Givenchy • Organza Indecence • Fragrances

rated 4.2(183 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sadbabykitten on 12/13/2008 3:30:00 AM more reviews by sadbabykitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

A woman i knew wore this. It smelled beautiful. But i could never wear it because it will forever remind me of my friend. The only reason i took one lippie off was because sometimes it seemed too strong, but not over powering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 frauschnitzel on 11/25/2008 10:28:00 AM more reviews by frauschnitzel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Alongside Hypnotic Poison, Shalimar and Opium, this was my adolescent fragrance par excellence. A warm, rich, golden, unobnoxiously sweet Ur-Oriental, a then-ideal amalgam of spice and softness. A saucy scent but not a brazenly or hyperbolically sexual one (a la Gaultier Classique et al whose frisson lies heavily in a liberal administration of boozy vanilla, which I needless to say now employ liberally).
As a whimsical teenager with a penchant for overpowering old lady perfumes (Opium and Ysatis, which I still own) and a compulsion to re-read Patrick Susskind, this was the proverbial bee's knees. Suggestive but not damningly explicit (it murmured or ghosted rather than bombastically howled), evocative of dimmed lighting and antique frivolities and decadent faux-bohemia, a scent that lingered on shirt-sleeves and lingerie days after the initial spritz.
I was, of course, and still am (albeit in a different configuration), a hopelessly pretentious and precious wanker.
Now with such a demanding nostalgia for the stuff, I've felt compelled to revisit it, and my first reaction was that I'd received a stale batch (Ebay - could well be).
What had been imprinted upon my precocious teen memory as piquant and lush with spice is now more woodsy and muted. Its sweetness - both the literal and figurative - seems diluted and musty, somehow not quite right.
It's not an unpleasant scent by any means, but it fails to excite, to evoke sensorial lust. That lushly golden cinnamon-vanilla elixir is now stilted, expired, mediocre, only inoffensive.
This shift could well be an alteration of the product itself, a change in own skin chemistry (and whilst it lingered lyrically for days then, I can't get so much of a whiff of it on myself after ten minutes now), or perhaps more indicative of my current adult need for something more libertine, authoritative, opulent, eccentric. I turn thusly to Serge Lutens like a woman with a noble olfactory mission.

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rocknride on 10/15/2008 10:24:00 PM more reviews by rocknride

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Fragrances are very subjective but I wanted to add my two cents worth. This has been one of my all time favorite fragrances. I find Givenchy perfumes have wonderful staying power. I actually had a number of male friends that were at a party I was attending come up to me and give me a hug to say hi. The next thing they asked was My God, what are you wearing..it smells fantastic. Enough said.
Update..it is my understanding this amazing fragrance has been discontinued..why oh why???

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vic2007 on 10/15/2008 4:43:00 PM more reviews by vic2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Just discovered that one by accident, and it smell deicious!
Hear it's been discontinued, but lucky me I can get my hands on 100 ml bottles, so I will stock up a few.I think this one is a perfume I can enjoy as I grow older and when I'm looking for the understated but still mysterious and captivating effect.
I think this is my favorite givenchy fragrance, with the LE fleur d'oranger and Very irrestible rose centifolia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 holisticzen on 8/20/2008 9:23:00 PM more reviews by holisticzen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is delicious and naughty. I can't imagine anyone not liking it....but it definitley a warm scent for cool nights. Can't understand for the life of me why it was discontinued!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alabasterkitten on 7/31/2008 7:58:00 PM more reviews by alabasterkitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This is a very warm and comforting woodsy vanillic incense scent. It's standing on the edge of gourmand, yet is good enough that I love it despite my gourmand-phobia. It is a strong scent, and intensely sweet and warming. Unfortunately, it's not the easiest to find and the bottle is weighted oddly so it tips over easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* callmecordelia on 7/29/2008 1:30:00 AM more reviews by callmecordelia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Cinnamon, vanilla, and WOOD. It's a wonderful warm spicy gourmand, very sweet, I can see it being awesome in winter, but it doesn't make me want to cuddle myself like BLV Notte. If that matters.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 7/9/2008 4:09:00 AM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My husband and I really liked this on a magazine scent strip some years ago. It smelled like hippie incense. (This is not a bad thing in our household.) But when I went to try it at a department store counter, I was sickened by the choking clouds of it sprayed by a 13-year-old ahead of me in line. I finally decided to give it a second chance, applying carefully. Yes, it smells like hippie incense, grown expensive and sophisticated. I can see why it has many fans. But it's a bit extroverted for a comfort fragrance (big sillage is the one thing it has in common with the original Organza), and eventually I felt like my nasal linings were being slowly burned away by cinnamon. On a brighter note, the amazingly ugly bottle wasn't used when they re-issued it recently.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 7/3/2008 9:52:00 PM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have an 8 ml decant of this fragrance. I actually really dislike the bottle for some reason, so I doubt that I'll ever buy a FB, but I would buy another decant, or otherwise happily get my hands on some more of this juice.
Organza Indecence is a warm fragrance, that's fairly rich, and quite woody. I originally tried Organza Indecence because I had heard it compared to a couple other fragrances that I'm deeply in love with. It doesn't *quite* measure up to those, but it's a great compromise in terms of price. The notes include a creamy, powdery softness, with amber and vanilla, a bit of spice (especially in the top notes) from the cinnamon, an incense note I believe may be benzoin, and woody notes in which I smell cedar, though I haven't seen it in any lists of notes. The top notes (with the sharpest part of the cedar, cinnamon and benzoin (if that's what it is)) dissipate very quickly, within the first couple minutes of wearing this fragrance, but the middle and base notes have excellent lasting power. The fragrance is an enveloping, warm one, that could be overpowering in hot weather. I think of it mostly as a cool weather fragrance, or as a comfort fragrance, as I find rich, sweet fragrances to have that quality.
I think this fragrance smells great, and it works well on my skin. It's really a shame it's been discontinued and is now hard to find. That was a big mistake, Givenchy, are you listening? Bring this back!! (in a better bottle, please!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KauaiShan on 6/25/2008 8:22:00 PM more reviews by KauaiShan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Don't freak out - this is really not that hard to find. I bought a bottle at Ulta today and it's also at Nordstrom (in a new bottle, as part of the Mythiques line). Folks are still paying an arm and a leg on ebay but I paid the usual price at Ulta. They had several bottles.

Anywhoo, I really really love this one. I have also adored Boucheron Initial and in general l love orientals. I can't stand anything fruity or too sweet. Indecence is the scent I'd have created if given the opportunity. I love it from top note to dry down. It reminds me of a "gentler" Chaos by Donn Karan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Fragrances products