La Roche Posay Effaclar K

3.8

213 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Salicylic Acid 1.5%) Aqua, Isonoyl Isononanoate, Propylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Salicylic Acid, Octyldodecanol, Zinc PCA, Sodium Hydroxide, Retinyl Linoleate, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide/Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Fragrance


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a really oily T-zone (my nose and forehead) with enlarged pores on my nose. This product was moisturizing enough for my normal cheeks, and light enough for my problem areas. It claims to tighten and unclog pores and I did see a small difference in my pores after using this product, but nothing major. It also has a very "medical" smell, which I personally liked, and it does not leave a greasy feeling at all. It didn't really do anything in the terms of controlling oil, but it doesn't claim to do that anyway, so that I can't complain about - I just thought I would mention that.

I gave this 4 because I would have liked to see a bigger difference in my pores, but it is a nice product and it didn't break me out or anything. I think that the packaging could be better; if you accidentally squeeze the metal tube while it's closed, you can't really stop the flow of the product next time you open it, and you'll end up with way too much product. I'm not going to repurchase this again since oil is the major problem in my skin, but it is a nice product if you're not looking for oil control, but want a light moisturizer that will smooth out your skin and keep your break outs down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/7/2012 3:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

WOW! I love this product. I have extremely dry and flaky, acne prone skin so I needed an acne treatment that wasn't going to be overly drying. I use this as a spot treatment on huge breakouts- certainly not on my entire face- and it clears them up in less than four days! I couldn't be more impressed. The downsides of this product are that the tube doesn't completely seal with the cap on for some reason so if the tube gets squeezed at all it can make quite a mess in the cap. As well it took me a few uses to get used to the strong fragrant smell so if you are scent sensitive, I wouldn't recommend this. Last point is to definitely make sure that you are using at least one good moisturizer with this. For me I wash my face, apply my night cream, then apply this to all my blemishes and follow up with a few sprays of thermal water for healthy, clear skin! I hope everyone else benefits from this as much as I did!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2012 7:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Wow. I bought this after glowing reviews on a youtube channel and wanted to try it under my makeup as a treatment to pep up my skin renewal.

the left side of my face from near my ear to near my chin started peeling/flaking after a couple days. I stopped using it, but the red splotches and dryness are still there A MONTH later. I don't even know what to use to get my skin back to where it was before I started this product. Maybe it's time to visit my dermatologist.

I have been using Retina micro for about a year now with ok results but nothing miraculously happening. And even that doesn't seem to be working where it used to work i.e., forehead cheeks and chin (I have not applied the retina micro where the redness/dryness currently are). It's strange because I have always had oily skin and now, for the time being I have dry skin and don't know how to deal with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2012 5:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product! I've had relatively clear skin for most of my life, however I started breaking out badly in my early twenties (most likely hormonal acne). After trying various other brands to clear my skin I stumbled across Effaclar K. Over time it has dramatically improved the texture and tone of my skin without over drying. Like others who have reviewed, my skin did initially break out with this product - HOWEVER I would like to point out that this is not necessarily a negative. Any product that is effectively exfoliating and purifying skin may cause an initial break out (since it is drawing the blocked bacteria from the skin). Give this (and any product) at least three weeks to work its magic. Best results are often seen after three months. I would recommend it to anyone with imperfection prone skin, especially if it is hormonal acne.


on 10/22/2012 8:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

WARNING: Long review. SUMMARY: The some of the ingredients were just too much for my skin and clogged it all up.

WHY, skin, WHY? I wanted to love this product so much because of such glowing reviews from the likes of Lisa Eldridge. So after much deliberating, I added it to my Escentual.com basket during their French skincare sale. Once I got it, I immediately used it the next morning to help clear up the remaining (and already disappearing) spots under my makeup. That night, I found that not only did those spots come back full force, my skin broke out with tiny new ones around those spots. I thought it was part of the whole "purge" process (I don't buy into it... but that goes to show you much I wanted this to work out). And then I looked at the ingredients list--REALLY looked at it--and googled each ingredient (links included):

1. ISONONYL ISONONANOATE : an emollient that helps condition the skin. It's known to be 100% safe. But there are studies that show that it is possibly comedogenic that can worsen acne. Strike one. http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/isononyl-isononanoate (there's also a forum post about how products actually do comedogenicity tests.

2. PROPYLENE GLYCOL: Strike two. http://thegoodhuman.com/2009/03/31/what-is-propylene-glycol-and-why-you-should-avoid-it/

3. DIMETHICONE: a type of silicone. It's not entirely bad and does work for some people. It also can cause a lot of irritation for those who are sensitive/acne-prone (strike 3): http://www.christopherdrummond.com/cdbblog/2010/12/23/dimethicone-and-other-bad-ingredients-for-acne-pronesensitive-skin/

I'm not going to list the rest of the ingredients since those three (and sadly, the top three in the product) are just some of the main suspects behind why this didn't work for me. I'm not hating on this product. It DOES work for a lot of people. Just be very, very careful of what you put on your skin, especially if you're sensitive and/or acne-prone. I hope this helps.

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2012 9:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I began using this in the AM with the Effaclar Duo (PM). I really like the results I am getting. My skin has been clearer and smoother. I still get an occasional zit but it's with less frequency.

The Effaclar Duo is an excellent zit-killing machine but I am not totally satisfied with the Effaclar K. It's like it's too weak and isn't clearing out my pores that well. I still have tons of congestion on my chin and it hasn't helped with black heads at all. My skin texture is nice - smooth, radiant. But again, not totally clear. This is a like but it's not an HG.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2012 12:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am currently on my third tube of this product and have been using it twice daily since last March. This stuff is awesome! I originally bought it because I noticed that a girl at work who normally had very bad acne came in and her face was very noticeably clearer and less red. After she told me what she was using, I went out and bought it and haven't looked back. I was prompted to buy this because last year I started getting hormonal and picky skin which seems to have pimples popping up along my jawline and chin 24/7. This treatment has dramatically changed my skin, but you need to be consistent with it. I know it has helped clear my skin and if I didn't have the HORRIBLE habit of falling asleep with makeup on often then my skin would look radiant and clear. I also feel like this helps somewhat with blackheads, but I didn't get many to begin with, but don't think it would be effective if that is your main concern. This is light and wears well under makeup. In the morning after i wash my face I use this before my moisturizer. It does not ball up, even if you put too much on. All in all, great product! Also, wanted to note that it is probably hydrating enough if you're oily. I find I'm more combo so I use a moisturizer from a diff brand afterwards. And best thing my skin hasn't dried out from this or peeled, it's so gentle. Ok hope this helps, I meant to write this a long time ago. Cheers

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

it is a very good make up base and it is good to keep blemishes under control but it doesn't work for serius pimples


on 9/4/2012 3:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

My dermatologist gave me a sample to treat my blemishes. I used it on the first day and saw the difference, smaller and less red.

Next day, I broke out really bad. The area I treated was just a zit then it formed into massive five zits on my chin! I continued to treat that area but it just made everything worse. I stopped using it.


on 9/3/2012 4:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely an out standing skincare product, it dileverd to my skin whatever it promised. CANNOT LIVE WITHOUT IT!


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
525 Reviews
Nerium AD
66 Reviews
Sudocrem
134 Reviews
Lemon Juice
396 Reviews
Back to Top