MAC • Tarnish Eye Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 shuppet88 on 3/25/2009 3:05:00 AM more reviews by shuppet88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I read a lot of reviews by persons who didn't agree with Tarnish's staying power. I'm not sure though that this criticism is apt for the Eye Kohl series. They are meant to be smudged; they're more for that messy, smokey eye. So if you're looking for that, then this is it. But if you want staying power, go for Technakohl or Powerpoint. Actually, I wore it tonight with "Indianwood" Paint Pot, the black side of Mineralize Shadow "Hot Contrast," and "Spiritualize" Pigment. Maybe it's because my eyes are so dry that it doesn't smudge, but it stayed all night. And it looked great. Tarnish is a beautiful deep green, and I chose it over "Smolder" the other day. I give it five lippies because it's so beautiful; it is truly a must-have for smokey eye lovers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anjel_kisses on 1/31/2009 8:24:00 PM more reviews by anjel_kisses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

GORGEOUS GORGEOUS GORGEOUS COLOR! as described, it is a true blackened 'tarnished' green with flecks of green shimmer. very bold and beautiful. makes brown eyes POP like no other and flatters golden tan skin. could probably work with other complexions as well though! although the staying power could be better, the color makes up for it. i usually draw a thick line, smudge smudge smudge. then go over it with another line to define and it creates a lovely deep green smokey eye. i hope they never discontinue this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bludvls849 on 10/11/2008 4:52:00 PM more reviews by bludvls849

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful deep green that has slight gold flecks in it - I'm not a huge fan of the staying power. It's a very soft kohl so it tends to smudge after a few hours. Bummer, the color is just so very pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilovefruit on 9/30/2008 1:26:00 PM more reviews by ilovefruit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So, originally I was meant to get the kohl in 'Rosemary & thyme' - and this is what i THOUGHT i purchased. However, when I came home from the shop and was eager to try it on - SURPRISE - the MA had actually picked the wrong one and i got Tarnish instead :(. Well, unfortunately, here in Finland we do not have the same privilege of a great return policy for cosmetics as many of you Americans have.. so i couldn't return it, and boy was i disappointed to realize this. Well, sad as i was for spending 15,50 (approx 22 US dollars) on an eyeliner i didn't really want, i still tried it on and was quite positively surprised about it. It's not what i wanted, but it is a nice deep green shade and i like the way its easy t smudge :)
So, all-in-all this is a decent eyeliner of good quality - if you're looking for a soft, deep green eyeliner then this is the one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 McClain on 8/20/2008 8:44:00 PM more reviews by McClain

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this color is gorgeous! its so smooth and smudge-able. it really makes my brown eyes stand out and just look prettier. i used to wear a ton of eye makeup but now i just wear this pencil and a little of mac's 'be rich' eye shadow (and mascara of course) but yeah. its so much simpler, but it looks amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SunsetRodeo on 7/23/2008 7:34:00 PM more reviews by SunsetRodeo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Tarnish Eye Kohl is a stunner of a color, a deep blackened emerald peacock green w/ fine shimmer. The beautiful color is what justifies the mediocre eye kohl formula. I never used to have an issue with the staying power of MAC kohls, but unfortunately, this liner smudges after a few hours. And don't even try to get your eyes wet or you'll look like you have two black eyes! In terms of packaging, I love the length of the kohl, which is longer than my other liners. It is also easy to sharpen as well. My favorite ways to wear this is with a shimmery bronze, gold, olive green, or taupe eyeshadow with Tarnish on my upper and bottom half of my lower lashline. Also, I like to lightly smudge it to bring out the green shimmer. Now if only MAC will make this into a PowerPoint (or a similar color), I would be in heaven!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girrl65 on 1/12/2008 4:06:00 PM more reviews by girrl65

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This liner is really great! It goes on smoothly, but not too smooth where you run the risk of it slipping. I love the color! It is black from a distance, but up close in good light it is a reflective "tarnished" green. Awesome!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angerturnedsideways on 12/17/2007 11:54:00 PM more reviews by angerturnedsideways

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

On me this doesn't look anything like black except that it's dark, it's more of a very dark bluey green. That said, it's a beautiful, exotic colour that makes my almost black eyes browner.

The best thing about it is that it's very creamy and is easy to apply and smudge, though it seems to disappear during the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sakecat22 on 12/1/2007 8:36:00 PM more reviews by sakecat22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Tarnish is such a pretty color on my brown eyes. The eyeliner is easy to control and tends to stay in place all day with only slight smudging. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 covetous on 11/29/2007 8:40:00 AM more reviews by covetous

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Fabulous kohl. I love the texture, smudges nicely, it lasts well on me, and although it's basically black with a tiny bit of green pearl (as others have remarked), it looks miles nicer on me than straight black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products