Nivea • Eye Make-Up Remover • Eye Makeup Remover

rated 3.5(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VVV on 10/29/2009 7:02:00 PM more reviews by VVV

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG eye makeup remover. I've been using it for about 5 years now and I'm just as happy with it today as when I first bought it. For reference I have dry/sensitive skin.


TEXTURE: Nivea Eye Make-Up Remover is a white liquid-y lotion. Some people may not like this texture but I find it works really great for me. I apply a little blob of it to one eye at a time and massage it gently into my lid and lashes. The makeup does turn the lotion black (which does look kindof scary, lol) but then I just use some luke warm water to rinse and tada, no more eye makeup! The texture is something I really like about this product because I can't bear to wipe my eyes with cotton pads saturated in liquid eye makeup remover - it makes my eyes so red and irritated.


MAKEUP REMOVAL: The only waterproof product I wear regularly is Urban Decay's 24/7 Eye Pencils. I don't wear waterproof mascara because I've never really needed to so I cannot comment on how it removes it. I do wear quite the lot of eye shadow, eye liner, and regular mascara though and I find that Nivea Eye Make-Up Remover takes it all off easily.


GENTLE: I have permanent chronically dry eyes from the two courses of Accutane I've done in the past so my eyes get irritated very easily. My skin is also extremely sensitive and gets angry at every little thing possible. I'm so happy to report that Nivea Eye Make-Up Remover works both gently and effectively for me - no burning or allergic reactions, just straight up thorough makeup removing goodness.


PACKAGING: The Nivea Eye Make-Up Remover I buy comes in a 2.5 fl oz/75 mL blue tube with a white cap. The cap is flat on the bottom and the bottle stands upright on it which keeps the product easily accessible. The inside of the cap has a little plug that goes against the hole where the product comes out - this is great because it ensures no leakage.


INGREDIENTS: Water, PEG-8, Glycerin, Poloxamer 124, Isohexadecane, Mineral Oil, Panthenol, Tocopherol Acetate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Steareth-20, Ceteth-20, EDTA, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Cetrimonium Chloride.


BOTTOM LINE: I absolutely love Nivea Eye Make-Up Remover. It removes my eye makeup thoroughly and completely while being gentle and not irritating my skin or eyes. I will definitely continue to repurchase this product (though I might have to do so online because all of the drug stores seem to no longer carry it). I would definitely recommend checking Nivea Eye Make-Up Remover out - especially to people who have sensitive skin and eyes like I do.


♥ Hope this was helpful! ♥



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 genie_11 on 10/20/2009 10:28:00 AM more reviews by genie_11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an inexpensive, eye make up remover.I wasnt satisfied with the results.Always after usig it, I woke up with black residue from my mascara ( I use regular , non-waterproof mascara ), even though I cleaned the eye several times. I think L oreal, which is in the same price range, is actually better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 miyabi0619 on 8/26/2009 2:58:00 AM more reviews by miyabi0619

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this "Nivea Visage Eye Make-up Remover", which is a light blue tube with a white cap, based on the high rating on drugstore.com. Indeed it's very gentle. Although my skin is not sensitive, sometimes I experience burning/ feeling around my eyes from some eye makeup removers. This one doesn't burn my eyes at all. But since it's so gentle, it does a really POOR job taking off my eye makeup, even if I only use waterproof liquid eyeliners. When I wear waterproof mascara, it's hardly removed by this eye makeup remover. Besides its poor performance, I personally think the price is a bit expensive (7~8 dollars for a small tube of only 75mL).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ex0ticbarbie on 2/2/2009 11:24:00 PM more reviews by ex0ticbarbie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

My review is for the Nivea Visage Eye Make-up Remover that comes in a white bottle. It says that it "removes waterproof and long-lasting make-up".

I bought this eye make-up remover in hopes of finding one that would not sting my eyes or leave a greasy residue behind. I used to use baby oil as a young teenager (big mistake I know! LOL) until I realized that it was actually very bad for my skin. I also always hated how the baby oil would leave my whole eye area greasy and cause me to temporarily have difficulty with seeing if it got into my eye. I tried numerous amounts of eye make-up removers in hopes of finding one I would really like. This make-up remover is definitely a product I will continue using. It removes all make-up easily (I wear a lot of black mascara and black liquid liner). This remover really gets everything off. All I do is put some on a cotton ball and wipe my eyes. All the make-up is immediately removed. I then rinse with water and my eye area is left clean, soft and with a nice moisturized feeling. This eye make-up has NEVER irritated my eyes nor caused my vision to temporarily become blurry. It has also removed all make-up perfectly and I do not wake up with black eye liner or mascara residue under my bottom lashes in the morning.

It costs about $6.50-$8.50 depending on where you purchase it (Walmart tends to sell it for cheaper while Shoppers Drug Mart sells it for more) and it comes in a 125 mL bottle. I tend to be clumsy with my bottle and toss it into my bin of products and it has never spilled its content or had the lip open.

I will continue repurchasing and using this product as it really satisfies all my needs. It also lasts me about 3 to 3.5 months (since I wear make-up everyday) which is not bad at all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Crusie on 1/3/2009 2:38:00 PM more reviews by Crusie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Cleanse my eye as it should. Has the tendency to make my eyelid a bit reddish, but it doesn't feel irritated and the redness fades away quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jentalkin2u on 10/28/2008 8:26:00 PM more reviews by jentalkin2u

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this better than any other makeup remover I've tried. It's a lotion, not a liquid. It doesn't take much, so a tube will last a while. I rub it on dry eyes with my finger tips and remove with a cotton ball. It works really quickly. I rinse w/plain water afterwards just to make sure all residue is gone. It leaves my eye area super soft and moisturized, but not greasy. No film or stinging in the eyes. Great stuff. I hope it's not being discontinued, which is what I've heard. I haven't seen a product out there just like this one - anyone else know of one? I bought this at CVS - not sure if they still carry it. My only gripe would be the screw top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 d3ndroid on 9/20/2008 9:41:00 AM more reviews by d3ndroid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is pretty good. It is a white runny lotion, which I like because I use only my fingers to apply, not a cotton ball. It removes my waterproof liner without much fuss, and doesn't sting or leave a film on my eyeballs like oil-based make up removers do. Nivea products frequently go on sale so I got it at a great price, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyncord4 on 9/15/2008 5:38:00 PM more reviews by cyncord4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this, again, on clearance. But the lady at the counter said this stuff was great, so I got it. I don't like the consistency, but it did take off my bulk bulky mascara and eye liner, without making anything greasy or nasty. I read another reviewer, and maybe i'll try this to let it sit longer. Plus, i really like nivea products because they don't seem to have alot of junk in them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deebee959 on 9/9/2008 8:06:00 AM more reviews by deebee959

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this eye make up remover for years, ever since I saw it touted in some fashion/style magazine. I have very dry skin so I lube-lube-lube. This means I need to wear some pretty heavy duty mascara if I want to avoid raccoon eyes. It also means that my mascara is a bear to get off. This stuff works like a whiz, I use it as an all over make up remover, but specifically I start on my eyes, rub it on my lashes, let it sit for a few seconds, and then apply to the rest of my face. Then I just wash it off with cleanser. The consistancy is a little runny, but it also doesn't make me feel greasy, like some eye make up removers that are oily, or cloggy, like super creamy removers. I have never been able to find it locally---our Ulta store has a spot on the shelf for it, but they never have any in stock, so I buy six or so tubes at a time online. I also like it doesn't have a lot of cluttery packaging. It arrives and it's just a blue tube of good product. Very practical. Unless they discontinue it---and I hope they never do!---I'll never switch from this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lilo1013 on 7/20/2008 10:26:00 PM more reviews by Lilo1013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the eye makeup remover in a blue tube. I like this product because i wear contacts and it doesnt irritate my eyes. Yes, it is a bit runny but i find it easy to spread and remove my eye mu with this. I also use this as a full face mu remover when I wear long lasting foundations such as EL doublewear light. It removes my mu quite nicely and is great for the price! The only con i can think of is the screw cap- it would be more convenient with a flip cap. I dont know any place that sells this besides Ulta so I try to stock up. It was on sale for $4.11.

Update: I still cannot find this anywhere else but a specific ULTA about 30 minutes away from my house. I am thinking of trying Albolene once I run out of my current tube of Nivea since Albolene is much easier to find.
Another Update 11/16: I read that Nivea was discontinuing their Visage line in the US. I purchased 8 tubes of this after... =(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nivea products

More Eye Makeup Remover products