DHC • Deep Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.2(1333 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 daisyday on 3/27/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by daisyday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Yikes!!! So, so, so awful! I got a sample of this as part of a DHC mini catalog that arrived in the mail. I was excited to try it because I had heard good things about it. It felt just like oil when rubbing it on, but seemed like it was rinsing off fairly well, and there was no real discernable smell to it. I used it at night and woke up to horrendous acne. I do get the occasional monthly pimple, but within eight hours this had caused my face to erupt in a slew of whiteheads and a couple of cystic bumps - even on places I never get acne like smack dab on the apple of my cheek. It also felt like I had plastic film adhered to my skin that was giving me a tight, itchy, greasy feel. I had to wash a couple of times in the morning to get rid of that feeling, and I've been nursing my skin back to some semblance of normal for the past week -and I'm not quite there yet. I know many people love this cleanser, but if you have skin that is even slightly acne-prone, I would tread very cautiously if trying this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jianing23 on 3/21/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by jianing23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing. Gets rid of all makeup and cleared my skin of acne. I have oily skin but it's nothing to be scared of for oily skin ppl!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 libertine1988 on 2/25/2014 4:49:00 AM more reviews by libertine1988

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this when I was in Seoul for a couple of weeks and saw it there in store for the first time. I heard so much about this product, that I had to give it a go.
To me it is reasonably priced (paid around 10 for 100ml) and I loved the way it emulsifies on your skin. It really gets off all my makeup, even heavy mascara, although I have to agree that it leaves your vision blurry for a few seconds but it does not hurt, and you look like a panda in the process of makeup removal.
The scent of olive oil is very soothing and nice in the evening.
There is only 1 thing I don't like about this product.
1. The Packaging is totally fine, when you stay at home, but when you wanna travel with it, it leaks everywhere, you can't really close the bottle again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RainbowMun on 2/24/2014 11:37:00 PM more reviews by RainbowMun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Skin looked great the next day, but suffered from breakouts (tiny red bumps under the skin) the day after that. Unsure if this was due to the DHC cleansing oil or Skin79 Super BB cream. Not purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 2/20/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The thing is, this simply does not take all my makeup off. More specifically, it does not take off all my eye makeup, especially mascara. And that's not with heavy makeup, just regular everyday makeup.
I tried leaving it on and massaging it in or longer, and I also tried simply using more - nothing worked, and using more also made my eyes sting!
This being the case, I don't see how this very expensive oil is any better than any other oil out there. It's a decent product, feels nice and doesn't irritate my skin, and I use it as a second cleanse these days, but considering the price tag, I would not repurchase.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heather on 2/1/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by heather

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The thing I like most about this cleansing oil is how it turns milky and silky when mixed with water, then rinses cleanly in even cold water. It removes eye make well and doesn't sting my eyes but leaves them a little blurry, which is normal for a cleansing oil. I don't particularly like the olive oil smell, so I mix this with another cleansing oil (Garnier) and add some castor oil to that mix. I still prefer my own mix of vegetable oils+emulsifier but this blend is a good, though fragrant alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Videotapeses on 1/25/2014 4:59:00 PM more reviews by Videotapeses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

This is a decent oil, but overpriced. It doesn't remove waterprood eyemakeup as well as Boscia Makeup Breakup Cool Cleansing Oil. It doesn't do anything that a giant bottle of Kose Softymo White oil can't. The Kose oil is $12 on Sasa.com. I think DHC makes good products but the american price tag is quite high for what similar Japanese skincare goes for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Aralechan on 1/10/2014 9:58:00 PM more reviews by Aralechan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very thick oil cleanser with a faint smell of olives. It gets the job done, but there are alot of cheaper alternatives out there. The reason this stuff is so great is that you can buy it at a 7-eleven in Japan, so I never have to pack makeup cleanser if I go to Japan. It's super cheap and I just stick it back in the box and put it in my suitcase and use it up when I get home.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Xillabub on 12/30/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Xillabub

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried DHC, Shu Uemura and Hada Labo cleansing oils and this is my favorite. I feel I need the least rubbing into my skin with this one, and it takes the most stubborn mascara off easily. The texture is also very nice and comfortable on my skin. It emulsifies with water instantly and comes right off. Although you are not supposed to need to, I like to wash with a foaming cleanser afterwards. With the other two, I feel I have to whereas with the DHC I don't always need a second cleanse. I hope to buy my second bottle, but the price is deterring me, the first one I got was a travel sized one I picked up at Japan's airport and it was pretty affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupsmad on 12/22/2013 10:26:00 AM more reviews by makeupsmad

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm new to using oils to cleanse. My normally oily/combo skin that's acne prone and pores the size of craters was INCREDIBLY dehydrated and raw when our weather went from warm fall to arctic blast winter and all the piped in warm air to go with it. I had also done IPL so my skin barrier was also compromised. It was like nothing I could do would fix it and it was painful to even smile and I had these little pimples that seemingly never wanted to go away.

I've been using this for about a week and I bought it based on the good reviews here and on Amazon. I needed something to take off makeup because I wanted to use my CeraVe hydrating cleanser since it was gentle and hydrating, and even though I don't wear a ton of makeup everyday, I never feel like the CeraVe gets it all off. I briefly sprang for those makeup remover cloths and OUCH not a good idea for raw skin plus they just felt full of chemicals.

I used it the way that others on here have said. Dry face and hands, full massage for 2-3 minutes. The first time I think I used too much, second time too little, so it takes some time to figure out what you need. I hopped in the shower, off it came, used my CeraVe and poof...no extra traces of makeup on my cotton ball when I toned. My skin barrier is repairing itself, the oil hasn't dried me out, and my skin is clearing up probably because of the two things I mentioned, but also getting all my makeup off. So far I haven't seen much of a change in pores or anything, but if so I'll update. For those that think they shouldn't need a second step, I never thought twice about it because oil doesn't necessarily kill bacteria. So note, if you have acne-prone skin or large pores that can trap oil and grow bacteria, I would NOT suggest this as your only cleansing method. I follow up with a little BHA afterwards to keep the pores clear of too much oil.

It's a little pricey, but so far really worth it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Cleansers products