Clinique • Superbalm Tinted Lip Treatment in Mango • Lip Treatments

rated 4.1(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtvsux on 3/16/2007 10:53:00 AM more reviews by mtvsux

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Great product, great price. It makes me wonder why so many lipglosses are so sticky and nasty and gross, when this product is shiney, and smooth and wonderful. Others need to take a page out of the book. Because I have full lips that have a lot of texture to them, most gloss gives me an instant hooker look. blech. But this one sits on top and makes my lips look super smooth. I don't know if that makes sense, if i can figure out another way to say it I will come back and edit my review. Anyway, the tints are exactly that, a tint, not full color BUT! despite the intense pigment of my lips, the mango does take away some of the fuscia in them. Ahhhh. And the gloss stays the same texture as long as you wear it, it doesn't turn tacky. meaning you can rub your lips together and still have the same texture you started with. Ok, i know this review sounds rough, i'm just finding it so hard to describe the texture of it. Maybe because I'm not a big gloss afficianado, but that's because there are so few glosses like this one. oh yeah, "balm". but it's a gloss imo. Oh, and I've had this gwp size for a YEAR and no scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellbing on 2/22/2007 9:57:00 PM more reviews by angellbing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a nice balm with a glossy look. I do like the SPF and the moisturizing factor. But I wish this had had a bit more of a tint. On me, it just looks like a clear gloss, and I could find that in another product at a drugstore. It could at least have smelled like mango. :) I wouldn't repurchase in this tint, though if the other Superbalms are more pigmented, I might consider them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mayze on 2/21/2007 7:47:00 AM more reviews by mayze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My first superbalm, and I love it. As other reviewers have said, the colour is very light but it really brightens my lips. I especially love how glossy it is - my friends can't tell it's a balm instead of a gloss. It isn't too sticky, and when I apply it liberally there seems to be a bit of a plumping effect. Needs reapplying after meals, but I don't mind it because if it were any stickier it would be quite icky. Moisturizes fairly well, but I don't think it would be strong enough for people with really dry, chapped lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zodan on 2/16/2007 7:20:00 AM more reviews by Zodan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I am on roaccutane which dries my lips out incredibly, and the only thing that seems to fix it for longer than 2 minutes is this one. This specific colour is my favourite because I have yellow undertones in my skin and this just makes it look like I have a hint of gloss on my lips. And it stays on even when my boyfriend kisses me. Highly recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* playkitty911 on 1/28/2007 6:05:00 PM more reviews by playkitty911

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I love the texture of this. It's nice and thick so it really lasts and feels emollient. The color is very soft. Gives my lips a gentle sheen but that's about it. I didn't buy it for color anyway. It's so moisturizing it feels as if it's plumping my lips slightly too. Overnight it turned my bleeding, peeling lips into their normal selves. So far I like this product quite a bit and think I'd repurchase. :)


EDIT: It's starting to smell a little off after just a few months, and the sticky texture is seriously beginning to annoy me. When I rub my lips together, I like a smooth, slick feeling; this is just sticky and gummy. *sigh* Well, looks like another miss for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 majanet on 1/18/2007 6:26:00 PM more reviews by majanet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got a tube of Mango as part of a duty-free special purchase set, along with four other colors. Mango gives a lighter tint than raspberry, but still lovely and effective for otherwise chapped lips. Applicator works with both bare lips and pencilled. One warning: it's totally ADDICTIVE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ccox on 1/15/2007 9:07:00 PM more reviews by ccox

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love the purple Superbalm, but I've had the Mango go bad on me twice! I'll get halfway through the tube and it'll start smelling rancid - like a wet dog or worse. Disgusting. Returned it the first time and got another one. But now that one's gone bad in just a month's time. I won't buy the mango flavor again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sexysylvia1211 on 7/31/2006 1:15:00 PM more reviews by sexysylvia1211

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I hav this in raspberry tint too. I find them very moisturising and glossy. I kissed my bf with this on and he asked me if id been eating fruit like strawberries etc so it must taste nice....which is a huge suprise as he usually cant stand any of my gloss tastes (mac is his worst!!) but to be honest, however 'nice' these are thats all they are. my lips are pretty pigmented red and these superbalms tend to go on clear. And i tend to prefer lighter colours (by having to use foundation underneath my gloss). I tried putting foundation under this and the shade was a little bit more 'mango-y' but its nothing wow. Ill use these at home as a nice moisturising treatment

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sparrkle on 6/17/2006 2:15:00 PM more reviews by sparrkle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I loved this product when I first purchased it. I also have two tubes in clear. The only problem is this product has become "Chunky" and thick in the tube several months after purchase. I have NEVER had this happen with lip gloss before, it usually lasts forever. This was a a HG to begin with, but since it has become chunky, i dont think I will repurchase this item. Sorry Clinique, one item I don't love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 qoo77 on 6/12/2006 5:02:00 AM more reviews by qoo77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this generally goes on kind of clear on my pigmented lips, just a light wash of muted coral. settles on the lips evenly and has a pillowly soft texture. leaves muy lips moisturised even after fading away :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lip Treatments products