Clinique • Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(1082 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 cleopatra6 on 6/12/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by cleopatra6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Now- this product is overall good. It does moisturize the skin and makes it feel soft and supple. However I don't recommend it for people with dry skin- the name of the product is highly misleading. It is great for normal or oily skin. During the summer i like to put SPF cream on top of it and i have to say that it does make a difference in the end of the day.No effect on wrinkles or fine lines what so ever , it is just moisture in a jar!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cpetersen on 6/10/2014 12:44:00 PM more reviews by cpetersen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best moisturizer for my skin! It makes me skin feel super soft and it doesn't clog my pores at all. This is a must have for me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BumblexX on 6/10/2014 10:32:00 AM more reviews by BumblexX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

THE NAME DOES NOT LIE!
I've been using this on my face after cleansing and toning and it instantly makes it feel super refreshed. It has quite a watery gel-like consistency and a little really does go a long way.
I love using it in the winter when my skin gets extremely dry and this stuff just makes it so much better and takes away any dryness on my face!
It is very pricey for such a small tub but this would definitely be my one splurge item. There really is nothing like it that I have found in drugstores or for cheaper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jmakena07 on 6/8/2014 5:32:00 PM more reviews by jmakena07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

First time reviewing!this moisturizer is almost $50. I found my skin moisturized well through the day! Down fall it had no SPF!& honestly mine got done & didn't feel the need to restock! Just bought my olay $8 moisturizer with SPF

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sevbu on 6/8/2014 4:52:00 PM more reviews by sevbu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

no moisture for the dry skinned ladies i should say. maybe normal skin wouldn't like it much either.
little 7 ml jar was sent to me as a gift. as the name indicated "surge" and "extended" i gave it to my mum right away. when she tried, she said " are you kidding me? this does nothing to my skin!" she is 65 years old and she has extremely dry skin, on the contrary, i have oily t-zone, well, it didn't do wonders for sure, but i really liked under the make up.
foundation glides almost perfectly over this (not sure but feels like it has slicones). so i must say it feels like a primer instead of moisturizer. the name definitely misleads.

it has mildly chemical scent and packaging is an ordinary jar
.
i didn't hate it. i can give it another go as it didn't make me shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EleBees on 5/31/2014 10:30:00 AM more reviews by EleBees

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I ended up getting rid of this with the jar being basically full - it hurt my wallet to do so, but I knew I'd never use it again. I used it for about 2 weeks and it did nothing for my dry/patchy areas, and in general it was a let down. It definitely gave my skin no thirst relief at all, and only enhanced my dry patches. I saw no positive change on the oily areas of my face either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mandymoo202 on 5/26/2014 3:28:00 AM more reviews by Mandymoo202

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is supposed to be super moisturising but I actually find it makes my skin more dry even straight after application. I have used for a few weeks now and still no better. Clarins hydra quench is much better and cheaper too

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 epm2323 on 5/16/2014 11:31:00 AM more reviews by epm2323

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love this product - having used it years ago, the only barrier to me re-purchasing was price. Leaves my skin feeling lovely and soft, and my make up goes on much smoother.

Not sure if related to the moisturiser, but I was experiencing breakouts before I changed back to this product, and since the swap my skin has looked fantastic (past 2-3 months). This is the only change I can attribute it to...

Currently teaming this with the Moisture Surge eye cream and loving it - a little goes a long way so I think I will be re-purchasing when my tub runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sciencegeek on 5/15/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think I will be trying Clinique skincare products again. I have tried so many, and all of them let me down. This was no different, however it was probably the best product from the brand that I tried.

I bought this moisturiser when my skin was very dehydrated. My skin is combination and at the moment it is quite dehydrated.

What I liked about this moisturiser:
- It's fragrance free
- Feels nice on the skin (cooling)
- Leaves skin feeling soft and with a nice glow to it
- Did not, at any point, made my face shiny
- No harmful/undesirable effects

What I disliked:
- Even though it's fragrance free it smells a bit bad
- Does not moisturise per se, it just softens the skin due to the high silicone content
- Jar is not sanitary
- Has a very misleading name- this did not give me a moisture surge!

Maybe this moisturiser is too light for my skin. I tend not to get enough hydration from oil free moisturisers anyway. But still, for the price I was expecting this to moisturise a bit better. It really just sort of sits on my skin making it smooth and slippery. Will not buy again.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 5/13/2014 4:30:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

In the past, when I was only oily and dehydration was alien to me, I found this product too hydrating to use. Now that dehydration is a very real issue for my skin, this product isn't hydrating enough.

This pink "cream-gel" feels a little thick but melts onto your skin, spreading easily and sinking in quickly. You don't need too much to cover your whole face, which is nice since it is pricey (2.5 oz for $49.50 or less value for smaller sizes). I wouldn't load it on because I find that it doesn't really give me more hydration -- my skin just feels sticky and tacky. Otherwise, the product sinks in very well.

As for scent, I can't really smell anything except for something light that's a little bit chemical-y. I think the product is supposed to be fragrance-free and that's just the smell of the components.

I have worn this under makeup and find that it works well -- most of the time. I don't remember the exact products I had trouble with but sometimes this made some of my foundations and/or sunscreens pill or apply patchily.

Where this product truly fails for me, though, is in the hydration department. The moisturizer absorbs quickly and then I feel as if I never put moisturizer on in the first place. My skin does feel a little softer but I don't feel hydrated. I've tried putting an occlusive over the Clinique to seal the moisture in and that works beautifully. However, I can't really be sure the occlusive (Elta MD Intense) isn't doing all the work.

I've tried the Intense version of the Clinique moisturizer (Moisture Surge Intense, same price as Extended Thirst Relief) and I find it works very well for my troubled skin. It is heavier, though, so the audience is a bit different. I've loved it during the colder months but I am already doubtful it will be suitable for summer (on me, at least).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Moisturizers products