Stila • Kajal Eye Liner in Onyx • Eyeliner

rated 3.3(205 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 karen1245 on 4/27/2011 2:49:00 PM more reviews by karen1245

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product retails for $18.00 USD. But I purchased this in a set from Costco for $12, so check your Costco if they still carry it. This is a standard black eyeliner pencil which you have to sharpen. It sharpens easily with my inexpensive and expensive sharpeners. I find the black color quite pigmented. The great thing about this eyeliner is that it glides onto your eyes very easily! I didnít have to tug on my eyelid nor applied extra pressure to my waterline. The eyeliner smears everywhere. So, if you have hooded eyes, this eyeliner is a pain. So prepare to have panda eyes! In case you were wondering, I tried this with eye shadow primer as well and ended up with the same results. However, I donít want to throw this product out, so this product is great for creating a smoky eye look since it does blend very easily with a brush! So as a caveat, if you have oily or hooded lids, this will probably smear all over the place.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Extacey on 4/25/2011 1:13:00 PM more reviews by Extacey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

You REALLY need primer under this. You should always use primer. I use primer with everything. This is a dark, inky black that glides on and is easy to smudge/blur the line. This also makes it very forgiving, you can smudge off mistakes before it sets in. Doesn't pull or tug at my lids at all. Also, it's a soft pencil but doesn't get mushy and break off inside a sharpener.

Whether or not you will like this depends on want you want from it. If you are new to eyeliner and want black on your upper lids, this is good, because as I said, it's very forgiving and you can smudge any mistakes off with a cotton swab. On the top lid it will last if you use a primer.

If you want to blacken your waterline, this will show up VERY black, but you need to re-apply it every 2 or so hours because it fades.

If you like to line your lower lash line/lid, this is probably not the pencil for you. It tends to fade and may even run a little if your eyes water. Even with primer. The fading on the lower lash line is why I gave it 3 lippies. It's just not for what I'm looking for in a liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeGee35 on 3/31/2011 10:23:00 PM more reviews by BeeGee35

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this product. It is an intense black. The pigmentation is beautiful. But it smudges like crrrrrazy. I have a tendency to touch my under eye area. Bad habit, i know. If I get a finger close to my lower lashline, this smudges everywhere. I have tried to set this with powder.. ANYTHING, but it smudges everywhere. I will just stick with my UD 24/7 pencil. Beautiful super dark black though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tesco518 on 3/16/2011 2:09:00 AM more reviews by Tesco518

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I heard it was an intense black. I tried it several times with the same end result, major smudgy, raccoon like eyes! I wanted to cry, after an hour this liner was under my lower lash line. You would have thought I just had a crying fit. I have never experienced this with any other liner. I gave it a few more tries but it was too embarrassing to wear this, it smudged every time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BarbaraGordon on 3/3/2011 4:10:00 PM more reviews by BarbaraGordon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    


I have several of these eye pencils, but this one is my favorite. The color transfers very easily onto the eyelid and onto the waterline. They wonít tug or end up ďskippingĒ when you apply them. The pigment is also very intense. These wonít give you a really precise line, so if thatís what you are looking for, I would go for a liquid or gel liner. Forget trying to do a cat eye effect. These really are just for smokey, intense looks. People with oily lids (like me) should definitely consider using a primer before using these pencils. I have found that really makes a difference. I also put a matching shadow on top of the liner to give it extra staying power. These are not waterproof. I usually stay away from these in the summer (I live in Southern California) because no matter what I do, they just melt off and I end up looking like Iíve been punched in both eyes, but great during the rest of the year.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aperfectdisplay on 2/12/2011 7:52:00 PM more reviews by aperfectdisplay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this eyeliner for my WL but it irritated and burns so badly that I can't use it for that. I've never had a problem with an eyeliner on my WL irritating my eyes and I've used all kinds. I started using this on my upper lids instead and found that I have to apply with a brush bc its too greasy and and smudgy with just the pencil. Even still, it ends up everywhere and I have to check my eyes every time im in the bathroom. I am not a fan of this eyeliner but I do like how black and dark it is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rsantos2 on 2/11/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by rsantos2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've never gotten raccoon eyes from this. This goes perfectly on my waterline. It goes on DARK which is what I want. It does fade after a few hours, but I just put more on. Not a big deal. I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GorgeousGirlMakeup on 2/5/2011 8:46:00 PM more reviews by GorgeousGirlMakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this on my waterline (upper and lower) and to lightly smudge on the lower lash line when doing a smoky eye. EXCELLENT color payoff on the waterline, without scratching yourself with a liner.

It's a kajal liner, so it WILL smudge if you use it on the upper lid, but it also blends really easily as opposed to a liquid liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mish2378 on 2/2/2011 12:48:00 PM more reviews by mish2378

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I thought that based on the color payoff that this eyeliner was going to be amazing boy was I wrong.
I have hooded eyelids and it transfers all over the place :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PrettyRummy on 1/30/2011 5:53:00 PM more reviews by PrettyRummy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Worst. Eyeliner. Ever. And I am very fond of Stila's products. This one is probably the most disappointing product in their entire line. So oily! No staying power. I know this may be used for waterlines, but it doesn't even manage to accomplish that much. This is a huge waste of money. Like another gal below me said, this stuff is creamy to a fault. Save your money and spare yourself the mess. Eyeliner is already a pain as it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eyeliner products