Victoria's Secret • General Opinion • Clothes

rated 2.9(226 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 orangeslice on 11/17/2012 4:11:00 PM more reviews by orangeslice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just ordered a velour hoodie and a pair of matching velour pants. I must say, it's pretty cute. I ordered a size small at first, and it just did not look good, so I sent it back. I tried it again in a xs and it fits the bill. If you search for coupon codes, you can get alright deals or free shipping or something. The shipping was pretty fast. The price for what I got was ok, not some amazing deal, but not unreasonable either. Overall pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SweetTeaAndKerouac on 10/24/2012 1:28:00 PM more reviews by SweetTeaAndKerouac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a 30DD. I've been told by VS "measuring experts" that I'm everywhere from a 32B to a 34D. My stupid teenage self didn't know any better not to buy those ill-fitting bras, so now I have a bunch of tacky bras in the wrong size chilling in my closet back home.

Now I wear Calvin Klein, Wacoal and Chantelle. They fit better and I don't have to wear dark shirts all the time now to cover up the neon VS bras.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kayaus22 on 10/24/2012 12:31:00 PM more reviews by kayaus22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm reviewing the Christie Fit Pants at VS. I bought size 2 30" inseam online, too short. Exchanged for 32" inseam which took FOREVER to get. (I should have just returned, then ordered a new pair online). They did not fit correctly in the butt/thigh area..too baggy but i have that problem with most dress pants. I didn't want to waste $6 again to return them so I decided to get them altered in the thigh area. It improved it slightly i guess. But i'm still not happy with them. They aren't stretchy at all. They wrinkle easily. They lose their shape after about an hour of wearing them. I spent $70+ with alterations and probably will not wear them much at all. I learned my lesson though - never buy dress pants online!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 torirendon on 9/19/2012 4:09:00 PM more reviews by torirendon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I seriously dread this place. I have only bought 4 things ever from here. Their yogas are comfy but I buy a size up to avoid looking like all the girls at my school who have the material stretched so far that you can almost see through it and NOTHING can be private. I enjoy my local college shirt from there ($30) and the 2 bras I bought worked ok. I needed 2 different ones for 2 different prom dresses in the past 2 years. I had to get the bombshell the 1st time bc I needed some more volume to hold up the dress than what I had. The other one I don't remember which kind it was, but I had to get a low cut one since it showed a tiny bit of skin in between the boob panels (or whatever they're called) but not much since I value modesty. I also have gotten another pair of yogas as a gift (they were a size too small so I don't wear them) and their Love Spell parfume and lotion (which I like very much). However, they're overpriced and I feel embarrassed going in there with friends, love interests, or family. I do like that they measure you for free, try to help you find what you need, and have a 32 band size bc I find it impossible to find

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 9/12/2012 1:41:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This review is for the hiphugger underwear. I only wear VS hiphuggers (the regular, not the low rise) and I've acquired quite the collection in the last year. I love the different styles that come out and they're long lasting. They're so comfortable and they don't ride up or pinch me at the waist.
I wish I could wear their bras but I'm too busty and they don't make them in D cup.

As for their makeup, I've tried their eyeshadows and lipglosses and they're rather mediocre. The eyeshadows aren't very pigmented and the lipgloss is hard to apply. They're fun but don't expect the quality from other brands like Dior, Bobbi Brown or MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bbybreanna on 4/14/2012 6:01:00 AM more reviews by bbybreanna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

i buy PINK panties, bras, and clothing; fragrances and beauty from victorias secret.

PINK panties: cute, comfortable. some of the cheekies show too much cheek and feel more like a thong. thats all i can complain about, except for the fact that theyre pretty pricey. 5 for $26 does not sound like a good deal to me, maybe for bras but not for panties. i always get them at the semi-annual sales or the $7 for $26 deals. all PINK panties are super cute! love the designs.


PINK bras: i own a demi push up, regular push up, and t-shirt demi. theyre all comfortable and bra fittings really do work. the names are true to their name, which means push ups really do push up. theyre are many styles and designs to choose from! again, super pricey bras. i always get them on sale or when they have specials.


PINK clothing: i looove their hoodies/sweaters. theyre beyond comfortable and keep you nice and warm. but ive noticed they all look the same, "LOVE PINK". i remember a long time ago, the PINK line had better designs on their clothing and cheaper prices. $45 for a sweater that says LOVE PINK and 86 on the back? yes theyre comfortable but not reasonably priced. same with sweatpants, ridiculous prices but yet amazing quality.


FRAGRANCES: there are many different scents to choose from! i love that. there are also value sets, lotions, eau du perfums, body powder, etc, for plenty of different scents. my favorites would have to be very sexy, sexy little things, pure seduction, and love spell.


BEAUTY: i find their lipglosses and eyeshadows are the best, but i have yet to try their face products. they seem to have good quality, but i guess the models wear that makeup so its worth a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sta1cee on 3/28/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by Sta1cee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Where do I start? In general, I find Victoria's Secret to be nothing special. I can find better-quality products for half-the-price elsewhere. Their body products consist of cheap ingredients, the longevity of their apparel is inexistent, and I am not a fan of the selection in general (cotton leopard-print panties? Yawn.)

That being said, I absolutely love their Gorgeous swim collection. It's nice to finally find a push-up swim top that is both flattering and supportive. It really sucks to shell out nearly $100 for a bikini though but a girl has got to spoil herself.

I was given their lipgloss and PINK lotion as a gift. Nothing special. The scent is great but for the price, I could get an organic lotion with much better-for-you ingredients.

Overall, it's okay. I would only shop there again for the bikinis.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fierymermaid on 3/16/2012 6:08:00 PM more reviews by fierymermaid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Well, I'll start with the main thing VS sells:

Bras. I'm a 34DD. There aren't many places I can just stroll into and find a quality bra in my size that is also pretty. VS just doesn't cater to it. In the bras that are available in 34DD, my size is usually sold out. They get very few in shipment and they sell fast; I know because I used to work there (at two locations, actually). When I can find something in my size, I do like it. People that complain about the bras "not holding up" are generally not washing and caring for them properly. VS annoys me in the regard that they constantly discontinue items. Most of my favourite bras have been discontinued (the Nakeds, Secret Embrace).

Panties: The cotton panties are a good buy. Not my favourite panties, but there's a huge variety to choose from and tons of prints and colours and that's what keeps me coming back. Honestly, I prefer Soma panties.

Lingerie: You can't buy anything sexy if you're over a size 36C. Literally. The lingerie (sold by bra size, anyway) stops at that size.

Sleepwear: I quite like the sleepwear. From cotton pajamas to robes to satin slips, I've had them all and they've all held up for a long time.

PINK: Honestly, I miss how PINK used to be. When I first started working at VS back in 2006, PINK was aimed at young women in the 20s-30s range. It had been ever since it was started in the 80s. Then I watched as it turned into a "tween" brand and became marketed towards 12 year olds. Bleh. In recent years they've changed the demographic again, and it's moving back towards college-aged girls. I love the sweatpants for lounging in the house, and the yoga pants are adorable...I just wish the stores actually sold the different lengths in pants. Every store I go to, they have a sign saying the pants are available in short/average/tall, but they never carry them. Why?

Clothing: As far as clothing from the website/catalogue, I've never ordered it. I think it's overpriced for what it is, and I hate ordering clothes. Shopping for clothes is enough of a chore when I'm able to try it on in person. Having an "hourglass" figure makes for very, very frustrating shopping.

Make-up: So so. I love the lipglosses and have a few eyeshadows. Most of the face products are just average.

Fragrances: Loooove VS fragrances, whether it's their perfumes or body spray lines. There is a reason they win fragrance awards quite often. The perfumes are high quality but affordable at around $50 for the largest size. High end fragrances of similar quality in departments stores cost $80, $90. Can't use any the bodywashes because of the sulfates, though. Makes my excema flare up. :(

Hair care: They all have the same fragrance as Body by Victoria. Love the fragrance! I like the shine spray and mousse. The shine serum is nice but can weigh hair down. It's really only useful if you wear your hair straightened and down. The shine spray allows for any hairstyle. I can't use the shampoos and conditioners, again, because of the sulfates. :(

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChristinaMarieT on 3/6/2012 11:27:00 PM more reviews by ChristinaMarieT

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First things first, Victoria's Secret is overpriced -- especially for the quality. When you shop there, your money is mostly paying for the name. Keep that in mind when you think about buying from them.


Pros:
The Pink line. I'm someone who is into cute and comfortable casual wear; Pink is exactly that. Their bottoms are flattering, and they are made to fit different body types (boyfriend, flare, bootcut, oversized, slim fit). Their shirts are wonderful for lounging around in and maintaining style. This line is just great for lazy days, students, and every day wear. You won't go wrong owning a few Pink items.
Their "SuperModel Essentials". It's similar to Pink, but for an older demographic.
The sleep wear. It's light weight and comfortable. It is definitely something you'd want to fall asleep in.
Their panties. They have the best fits, are always flattering, come in very feminine designs, and even have frequent sales on them! The materials are never irritating, either. You'll always feel sexy and comfortable when wearing their panties.
The beauty products. Their body sprays and perfumes are lovely smelling, and the cosmetics are great quality. I've gotten the best powder blush I've ever used from there.


The Cons:
The bras. They do not live up to the hype. Believe me, you can get amazing superduper push-up bras with the same quality at other places for sooo much cheaper. The straps are a bit weird, too. They don't hold up very well. They also get a bit repetitive for the designs/colors offered for the bras (nude, black, white, leopard); The variety in appearance isn't great.
The quality. Although the material is often very comfortable, the durability for their clothing is incredibly questionable. A lot of the clothing is thin, flimsy, and seemingly easy to stretch out or rip. Personally, when I buy expensive things, I expect to get the most out of them for an extensive amount of time, so this is a big turn off.


All in all, generally, Victoria's Secret has average clothing. Their above average status can only be attributed to their lounge wear, sleep wear, their panties, and their beauty products. What Victoria's Secret is famous for is actually not their strong point --- and frankly, that's a big downer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 2/20/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been a faithful shopper at Victoria's Secret for years & years. But, over the years, I've come to the conclusion about things that I like & things that annoy me about VS.



THINGS I LIKE:
1) The "pink" line. (blinged out hoodies, sweats, yoga pants, tshirts, panties).

2) Perfumes, Body Sprays, & Lotions.

3) Swimwear.

4) Coupons for $10 off any purchase & coupon for a free panty.



THINGS I DON'T LIKE:
1) The prices...I must admit, VS is a ripoff. It's way overpriced for the quality of clothing. It's very cheapily made. You're paying for the name.

2) Bras from VS. The $80 push up bras are good quality (I own a few of those). But they're $80, so they better be good quality. Other than those bras, I don't like their other bras. It's not that their bras are bad quality, it's more that the straps can't hold you up to save your life. & My boobs aren't even that big! So, I can imagine how annoying it must be for people with large breasts.




Most of all...I feel that VS is way overpriced for what it really is. If it were cheaper, I honestly probably wouldn't even complain or have a problem with it. It's the fact that they expect you to pay $30 for a flimsy, see through t shirt that is gonna rip with the slightest touch. I still love their hoodies, sweats, yoga pants, & perfumes. Those are the only things I will buy from VS. Other than that, maiden form & ambrielle bras are way better at supporting your bust. But, you still should switch your bras out every few months.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Victoria's Secret products

More Clothes products