Alima • Satin Matte Mineral Foundation • Powder

rated 4.0(428 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 manny1996 on 6/20/2013 2:11:00 PM more reviews by manny1996

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this, but it wasn't meant to be. I was oily all over within two hours of applying the primer and foundation. The color selection was great and it didn't break me out at all, but I'll be going back to glominerals because of the oiliness.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bubbelytoes on 6/10/2013 9:06:00 AM more reviews by bubbelytoes

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT:
Alright, so I am quite certain this was causing tons of tiny bumps all over my face, especially my forehead, cheekbones, and chin. Which, I guess is pretty much all over my face. At any rate, tons of bumps, itchy ones at that, on my face. When I switched over to a different foundation, they were gone in less than 24 hours. I really liked the natural look this provided. My skin just does not tolerate it. I was hopeful, since this has so few ingredients, that it would work better than all the other mineral foundations I've tried. The search continues...

Original review:
I love this powder. It is so light and airy, as though you aren't wearing anything! My skin is very sensitive. VERY. I have to add in one product at a time if I'm trying something new. Previously, I used Jane Iredale's pressed powder mineral foundation, and it quit working for me. I'm so glad I found Alima Pure. I apply with a brush similar to Alima Pure's Kitten brush. The buildable coverage is great for those of us who don't like super-heavy coverage. The new and improved travel lid is brilliant. I live in a humid climate, and this doesn't streak or cake. It melts beautifully into my somewhat oily skin. My only complaint is the color selection, which sounds ludicrous, I know. After much trial, error, and many, many samples, I came to Warm 0 and Warm 1. Warm 0 is a pretty perfect match, but if I apply too much, it gives a whitish cast. I love the additional yellow in Warm 1, but it is either too dark itself or it oxidizes darker on my skin. Honestly, I think it is the latter, as I have this problem with all foundations. Currently, I go back and forth between the two. I have a feeling I'll be ordering a sample of Golden 0 soon to see if that's a good go-between Warm 0 and Warm 1 for me. At any rate, order up some samples if you're not ready to commit to a full-size. Despite my nit-pickiness on the colors, their range color range is something to behold. They are certified pure, cruelty-free, and the customer service is amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tashi09 on 5/27/2013 4:24:00 PM more reviews by Tashi09

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first found out about Alima Pure, I was intimidated by the color choices. I have always had a lot of trouble determining my undertone. But I honed in on the right shade pretty easily -- thanks to a YouTube video by a natural cosmetics store owner. Dark skinned herself, she said "Almost everyone who walks into my store in LA is Beige 2 or Beige 3." That really helped -- sure enough, I am Beige 2. Warm 2 is too yellow, Cool 2 is too pink, and Neutral 2 is a weird ashy shade against my neck. I thought Beige 2 might be a tad light, but Beige 3 was a little dirty looking on me. And Bingo! $6.00 on samples, and I had a winner. Wonderful customer service, wonderful product. It builds up slowly to a very nice finish. Sometimes I feel unhappy with the coverage (or is it the staying power?), but that probably means I should have taken a little more time with it.

I did transfer mine to an old Lancome jar, because a sifter top is pretty essential to me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 4/7/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Thank you to all the users on the makeup board who have posted about Alima foundation -- it's a hassle for me to obtain and I wouldn't have bothered without these positive comments. I'm so glad I took the trouble, because it's fantastic.

First of all, the match between Neutral 0 and my winter skin is spot on. I might buy Neutral 1 for the summer. It is a thrill to be considering a shade up from the lightest! Foundation is a real struggle for me, since so many excellent formulas simply don't make a shade anywhere close to my skintone.

It's also longlasting and a lovely finish on my annoying combo skin. I recently tested all my foundations (about seven on the go) and Alima was easily the winner on all counts but coverage. It's fast and easy to apply (I use it with a kabuki, over moisturizer with SPF and concealer for dark areas like under eyes), goes on smoothly and is buildable. It lasts longer than anything else I use without needing touching up with powder -- that includes other mineral foundations, MAC Studio Fix, Revlon Colorstay, MUFE Mat Velvet+. When it does get a little shiny, it doesn't look greasy, just dewy (but I hate dewy, so I use a touch-up powder). It doesn't settle into lines much and doesn't look dry, OR overly shiny, the way some mineral brands can. And for the first time ever, I'm not using a setting powder. It looks fine -- really "satin matte" -- and lasts the same number of hours without. Skipping step is wonderful on rushed days.

I do find the coverage to be about medium with my kabuki, not truly full, though varying the application could change that. I've used it with a concealer brush on spots and it does get closer to full coverage that way. A paddle foundation brush also gives slightly more, but I like the finish and speed of the kabuki much better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kathy123 on 3/30/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by Kathy123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One thing that makes me angry about mineral makeup is the mess but eventually, the good ones like this brand, make a great difference. Having said that and in comparison with the other mineral foundations, I love this product. Make sure you get some samples before ordering. Golden shades were too yellow for me although I am NC30 according to MAC. One huge advantage to this brand is the color range. I found my match to be Olive 3. Who would have known? The point is that while other brands try to put it in a category of either pink or yellow and then by force, you need to stick with the shade, this brand makes more sense. RIP Prescriptive Custom Liquid Foundation was the same but it got discontinued. The other big advantage to this brand is that the minerals do not sit in one area and they spread pretty well. The final look is great and polished and completely natural. Also, the mineral particles are soft and meltable upon application. Overall, this is a great foundation that meets my high standards.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 3/14/2013 1:34:00 PM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NC25 Chinese yellow toned, acne discoloration to cover!


To be fair, I am not the target market for mineral makeup.. large pores, uneven texture, and discoloration to cover. Doesn't cover at all for me, just looks like powder(ery mess when I try to apply more and more)... would be great for more even skin textures, probably the same people who wear tinted moisturizers and look fab in it. :)


For reference, Golden 3 was too yellow or dark for my NC25 skin.. if I had liked the product enough to figure it out, I would order samples in Warm 2 & 3, Golden 2 & 3 and mix and match from there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 2/26/2013 3:51:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

Alima is very dry in terms of formula. Better for oily skin / summer. Hard to not look cakey. Cool 1 is a good color match for me. I prefer Meow Cosmetics (Absynnian) or Everyday Minerals (Sandy Fair).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 catspek on 2/13/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by catspek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I had high hopes for this foundation/powder, but.....it pains me to say this because I respect Alima's philosophy and their customer service is good....I hated this product. I did my due diligence and ordered many tiny samples before choosing the exact perfect color. I'm a fair beige (can't remember the exact number right now) and the color itself is perfect. However, the finish is so cakey and blah. They tell you to use the teeniest-tiniest amount, which I did. And I applied in light downward strokes, just like they instruct you to do. Still, it just sat on my face, no "melting" whatsoever like others have mentioned. I think that might happen if you have oily or super-moisturized skin, but for regular skin, it was like a layer of flour on my face. And the worst part, it broke me out slightly and absolutely nothing breaks me out. I guess that's just my skin's reaction to this particular product and not a reflection of the makeup itself (hopefully), but I can't give a product any more than 2 stars if 1) it looked terrible on my face, 2) broke me out, and 3) I wouldn't purchase it again. By the way, this stuff isn't cheap. But they give you samples (usually of eyeshadows) with any order, and that's nice. The shadows have the same texture as the foundation, so they make your eyes look crepe-y and blah too. What a shame, because the color palette is lovely. Sorry Alima, this one's a no for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 1/8/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin: acne-prone, very sensitive, enlarged pores and hyperpigmentation. Problems with redness.

I'm a NC/NW 15, in EMD I've used Linen and Fairly Light neutral. In Alima the closest shades were Neutral 2 and neutral 3 - but compared to the EMD ones, these ones turn out quite pinkish anyway.


Now I've used EDM matte foundation for many years, but as I heard of their use of laurol lysine, I felt a little scared that it'd affect my acne... (Even if it haven't so far, as much as I can notice..) So I tried the Alima again.


NOTE that Alima and EDM both are mineral makeup brands, but contain completely different ingredients. Alima contains titanium dioxide and zink oxide, while EDM matte contains mica and laurol lysine. I've read that actually almost all those ingredients could be problematic for acne prone skins (all three, except the zink). Titanium dioxide is less tolerated among acne prone people than zink. My dermatologist also told me that actually both Zink oxide and titanium dioxide can be occlusive on acne skin. Still I can tolerate Zink oxide in my Elta MD clear cream, and it contains Zink oxide.... Mica also has a bad reputation when it comes to that, and laurol lysine is a kind of coconut oil derivate.


Anyway! This makes it hard to compare those two brands. They contain completely different ingredients, that give different looks and different results.


The Alima gives a nice look in the start, but looks horrible after a few hours. The skin looks "thick", lines and pores are more visible in the end of the day. Awful! It's also much more matte and DRY looking and feeling than EDM. It irritated my skin when I wore it these days...it became red...
Maybe cause titanium dioxide is much more DRY than mica or laurol lysine...??? It also has a too poor coverage. I have a lot of red areas.that I need to cover....



I give it 1 lippie for a logical and good shade range with numbers, which makes it easier to choose. And 1 more lippie for a good costumer service.

I wanted an alternative to the EDM, but I this just doesn't work for me.... Are all titanium dioxide based mmu like this???


Update 11th February 2013:
Now I've compared this to some other mmu I had at home. I've realized that the "messy" look with enlarged pores and the makeup looking "thick" on the skin must be a cause of titanium dioxide. Cause when I use mmu's that don't contain it ( for example EDM, lily Lolo) it does not look as "messy" after a while. So its not Alima, but the ingredient that becomes like this on my extremely oily uneven skin. I guess that's the downside of ordinary mmu, and that is hard to develop mmu without this ingredient.... (Seems like, cause.99% of all mmu:s contain it)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HoodieNinja on 12/17/2012 6:44:00 AM more reviews by HoodieNinja

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been wearing Alima SMF for about 3 years now. After trying many other brands of mineral makeup, Alima impressed me with its quality, color selection, and business ethics. It appears to "melt" into my skin better than other powder foundations, and looks very natural. When I wear it, I get so many compliments on my "perfect" skin; I never get these compliments when wearing liquid or cream foundations.

This is the only product that I have been able to find a perfect match in, as my skin tone is not the typical cool porcelain. (I am very pale, but with peachy-golden undertones. I wear Beige 1)

I wore Alima all through my pregnancy, and felt good knowing that I was not putting questionable ingredients on my face, which would be absorbed into my body.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Powder products