Skinceuticals • C E Ferulic • Treatments

rated 3.7(252 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 linneahurtig on 10/19/2012 2:52:00 AM more reviews by linneahurtig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

OK, I love skincare. It's what I spend my time and money on.
After having somewhat troublesome skin in my teenage years and always dreamt about perfect clear skin Im pretty much willing to spend a billion on a product IF it works. After hearing good reviews on this one I bought it.

Let me just start this with saying that I ENDED UP AT THE EMERGENCY ROOM AFTER USING THIS.
Yes, I got such a bad rash all over my face, neck and chest (everywere it was applied) that after consulting my doctor over the phone, she highly suggested me to come and see her asap. I was given a bunch of pills for my allergic reaction and it took about a week for my face to get back to normal again. I had small bumps all over my face, it was red, clogged and inflammed.

I HAVE NEVER before experienced a rash or anything of this sort from ANY product. Including Retin-A, 50% glycolic peels etc. I didnt even thought it was possible for my skin to react that way as I have very resiliance skin and it hardly gets upset. I dont have any other allergies.

I understand that my case isnt the case for the next one but I was so very shocked to be honest, that my skin reacted this way as I have "strong" skin.

Im mainly writing this review so that anyone, if they do experience the same thing as me, know that it very well might be this product. I highly suggest doing a patch test before smearing this all over.

I'm thinking that it might be the Ferulic that is causing my reaction. I say this because I used Josie Maran Argain oil a while ago and I got small breakouts from that, after researching it further I found out that Argain Oil acutally contains Ferulic naturally, hence the suspicion.

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tobyleota on 9/19/2012 9:30:00 PM more reviews by tobyleota

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really, really wanted to love this product. I'm living in Florida and concerned about sun damage, and this product would have been worth it had it delivered. I tried it for about a week. Greasy skin, enlarged pores and a large zit were the results. So, like with all products I buy that don't work on my face, I tried it on my decolletage. I had high hopes, since pores and break outs aren't really an issue there and I do have some sun damage in that area. OMG-it broke me out there, too. I have three large pimples right between my boobs. I feel like a sci-fi character.
To top it all off, it smells like hot dog water. Hot dog water! What!?!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimclara on 9/18/2012 2:16:00 PM more reviews by kimclara

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this stuff. I've just finished using my first bottle and I have seen major improvements in my skin. It's smoother, brighter, and more fresh looking. It's very expensive but I think it's worth every single penny. This tiny bottle lasted me awhile too so a little goes a long way. The first time I bought it from my dermatologist but I found a much better price at this website called skincaremarket.net. They sell SkinCeuticals at an amazing price. I got this for $112.99. You can also call them at 888-840-5177. The customer rep was so nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mietta77 on 9/13/2012 8:01:00 AM more reviews by mietta77

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The first time l put this serum on my face neck and chest l came out in a rash l was itchy and burning , it lasted a week, l have tried writing a review on the site l purchased it from and of coarse it wasn't put up , and l have tried contacting the manufactures but they haven't replied .
Update , the manufacturers have contacted me and would like to assist me which is good news , my daughter is now using this product without any problems , l tried it once more and had the same reaction instantly so washed it off , but still have irritation and expect to for a while .

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elliotx on 9/2/2012 6:20:00 PM more reviews by elliotx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for 6 months now and wouldn't want to be without it, despite the fact that it kills me to spend this much on a single product. It makes my skin glow like nothing else, and I feel protected from environmental and sun damage which is just...comforting. The skin I have now as compared to 6 months ago is more even and brighter. I'm 31 and don't have any lines. People always without exception assume I'm in my early 20's, and I attribute a lot of that to C E ferulic. In fact my boyfriend is 25 lol..and he has more signs of aging than I do! So I think good products work and this is one of them.
The only thing I'll add is I did look this up on cosdna and it has some very irritating ingredients. When I first started this it did sting a bit, so if you have sensitive skin you might want to be cautious.
EDIT: This stuff is great..until it begins to degrade. I keep it in the fridge and all that, but it still oxidizes and once that happens it becomes really irritating. My face would just burn upon application and stay very red throughout the day. I had to stop using it--with a good 2 months of product left! It's not worth it to me to throw out a half full bottle in order to replace it with a fresh batch..not to mention it's sooo hard to know for certain you ARE getting a fresh batch when you order online. Not worth it.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BellaG55 on 8/2/2012 12:12:00 PM more reviews by BellaG55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like a lot of buyers I am very conflicted about this product and it's only the 2nd day of use. After having paid an astronomical sum of money (AND duty fees for Canada) I am going to at least give it a good try but I am really not enjoying the application and awful stickiness. I will put up with the smell IF it's going to be spectacularly effective. I will have to rethink my make-up routine completely as it creates sticky, uneven patches although I give the serum over 20 min to settle and routinely exfoliate and apply glycolic peels. All my other skin-care is quickly (maybe too quickly) absorbed but not this one. I will write a follow-up as time goes by but for the moment I thoroughly dislike it.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 poreblaster2000 on 7/22/2012 10:14:00 PM more reviews by poreblaster2000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My derm recommended 6 drops/night mixed with Epiduo to help fade sun spots and old acne scars. It was way too much (a marketing ploy I assume) so I tried 4 drops, then 3, then 2, then 1 and now NONE. It was thick, oily and sticky and was the cause of my most recent breakouts. Now that I've stopped using it my skin is clearing up. Super disappointing given the cost ($150). What a waste. Obviously will not repurchase. Oh yeah, and it smelled awful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lacysilk29 on 7/7/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by lacysilk29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

So I've been using this off an on. I was hoping for my skin to even out and have a pretty tone. I just mainly wanted it to clear redness and prevent against free radicals. First off I don't like the smell.. to me it is a mixture of rum and deli meat. Not something I love wiping on my face lol.. Next it's over 100 dollars. It's lasted me a really long time and I'm no where close to running out. I would just say I haven't noticed really any difference, good or bad, in my skin. The product overall I would rate as a 3 because it's neutral.. but because of the price I thought it was a 2.

I love skinceutical sunscreen but not this thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 7/7/2012 1:39:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My esthetician recommended and used this serum, when I visisted Spa in Miami. I was told it's amazing product that contains mostly Vitamin C, antioxidants and it's anti-aging. This product helps with pigmentation and neutralizes free radical damage, and protects against oxidative stress - the factors that lead to premature aging, loss of elasticity, and hyperpigmentation.
Sounds really good but this serum costs $146.00 - little too much. However, I received a little sample bottle that I have been using for a week. I can not tell if it does magic yet, but it is fun to apply it and I like the smell of this serum. I think it's very light brown/yellow color and it smells little bit like coffee.
As much as I like this serum, I still think it's too expensive, I better stick with my monthly glycolic ($35.00 and 30%) peels or microdermabration ($100), that I think does better job than this serum.
UPDATE: I think it broke me out a little on my nose area so I stopped using my sample at the moment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cityskin on 6/23/2012 1:50:00 AM more reviews by cityskin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this in 2009 and took a break from it. Being a product junky, I tried multiple products to get the the desired purpose and long-term effects. This product is the safest choice for my needs.

I knocked off a lippy for two reasons: cost and bad experience with purchasing it directly from the vendor's website. I thought it was pretty awful they made us pay for shipping, but to top it off, it came 4 days later than the said date. They could use better customer service.

But the product itself is great and the above was an isolated incident so I guess I can let it go for now.

Overall, my skin was dewy/glowy, hydrate, and it was reassuring to know that the ingredients are stable and will do what it says it will do. It's a little disconcerting to hear people wanting results right away, since this product is a preventative... I will probably make this my staple for many years to come (of course unless there's a cheaper alternative).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments products