Cover FX • COVER FX • Foundations

rated 3.7(266 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Tishy24 on 2/19/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Tishy24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had training on this product, and it's a lot of work to get the right coverage. Plus with my oily skin, it really didn't work.

I like the ingredients and what the company is all about, but this product really doesn't do it for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 myrodeway on 1/30/2013 8:01:00 PM more reviews by myrodeway

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have severe acne scarring and require a thick foundation. This is not a terrible product; however for the money and more adequate coverage, I will stick with Dermablend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tricia_g_c on 12/24/2012 5:45:00 PM more reviews by tricia_g_c

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this as a concealer. As a foundation, not so much. It's so thick, think cream cheese. I felt as if I was making wrinkles when applying it the way I was told to by the woman at the counter. But, with a good brush, I use it as a concealer and "layer" on coverage as needed. It gives good coverage when paired with a powder. I don't think I'll need to buy another one given that I use it so rarely. I can't imagine wearing it all over on a hot day, mixed in with sweat and oil. The line is durn expensive too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beloreana on 12/20/2012 7:29:00 PM more reviews by Beloreana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Finding a good foundation is difficult for me because even though my skin is super fair, it has a yellow undertone. Most foundations made for fair skin out there have a pink undertone and when I put them on, my face turns orange.

This product is among the few that I have used that match my color perfectly and doesn't even look like I'm wearing make up. I am impressed with the coverage. It can cover completely or lightly, and can be used even as a concealer. Yes it can, get on stuff, but it's no different than any other foundation I've tried in the past. The fact that it has built in SPF is nice too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Natinahat on 11/22/2012 11:21:00 PM more reviews by Natinahat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

Use this as a concealer everyday! It's all I need too! It works really well with the beautyblender. Best part is it doesn't make me break out and if i set it with powder lasts from 8am to 10 pm ! Amazing holy grail product !!!! My boyfriend doesn't even notice! He says it looks really nice because it looks natural :) not caked !

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dancer156 on 11/17/2012 11:43:00 AM more reviews by dancer156

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I believe the updated name for this product is Total Cover Cream Foundation. That's what I'm writing my review for....
I applaud this company for keeping the "bad" ingredients (like parabens, mineral oil, etc) out of their products, but I was NOT impressed by this foundation's performance. I applied this using the recommended cream brush. To have any sort of coverage to my moderate acne/acne scars I had to apply a good 2-3 layers (and even then my imperfections were visible). I used a powder to set everything, but literally 30 minutes later my face was an OIL-SLICK. Then throughout the day it seemed to literally melt off my face...good thing I tested this out on a weekend and not during a work day! :(
For an excellent full-coverage foundation I highly recommend Kat Von D's new tattoo liquid foundation instead (if interested, you can read my separate review on this). :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lillyana on 11/9/2012 1:30:00 AM more reviews by lillyana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I cant believe people like this stuff! It's absolutely horrible. I bought it because my friend recommended it for the great coverage. I have hyperpigmentation so I've been looking for a really good foundation that is full coverage yet feels light, and stays put for over 12 hrs. Sadly, this foundation isn't it, too bad because i really wanted to like it.

I will admit the coverage is great, but it doesn't really matter because it literally rubs off on everything. I always put a setting powder but it doesn't stay put at all. I have to walk around hoping my face doesn't accidentally touch stuff. I have very oily skin and this foundation only made it worse. Also the texture is so thick, I learned that a little goes a long way. Even after putting on my setting powder my face still feels sticky from the foundation. I figured since the coverage is so good why not use it as an under eye concealer instead, boy was that a bad idea! This stuff sits deep into every line, pore, and crevice. The wrinkle under my eye that i once thought was small now seemed to grow into the size of a football field! Okay I'm exaggerating, but it did make all my lines and pores more obvious, and no woman likes that.

Now I'm using Revlon's colorstay foundation. I can't believe this drugstore brand is better and so much cheaper. CoverFx is way too expensive for how bad it was. The only good thing is the packaging, I guess.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellyscott55 on 11/7/2012 12:41:00 PM more reviews by kellyscott55

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am an esthetician and make up artist and I have been using this product for 8 years now as a heavy duty under eye concealer for my insanely dark circles. It took me a while to perfect this application and when you do its so amazing! I apply this foundation on top of a well cleansed and moisturized eye area with a Lise Watier Camouflage brush. I keep layering until I reach the desired coverage. Then with my warm finger I lightly dab to blend into skin. Instead of your finger you can use the sponge that comes with the foundation to dab and blend. I do recommend lightly setting with a loose powder with a brush and then dab lightly to finally set with your finger.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 proud_korn on 10/26/2012 12:56:00 PM more reviews by proud_korn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Just bought this last night, and I have applied it twice so far.

I can tell that it probably wouldn't be so good for wear during any sort of activity where you might break a sweat... Although it feels good on my face, I can tell that it is prone to transferring/running off. I have set it with CoverGirl loose powder, but it still doesn't really seem like it's totally in place on my face.

Coverage is gorgeous, but I use a stippling brush and I absolutely CANNOT imagine applying this stuff any other way. I dab the brush into the pan and then dab it on my face. This allows me to add more coverage where I need it, but the stippling effect stops it from looking mask-like.

So far, so good! I haven't used this with any non-Cover FX primer, so I can't comment on that... Shopper's Drug Mart has a deal on right now where you buy this product and get a CoverFX primer for free! Go! Run! Take advantage of that awesomeness! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msmaura on 10/19/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by msmaura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If I could only use one beauty product ever again, this would be it. I've used Cover FX's Cream Foundation in M80 for the past five years. It gives INCREDIBLE coverage and matches my skin perfectly. The creamy consistency allows it to be buffed into the skin so it doesn't look like it's just masking your face. Lasts all day on my combination skin, and works well with both powder and cream blushes/bronzers.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover FX products

More Foundations products