Essie • Aruba Blue • Polishes

rated 4.6(54 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 siobhanerin on 5/6/2012 8:49:00 PM more reviews by siobhanerin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful. The colour is sensational -bright and shimmery, it applies wonderfully and lasts longer than some of my other essie polishes. My favourite royal blue by far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 d1d1 on 4/19/2012 12:11:00 AM more reviews by d1d1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, I got Aruba Blue by Essie because it was on sale for $7 at the drugstore and this color was the only one standing out from the bunch. I own a few of this brand and really love it. I displayed this shiny mettalic cobalt blue for about a full day's worth, but all in all I do prefer the tamed version in matte finish for sure. The image above is quite true to what I have on my nails.

I also own "Co-Bolt" blue by Sally Hansen which is identical to Aruba Blue, but I like Essie's formula better and it didn't take me too long to get the touch ups done.

It dried quick, the color usually would last about 5 days to a week, with base/top coats. I've seen it in all types of skin tones and it really looks edgy,fresh and fun. I find that this color actually attracts chatty people and thanks goodness banishes those tedious people away from you. *laughs. I love it!!! I even dare to say Aruba Blue is one of the top 10 must haves colors, but I personally I would keep my nails short and use matte top coat.

Trivia: Glee fans know about Tina (played by Jenna Ushkowitz) loving this color.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathou on 4/13/2012 4:59:00 PM more reviews by Mathou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Great colour... I normally wear Blue Satin from Chanel when I wear blue but this is a nice option too - it's more fresh than the other one, but I'm just very conservative when it comes to nails. I prefer them in balck, navy, red or french manicured which is why I don't rate this higher...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ricksgirl32 on 3/25/2012 4:48:00 AM more reviews by Ricksgirl32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Rich,beautiful blue! A little too deep for me but I <3 all my essies and highly reccomend the brand,they coat well and go on smooth time after time,just 2 coats and you are ready to go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KeyWestBum on 3/15/2012 8:51:00 AM more reviews by KeyWestBum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Great color. Very happy with this purchase. Now, I'm in my mid thirties and still wear all the fun and crazy colors on my nails. I think as long as the nails are short, anyone can get away with fun colors! Aruba Blue is a vibrant deep jewel toned blue with a very slight sheen of pearl in it. For some reason, this blue seems to look somewhat sophisticated and the shade is very easy to pull off. I really love the formula of this np. The color went on very even with no streaks. The pigment in the np is outstanding. I got true to the bottle color with 2 coats. The np itself is glossy and you could get away without a topcoat if you are in a rush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 1/27/2012 4:48:00 PM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Yowza, this is a beautiful colour. Sapphire blue with a shot of metallic sheen running through it. I used to think blue nails were kind of tacky, but now I love it. I always get compliments when I wear this- looks best on shorter nails, IMO.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itsdeniseflavor on 12/18/2011 9:48:00 PM more reviews by itsdeniseflavor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for an electric, shocking blue that I saw in a clothing ad. And though I'm not sure if this was the color, it's still a keeper! It's a gorgeous blue that reflects in the light. It's SO pretty! You can get it at Target, which is very convenient.
Chipping is not an issue for me. I've had it on my toes for a really long time (lazy lol) and it's only starting to chip.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupaddict76 on 11/23/2011 9:47:00 AM more reviews by makeupaddict76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Really intense sapphire blue, easy to apply, opaque in one coat w/out any streaking. Lasted on my toes for 2 wks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fustyluggz on 8/15/2011 11:21:00 PM more reviews by fustyluggz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have a slight obsession with blue nail polish. This is quite possibly the most gorgeous blue shade I've ever seen - not just in a polish but in general. It's got that lit-from-within quality, it's an electric, eye-catching and just stunningly beautiful sapphire blue. This shade really needs to be seen in person to capture how beautiful it is, pictures really don't do it justice. I think a lot of Essie shades are very plain and this is a bit out of the box for them but, honestly, if this is how they do out of the box then they should do it more often. This polish is very pigmented, two coats make your nails look just like what's in the bottle. Wear time is decent with a top coat, I get about 4-5 days. This is just a really great edgy, chic color for us blue polish loving girls.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sammycansing01 on 8/5/2011 11:52:00 AM more reviews by sammycansing01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This nail polish was on my wish list and when I got it for $4 at TJ Maxx, I instantly had to buy it. This is a dark deep blue color that is very metallically. You only need to apply the most two coats to get that perfect color that you see inside the bottle. My only complaint about this nail polish is that if you mess up and the polish is on your skin, it is hard to get off because of how pigmented it is. So, be careful :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products