Givenchy Organza Indecence

4.2

185 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/22/2009 11:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Incredible. I love this perfume, I have for years. I don't own a bottle and fear it has been discontinued... but I am searching online and will get it soon. It's warm vanilla with orange and cinnamon. It smells like a gourmand oriental. Warm and rich... sweet enough. It smells divine on skin. The bottle is a little odd, but what's inside is beautiful. Don't let the bottle fool you or influence your idea of it.



on 12/28/2008 9:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Delectable, warm, woody and sweet - great for winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2008 3:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

A woman i knew wore this. It smelled beautiful. But i could never wear it because it will forever remind me of my friend. The only reason i took one lippie off was because sometimes it seemed too strong, but not over powering.


on 11/25/2008 10:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Alongside Hypnotic Poison, Shalimar and Opium, this was my adolescent fragrance par excellence. A warm, rich, golden, unobnoxiously sweet Ur-Oriental, a then-ideal amalgam of spice and softness. A saucy scent but not a brazenly or hyperbolically sexual one (a la Gaultier Classique et al whose frisson lies heavily in a liberal administration of boozy vanilla, which I needless to say now employ liberally).
As a whimsical teenager with a penchant for overpowering old lady perfumes (Opium and Ysatis, which I still own) and a compulsion to re-read Patrick Susskind, this was the proverbial bee's knees. Suggestive but not damningly explicit (it murmured or ghosted rather than bombastically howled), evocative of dimmed lighting and antique frivolities and decadent faux-bohemia, a scent that lingered on shirt-sleeves and lingerie days after the initial spritz.
I was, of course, and still am (albeit in a different configuration), a hopelessly pretentious and precious wanker.
Now with such a demanding nostalgia for the stuff, I've felt compelled to revisit it, and my first reaction was that I'd received a stale batch (Ebay - could well be).
What had been imprinted upon my precocious teen memory as piquant and lush with spice is now more woodsy and muted. Its sweetness - both the literal and figurative - seems diluted and musty, somehow not quite right.
It's not an unpleasant scent by any means, but it fails to excite, to evoke sensorial lust. That lushly golden cinnamon-vanilla elixir is now stilted, expired, mediocre, only inoffensive.
This shift could well be an alteration of the product itself, a change in own skin chemistry (and whilst it lingered lyrically for days then, I can't get so much of a whiff of it on myself after ten minutes now), or perhaps more indicative of my current adult need for something more libertine, authoritative, opulent, eccentric. I turn thusly to Serge Lutens like a woman with a noble olfactory mission.

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2008 10:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Fragrances are very subjective but I wanted to add my two cents worth. This has been one of my all time favorite fragrances. I find Givenchy perfumes have wonderful staying power. I actually had a number of male friends that were at a party I was attending come up to me and give me a hug to say hi. The next thing they asked was My God, what are you wearing..it smells fantastic. Enough said.
Update..it is my understanding this amazing fragrance has been discontinued..why oh why???

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2008 4:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Just discovered that one by accident, and it smell deicious!
Hear it's been discontinued, but lucky me I can get my hands on 100 ml bottles, so I will stock up a few.I think this one is a perfume I can enjoy as I grow older and when I'm looking for the understated but still mysterious and captivating effect.
I think this is my favorite givenchy fragrance, with the LE fleur d'oranger and Very irrestible rose centifolia.


on 8/20/2008 9:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is delicious and naughty. I can't imagine anyone not liking it....but it definitley a warm scent for cool nights. Can't understand for the life of me why it was discontinued!!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a very warm and comforting woodsy vanillic incense scent. It's standing on the edge of gourmand, yet is good enough that I love it despite my gourmand-phobia. It is a strong scent, and intensely sweet and warming. Unfortunately, it's not the easiest to find and the bottle is weighted oddly so it tips over easily.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Cinnamon, vanilla, and WOOD. It's a wonderful warm spicy gourmand, very sweet, I can see it being awesome in winter, but it doesn't make me want to cuddle myself like BLV Notte. If that matters.


on 7/9/2008 4:09:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

My husband and I really liked this on a magazine scent strip some years ago. It smelled like hippie incense. (This is not a bad thing in our household.) But when I went to try it at a department store counter, I was sickened by the choking clouds of it sprayed by a 13-year-old ahead of me in line. I finally decided to give it a second chance, applying carefully. Yes, it smells like hippie incense, grown expensive and sophisticated. I can see why it has many fans. But it's a bit extroverted for a comfort fragrance (big sillage is the one thing it has in common with the original Organza), and eventually I felt like my nasal linings were being slowly burned away by cinnamon. On a brighter note, the amazingly ugly bottle wasn't used when they re-issued it recently.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Si
35 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Top Rated Givenchy Products

image

Pi (For Men)

72 reviews
Back to Top