Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm

4.3

469 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyethylene, Peg-5 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Water, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol


on 12/9/2014 4:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wow, this supposed gentle "balm" dried out my skin like mad and turned it into veritable sahara, parchment dry. And I KNOW it was this cleasing balm because it was the ONLY item I changed in my skin care routine.

I can't give it an abyssmal rating because this product DOES deliver what it promises - it does take off all the makeup. I also found that it rinsed off completely with water without leaving a greasy residue. So far, so good. BUT, in order to do the latter - rinse off cleanly - it HAS to contain a potent detergent. If it didn't one simply couldn't just wash it off with water. Thus, for my sensitive, already dry, skin this product isn't good. But I could see it working fabulously on more robust, normal-combo to oily skin. However, I am highly dubious that it is a swell choice for already dry skin. Do not be distracted by the Vaseline like consistency in the jar. If it remained this emollient, you'd have to remove it with soap and a heavy duty washcloth. The fact that one doesn't, that it WILL act like rinse-off soap, indicates that it isn't as gentle as it seems. A detergent based cleanser is NOT more gentle on facial skin than a gentle, moisturizing soap ( e.g. Dove Beauty bar). My advice: keep the receipt and be prepared to take it back. I did.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I really wanted to like this but sadly it breaks me out. I have sensitive combination skin. After using this, my jawline was very very congested, with countless of little bumps- I don't really know how to describe them, they are like zits underneath the skin layer and when extracted, are like oil seeds. I stopped using for while before doing a second test run and oh how I regretted that. The congestion got worse and I had to spend a lot of money to get my skin back on track. Even now, the congestion problem never really goes away- and I tried the balm about a year ago.
Just thought I had to share this. Becareful when trying oil products. It's not for everyone.


on 12/2/2014 2:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I combination skin, classic T zone, dull, dewy, dehydrated cheeks, not dry or flaky. I have very sensitive skin and eyes.

After watching Lisa Eldridge videos etc I thought right I am trying this. ( She recommended not using the same product everyday) I use this every other day, morning and night.

When I first looked inside the tub I thought oh no, this looks like greasy in a tub, why did I waste so much money.
I scooped a small amount out (about a grape size) and gently massaged it onto to my skin ( heart beating at it reminded me of lard) I gently massaged it for around two minutes and then rinsed off with tepid water and patted dry. I then again repeated the grape sized balm and gentle massage over my face for 20 minutes and rinsed off the same.

I looked in the mirror and expected a greasy, shiny look, but it wasn't. My skin looked really clean, fresh, smooth to touch, none drying. I believed it was a fluke and expected to wake up with spots. I didn't I used it everyday for 5 days (was waiting on an order from La La Roche Posay so I could use both alternatively)
Within a week, people were commenting I looked well yet they couldn't put there finger on why. (I either looked dirty beforehand ha or it's this balm)

Up to now I am very happy, only dislike is the tub and I have to put my fingers into it. Apart from that a little goes along way. I takes all my make up off, day make up and night time (heavier make up) I think I have fount one of my cleansers, only taken 20 years ha.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Lovely feeling balm. Removes all make up traces beautifully.


on 11/24/2014 8:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a really effective makeup removing balm. It goes on extremely smooth (no gritty bits), removes makeup and can be washed off with water and your bare hands. It washes off better when the water is slightly warm. The skin is left extremely clean without making it squeaky clean or dry at all. I'm paranoid though, so I go over with a mild face wash. But on days I forget, it works just fine. I highly, highly recommend this product. It is un-fragranced, mild, affordable and extremely effective.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2014 8:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is an excellent cleansing cream with a very thick consistency. You have to massage it in and then wash it down with water. It removes make-up very well, it's really mild and gentle to the skin, but can cause breakouts is you use it on its own. I think the reason for this is that I can't wash it down completely, no matter how hard I try. I follow it with La Roche Posay's Toleriane dermo-cleanser, and it works perfectly this way. I've tried a lot of cleansers, and I haven't found any which can be used on its own, so the need to pair it with another product is not a minus for me.


on 11/21/2014 10:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is amazing! I have normal to dry skin...its dry now because of winter but this stuff is silky smooth and doesn't make your skin feel greasy or oily when rinsed! Kind of pricey but just need a little bit so this jar will probably last a very long time.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Best cleanser ever!!


on 11/18/2014 9:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Just one lipstick for this one, because it completely ruined my skin during the time I was using it. Never has a product broke me out so badly like this one did - painful cystic pimples all over my chin that lasted for about 4 days and then left a huge dark mark behind them. The backheads on my nose got worst and I had small pimples on my cheeks too. However this did do a good job cleansing the skin and made it feel soft. The smell didn't bother me and the texture was like lard, but it did turn into a silky oil that was easy to remove with water. Once I stopped using this and switched to another cleansing balm (Balance Me) the break outs completely stopped and my skin cleared up.

Of course I would never buy it again because I don't want to have really soft skin with huge cystic pimples, I just want clear soft skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2014 1:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One word... AMAZING! Used this for the first time today and it makes taking your makeup off a dream! It feels like an oily balm at first but melts all your makeup off beautifully. It doesn't leave an oily residue behind either. I have very dry skin and it left my skin feeing soft and smooth but thoroughly cleansed at the same time. Would definitely repurchase again


Back to Top