Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

4.0

1675 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Butoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Benzophenone-1.


on 12/7/2014 9:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is an industry favorite for a reason, but personally I am not a fan.

Pros:
- does dry super fast
- super glossy shine

Cons:
- super strong chemically smell. like i will get lung cancer from inhaling the fumes.
- i find that this attracts grease or smudges --- when I use this on my nails, the clear glossy topcoat always seems to be covered in greasy fingerprints (I do lotion a lot though but other top coats seem to handle my lotioning habit a lot better)
- major shrinkage if you do not do a good job of fully coating the edges of your nails
- dries up/gets goopy within the bottle fast (you'll need to use the Restore product)

If none of the cons bother you, then this is an excellent topcoat. Personally I always leave a good amount of time to do my nails, so I don't really need a fast drying top coat (CND Super Shiney is my fave).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Raided this from my mom's collection. I still haven't been able to pinpoint if it's this product, my basecoat, or the actual polish itself that's causing my nails to peel, so for now, I won't take off points for that. I'm in love with how fast it dries: I can shower, go to bed, or just go about my day and my polish will stay intact--which I can't really say about other top coats I've tried. Because of this, I will most likely repurchase...despite the nagging feeling that I'm probably taking a week off my life every time I use it due to all the chemicals in it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2014 1:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This causes my polish to peel off in sheets. My polish chips within a day of using this. It stinks to high heaven. It goes " bad" quickly meaning it turns very gummy and hard to work with. It disrupts my nail polish while applying and creates streaks. It will remove polish while applying. It's too pricy for all the drama it creates. Ugh. ..... This is way too hyped.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2014 5:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

After hearing a friend rave about this stuff (after constantly hearing my complaints on how I don't paint my nails because I have other things to do in life rather than wait for my nails to dry...), I bought a bottle. SO happy with it! I typically do base, 2 coats color, and this on top. Seriously dries so fast! The price is average. I haven't experienced the shrinkage as other reviews have stated? As far as chipping- I've always had issues... Even with gel. My major con is the smell! Just use in a well ventilated area.


on 11/22/2014 3:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my favorite top coat thus far. It dries super fast and is easy to use. Sadly, this isn't locally available in the Philippines. :) I regret not stocking up on this while I was in Singapore.


on 11/5/2014 11:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff dries super fast and shiny and is the best fast drying nail product i've used so far. Definitely recommend!

if you're having trouble make sure you're using it correctly - use over semi-dry nail polish and avoid going over the nail multiple times. Instead get a bead going on the end of the brush and let it sort of wash over the nail. I'm sure there are more detailed instructions on the interwebs :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2014 11:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this top coat! I have finally found a top coat that really does dry fast enough for me to paint my nails before bed and I don't wake up to sheet marks on my fresh manicure the next morning. Not only does it dry fast it gives your nails a glossy gel-like finish that lasts and lasts. As a recovering nail salon addict this product definitely allows me to give myself professional looking mani/pedis at home, in a fraction of the time (and the price) of going to a salon, freeing up my time to do more productive things. As a busy mom I just don't have time to sit around and wait for my nails to dry. I don't know how Seche Vite does it, but I'm glad that they do, because it really has changed my life! Well as much as a fast drying top coat can!






Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This use to be my favorite go to top coat, because it does work well and dries really fast. However, I fell out of love with it when i noticed it always seemed to change the color of my polish. It tints the shade a yellow/brown color. And it shrinks, like others have mentioned. And for the life of me I can't get a manicure to last more than 48 hours before it peels off in sheets. I switched to "out the door" and it dries just as fast without the harsh chemicals, god awful smell, yellow tint, and shrink issues.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2014 6:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This top coat is by far the best I've used, and I have used pretty much every top out there. It dries in literally 1-3 minutes at the absolute most. The only thing to consider when using this product are the chemicals in it, for example toluene, that has been banned in European countries since it's labeled as a carcinogen from what I have read online. So when applying make sure you are in a well ventilated place or wear one of those masks manicurist wear. Other than that it is the best out there for a perfect manicure.


on 10/23/2014 5:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My issue with this product is no matter what nail polish I use under it, it causes tip shrinkage and early chipping. Does it dry fast, yes, but the shrinkage and pre-mature chipping are a deal breaker. When I use my Essie No Chip Ahead (I'm not affiliated with the Essie company) top coat, which is not a dry fast topcoat, I get none of those issues. Therefore I'll wait the extra few minutes for my polish to dry.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 13 by fionaman

Quick Tip: For Seche Vite Lovers by fionaman

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Seche Vite dry fast top coat by Denim Vixen

Top Rated Seche Vite Products

image

Dry Fast Top Coat

1675 reviews
Back to Top