Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm

4.3

476 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyethylene, Peg-5 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Water, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol


on 1/12/2015 10:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've used this product for almost a year now and it's by far the best makeup remover I've ever used. it not only fulfills every claim made, but also sooths and hydrates the skin. I would definitely recommend this to a friend,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/8/2015 3:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is so kind to my skin. It feels like a lovely cream that after massaging into your face ( which is part of the pleasure ) rinses off easily. No fragrance, which is a bonus. The packaging is a bit of a faff - one's hands are covered in product when trying to replace the massive lid - but this is no big deal for me when placed alongside the truly balm-like richness. Works as a cleanser, nice and gentle. Costs the absolute earth where I live ( $AUD ) but worth every cent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm on my third container of this stuff, and it lasts forever. When I first got this, I made the mistake of wetting my face first, and struggling to get this stuff out of the pot to apply (water in the pot, digging at it with my fingers, disaster). It was incredibly frustrating.

After experimenting a bit, I've figured out the best way to use this: keep your face dry, and use a little spatula (one of those 2-inch sample plastic scraper things from Sephora) to scrape a pea-size amount of this product, warm between your fingers, then apply to your face, letting it dissolve like an oil into your skin. I massage the product in for about a minute, concentrating on the more made-up parts of my face. I keep my eyes closed and smooth over my eye makeup last, then rinse with warm water. It does an amazing job at removing makeup. Depending on how much makeup I'm wearing, I might dry my face at this point and continue with my nighttime routine, or I might quickly do another wash with a small amount of regular cleanser, in case there is residue.

I don't know how else to get this stuff out of the jar without a mini spatula (it doesn't seem hygienic to rub at it with my fingers each time I use it, especially since it's a pristine creamy white).

The texture is amazing, the product does a good job at cleaning my face without drying it out and irritating my sensitive skin, and a little bit goes a long way, which makes up for the price. It's hard to travel with, unless I decant it into a smaller container. Recommend!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2015 1:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is, hands down, the best makeup remover I have ever used. I especially like it for removing waterproof mascara and long-lasting lipstick. So relieved I don't have to drag cotton balls across my lashes any more. I sometimes wipe it off with a wet washcloth (gently!) and I always follow it with a good facial cleanser like Neutrogena, because it does have an an oily residue (not anywhere near the old-time makeup removers like baby oil though!) It even smells good, even though Clinique is supposed to have fragrance-free products.
It's pricey, sure, but I like that it comes in a jar so I can get every last bit out. I put a small amount in a tiny pot when I"m traveling because I can't do without it (and because I don't want to carry a big heavy jar with me).
Kudos to Clinique for this one.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 12/25/2014 2:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I Iove this stuff. Yeah, it's pricey but a little goes a long way and it does a great job at taking off my face and waterproof eye makeup.

I use body shop's waterproof chamomile eye makeup remover to remove my eye makeup first and then I'll take some of this cleansing balm and put some on my cheeks, forehead and a little on my neck. Then I'll massage product into my skin. Whatever's left on my fingers, I'll massage my eyes to make sure I get rid of the leftover eye makeup.

Then I use a hot washcloth, lay it over my face for a couple seconds and then wipe off my makeup. Then I'll cleanse my face with either a face scrub or a simple cleanser.

Love that it doesn't leave any residue and doesn't dry out my eye area (like the dhc cleansing oil)

Definitely would repurchase!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2014 9:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

After reading a lot of reviews, although i was hesitant to put on an oil based cleanser on my combo skin, i decided to give it a go with this product. After a week of use, only in the evening, my jawline got covered up with whiteheads, and i rarely get breakouts. They were really small but there were so many of them it was unbelievable. I stopped using it right away and it got cleared up. I will never buy this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2014 7:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Best makeup remover I have ever tried! And the only one ever to remove my eye makeup without a struggle or any tugging.

If you have dry skin this is/will be a wonderful addition to your winter regime. It removes my eye makeup in a snap and acts as an eye moisturizer as well. For reference I use Urban Decay Eye Primer Potion (which is hardcore stuff), waterproof liquid or gel liner, and mascara and this takes it all off in basically one gentle swipe. Of course this also removes my foundation/contour etc like a charm. AND best of all it's sort of a pre-moisturizing treatment to insure that the next step (Cleansing) doesn't strip my skin...

The only "con"s to this stuff is 1) that I really can't use it on the daily as an all over remover because its so moisturizing it can be slightly difficult to fully remove - meaning that it interferes with the absorption of my other oils, lotions, and potions. BUT I can use it daily for eyes, which rocks. I use it as an all over remover and treatment 2-3 times a week to gain added much needed moisturizing properties that the skin loving ingredients provide and it really helps my skin retain moisture throughout the week. 2) Its kind of expensive but the tub will last FOREVER and a day. 3) Does this really need to be in a tub? I feel like there are plenty of other uber thick Clinique products packaged in tube form so I dunno why this is packaged in such a sort of pseudo unsanitary way. Regardless, this stuff is AMAZING.

For those reviewers that broke out using this: Clinique makes this in 2 forms, the balm (this one) and a liquid and I am pretty sure the liquid is meant for more normal to oily skin types.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2014 4:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow, this supposed gentle "balm" dried out my skin like mad and turned it into veritable sahara, parchment dry. And I KNOW it was this cleasing balm because it was the ONLY item I changed in my skin care routine.

I can't give it an abyssmal rating because this product DOES deliver what it promises - it does take off all the makeup. I also found that it rinsed off completely with water without leaving a greasy residue. So far, so good. BUT, in order to do the latter - rinse off cleanly - it HAS to contain a potent detergent. If it didn't one simply couldn't just wash it off with water. Thus, for my sensitive, already dry, skin this product isn't good. But I could see it working fabulously on more robust, normal-combo to oily skin. However, I am highly dubious that it is a swell choice for already dry skin. Do not be distracted by the Vaseline like consistency in the jar. If it remained this emollient, you'd have to remove it with soap and a heavy duty washcloth. The fact that one doesn't, that it WILL act like rinse-off soap, indicates that it isn't as gentle as it seems. A detergent based cleanser is NOT more gentle on facial skin than a gentle, moisturizing soap ( e.g. Dove Beauty bar). My advice: keep the receipt and be prepared to take it back. I did.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I really wanted to like this but sadly it breaks me out. I have sensitive combination skin. After using this, my jawline was very very congested, with countless of little bumps- I don't really know how to describe them, they are like zits underneath the skin layer and when extracted, are like oil seeds. I stopped using for while before doing a second test run and oh how I regretted that. The congestion got worse and I had to spend a lot of money to get my skin back on track. Even now, the congestion problem never really goes away- and I tried the balm about a year ago.
Just thought I had to share this. Becareful when trying oil products. It's not for everyone.


on 12/2/2014 2:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I combination skin, classic T zone, dull, dewy, dehydrated cheeks, not dry or flaky. I have very sensitive skin and eyes.

After watching Lisa Eldridge videos etc I thought right I am trying this. ( She recommended not using the same product everyday) I use this every other day, morning and night.

When I first looked inside the tub I thought oh no, this looks like greasy in a tub, why did I waste so much money.
I scooped a small amount out (about a grape size) and gently massaged it onto to my skin ( heart beating at it reminded me of lard) I gently massaged it for around two minutes and then rinsed off with tepid water and patted dry. I then again repeated the grape sized balm and gentle massage over my face for 20 minutes and rinsed off the same.

I looked in the mirror and expected a greasy, shiny look, but it wasn't. My skin looked really clean, fresh, smooth to touch, none drying. I believed it was a fluke and expected to wake up with spots. I didn't I used it everyday for 5 days (was waiting on an order from La La Roche Posay so I could use both alternatively)
Within a week, people were commenting I looked well yet they couldn't put there finger on why. (I either looked dirty beforehand ha or it's this balm)

Up to now I am very happy, only dislike is the tub and I have to put my fingers into it. Apart from that a little goes along way. I takes all my make up off, day make up and night time (heavier make up) I think I have fount one of my cleansers, only taken 20 years ha.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top