It couldn't handle my curls apparently because it was bumpy and still frizzy when I was done so I sold it to a friend of mine who has naturally straight hair but just wanted something to polish it off for $30 bucks. And went to folica.com (where I bought my original Solia) and bought the cute purple one and I couldn't be happier! I will never buy another brand of flat iron again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* uraznbabygurl on 4/23/2009 10:35:00 AM more reviews by uraznbabygurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this for about a year and a half now, and it's been awesome! :]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Styling Tools products