Garnier • Soft Curl Cream [DISCONTINUED] • Styling Products

rated 3.9(60 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 pentel450 on 6/21/2007 5:19:00 PM more reviews by pentel450

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UHHH. After reading all the positive reviews, I'd thought I'd try this product to add some softness and frizz-control to my permed, wavy hair. After scooping it out of the jar and rubbing it between my hands, it became super sticky and thick. It basically made a very sticky, thick, waxy, white layer on my hands and I was wondering how I'm going to distribute this through my hair w/out ruining my waves and making my hair clump together. After trying to distribute it even through my hair (which failed because the paste was just way too thick and sticky), i was left with limp, stringy, sticky hair. The stickiness ruined my waves because my hair stuck to my hands when i tried to comb the product through.

Is there something I'm doing wrong??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* librarian_girl on 5/31/2007 10:51:00 AM more reviews by librarian_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've got normal to fine, naturally wavy/curly hair. I wear my hair layered, just above my shoulders to take full advantage of the natural wave. My curls and waves are definitely on the loose side and require aid and structure to achieve full bounce. I do *not* like hard, crunchy curls. I want a product that provides hold and structure without making my hair stiff and crunchy. Soft Curl Cream is my HG styling product. This product provides medium to strong control and leaves my waves soft and bouncy.

This is a very thick, somewhat sticky paste. I use about the size of a nickle, work it in my hands, than scrunch into my hair. On occassion, I will add a bit of Cetaphil body lotion to the Soft Curl Cream before adding to my hair, which helps control frizz when the weather becomes insanely humid.

UPDATE (7/2008): Soft Curl Cream is discontinued. The riduculously named Garnier Fructis Style Play Style Reshapable Putty, Strong possesses an almost identical ingredient listing and should serve as a very good replacement.

Soft Curl Cream Ingredients:
Aqua (Water), Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, PEG 100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Dimethicone, CI 19140 Yellow 5, CI 42090 Blue 1, Sodium Methylparaben, Hydroxypropyl Guar, PEG 150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, PEG-90M, PEG-192 Apricot Kernel Glycerides, PEG-70 Mango Glycerides, Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride, Limonene, Linalool, Citrus Limonum/lemon Extract, Hexylcinnamal, Amylcinnamal, Parfum/Fragrance, FIL C21258/1

Style Play Style Reshapable Putty, Strong Ingredients:
Aqua/Water/Eau; Propylene Glycol; Glycerin; Cetearyl Alcohol; PEG-100 Stearate; Glyceryl Stearate; Dimethicone; PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate; Parfum/Fragrance; Sodium Methylparaben; Hydroxypropyl Guar; PEG-90M; Limonene; Hexyl Cinnamal; Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride; Linalool; PEG-192 Apricot Kernel Glycerides; PEG-70 Mango Glycerides; Amyl Cinnamal; Citrus Limonene/Lemon Fruit Extract

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babydials on 4/26/2007 1:55:00 PM more reviews by babydials

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

4.5 -When I first went to use this I thought it would be too heavy and waxy for my fine, thin, curly, frizzy hair. It isn't. I have soft curls just like the package says. No frizzball and not weighted down! A winner! *edit* I have gone from a 5 to a 4.5, over time I have found this drying, but if I were in my younger, oilier days this would not have bothered me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ditie12 on 3/27/2007 8:40:00 PM more reviews by ditie12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product is awesome! I've tried so many products (Aveda Be Curly, Redken Fresh Curls, etc) for my medium length wavy/curly hair, and this has been the most effective at giving me frizzless, soft, defined curls. It smells great and is certainly a great price at $2-3! It is a little sticky coming out of the jar, but when you rub it between your hands it gets better. I will definitely buy again (if my jar ever runs out)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Marciaferrell on 2/27/2007 4:43:00 PM more reviews by Marciaferrell

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It leaves my hair so soft. One of the best leave-ins I have used. And I have used them all. Price is good too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mikithebrain on 2/25/2007 2:37:00 PM more reviews by mikithebrain

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This curl creme is SO nice! It gives a touch of hold without being sticky and helps define and strengthen my curls throughout the day so I don't get the frizzies! The smell is nice, although I must say I'm not a fan of the consistency before application-- it's little goopy. But it definitely does the job and for the price, I'll definitely be finding this one again once I run out! Also- a little goes a long way with this so it lasts a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Hibby21 on 2/19/2007 9:21:00 PM more reviews by Hibby21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This just didn't work for me. I have thick, frizzy, wavy/curly hair that often poofs up when it dries aka the triangle syndrome. I thought this would help control that but everytime I use this (on wet hair) my results are always frizzy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 2/11/2007 4:43:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Has a sticky, thick texture but doesn't leave my hair feeling that way compared to curl's rock by TIGI. I start by putting a quarter amount on each side of my head and rake though, twisting and shaping my hair as I distribute it. I tried it on slightly damp hair, but I think I like it on wet hair better. It really does help to define curls and smells really good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rickisyed on 1/8/2007 11:59:00 PM more reviews by rickisyed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use TIGI Curls Rock Curl Cream which costs about $16-$18 dollars and it would only last me 6 weeks. I tried Garnier Soft Curl cream which is ONLY $3 at a drugstore, which lasts about 6 weeks as well. What a bargain!!!!!! This lasts all day in my curls until I wash it off. Smells wonderful too, thanks garnier for introducting such affordable hair products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannahlise on 1/3/2007 9:31:00 PM more reviews by hannahlise

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

not sure how well this would work during humid months, but during the winter here in PA this does the trick for my thick, wavy/curly hair (shoulder-length), with a tendency towards poof. i've used this now on damp hair, right out of the shower, and the day after shampooing on dry hair, and both uses are good (encourages and slightly holds curl when wet, smooths the poof when dry). the hold of the curl is not so hot, but for $2 (at Target) i will definetely buy this again and use in conjunction with other products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Styling Products products