Joico • K-Pak Reconstruct Daily Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.9(148 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 missalexandre on 1/9/2012 10:43:00 PM more reviews by missalexandre

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a liter bottle of this at Ulta for 14.99...I originally went in just to try the K-Pak reconstructor but my beloved Bumble and Bumble Creme de Coco conditioner bottle had busted all over while I was on vacation, so when I saw how good of a deal it was I figured why not try it?
This morning after the gym I shampooed with Bumble and Bumble Gentle shampoo, put in the reconstructor, and then put in the conditioner (I used a showercap on my hair to let the ingredients penetrate better for both). My hair felt silky in the shower when I was rinsing out the conditioner. I did a wash-and-go, smoothing just a dab of gel through my bottom layers.
After my hair dried, I saw it in a mirror at school and WOW! It was so shiny, and my hair fell in that perfect messy-yet-sexy way with nice defined waves and no frizz. My boyfriend literally would not stop touching it all day, and asked what I did differently because it was so soft. It has just gotten better as the day goes on, getting even silkier. I'm pretty sure this was the conditioner, because all the reconstructor is supposed to do is make my hair stronger. :P
For reference, I have very thick 2B/C hair cut into a shaggy lob. It is virgin as far as coloring goes, and is easily damaged from heat and has a tendency to dry out. I wash my hair whenever it gets dirty...sometimes its 2 days, sometimes its 5.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XxPRINCESSAxX on 12/30/2011 12:02:00 PM more reviews by XxPRINCESSAxX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

This was recommended to me by the girl who used to color my hair, since my usual color job involved bleaching and (usually) all over highlighting plus color deposit (always).

So basically my hair required extra special care, and this product provided it. Although my hair was overly processed, it did not look in, by way of being damaged, dried out, frazzled etc. I always blow dried then used the straightener on my hair every single time I washed it and it still looked and felt very healthy despite how I tortured it.

This conditioner always left my hair with just the right amount of moisture, which is surprising since my hair required a LOT of moisture. I should mention that I used this as a usual conditioner, while adding a deep moisturizing treatment a few times a month.

Now that I am not putting my hair through all that, I have been using regular DS shampoo/conditioner and my hair is NOT in good condition. It has been breaking, splitting and not feeling nice. I thought my hair would be in better condition now. So I thought what is so different about what I'm doing now and then besides the coloring (which would've made it worse, NOT better)? And I honestly think this is the answer. I got so sick of it and was so glad I didn't *have* to use it anymore, but I think I will go back and use whatever I have left.

Anyways, it's pricey, but you can get it at discount in stores like Marshall's, TJ Maxx, or if in Canada, Winners. I would however suggest caution when purchasing those varieties, as I used this product constatly for over 2 years, and therefore was very familiar with it, and I know for a fact that the conditioner I purchased from one of those stores in an original Joico K-Pak bottle was definitely NOT the usual product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HollywoodIceQueen on 12/13/2011 12:20:00 PM more reviews by HollywoodIceQueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I liked the conditioner, it helped untangle a bit - which is the first and pretty much only thing I look for in a conditioner. Not the best smell, but I always use Biosilk after I shower so it covers easily. I prefer Nexxus or Enjoy for the tangles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 toreybeth on 11/24/2011 10:11:00 PM more reviews by toreybeth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought two liter bottles of the Joico K-Pak Reconstruct system without really knowing what I was getting myself into. My hair is not damaged per se, but I do get highlights about three times a year, plus my hair is naturally quite dry. About a year ago, I was having major damage problems, and my hair was literally snapping off, so I assumed that since I only recently started taking care of my hair (why did it take so long to see the light?) that maybe the K-Pak would be a good way to add moisture and restore even more health to my hair. However, I was totally mistaken.

The shampoo is ultra-rich and smells nice. It lathers well and leaves my hair silky smooth in the shower. However, the conditioner will always leave me wanting. The conditioner smells absolutely terrible, a very sickly-sweet smell, and it is in no way thick. It took me about six pumps to get the amount I needed (I use three pumps for the ends of my hair and three pumps for the upper half of my head.) When I began to style my hair for the day, I discovered that it was weighed down immensely, and that my curls had lost all of its definition, even though my hair was outrageously smooth, especially this awful underlayer of my hair (the nape of my neck area) that is downright coarse and disgusting--can anyone explain that to me? All of my hairstylists that I've ever had can't.

Basically, if your hair is severely damaged, or if you have intensely coarse hair, this is the shampoo for you. i bought my liters at Costco, and I'm now giving them to my mom, because that's exactly what her hair is like. However, I saved some in little travel bottles for a nice deep conditioning treatment when the cold weather sets in.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thedallasdiary on 11/21/2011 10:39:00 AM more reviews by thedallasdiary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this during a liter sale at Ulta and I'm really glad I did. I've used the Joico K-Pak mask before and didn't love the smell but I'm trying to grow my hair out and knew that I needed something to help make my hair stronger. I only wash my hair about twice a week and this has made my hair feel a lot stronger and healthier. My hair is bleached, wavy, and tends to be dry and frizzy. This makes my hair smooth and strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cocofern on 11/8/2011 1:18:00 PM more reviews by cocofern

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this along with the Joico K-Pak Shampoo and use them together about once a week. My hair really likes this conditioner and soaks it up immediately. This product makes my hair a lot easier to comb out after washing and prevents tangles. I used this with the shampoo regularly and realized that it was just too much for my fragile hair, so this product is definitely not for everyone or designed for regular use. My hair started feeling dry and tangled like before. I rotate it with another shampoo and conditioner and now it works much better. A lot of times when I wash my hair, the next day I wake up with knots and tangles all over the place, but this product prevents that. It also makes my hair shiny and a lot healthier looking.
It is quite expensive but it works and because I don't need to use it frequently it lasts a while. The only thing I dislike about these products is the packaging... the bottles are really hard to open when your hands are wet and slippery in the shower. I've broken nails attempting to open them before. Other than that I like these products and will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hnrenfro on 11/3/2011 2:05:00 PM more reviews by hnrenfro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this conditioner is good its great for my sister (she has straight fine hair) but it isnt as moisturizing as id like i am in LOVE with the intense hydrator<3 my hg conditioner is the IH

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goldfish5555 on 9/10/2011 10:29:00 PM more reviews by goldfish5555

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wow. I definitely have something to say about this conditioner. At the store, my regular conditioner was out, so having enjoyed the K-pak weekly treatment a couple of times I was pretty excited to purchase this conditioner. There was a sale and I got two liters. As I started the second liter, I realized something was really wrong with my hair. It seemed dry and matted, no matter what I did. It was stick straight and wouldn't hold a curl not matter what I put in it. Seriously, I'd curl it in the a.m. and my hair would be stick straight minutes later. So I looked on here and now it's obvious I'm experiencing protein buildup. I didn't even know this existed! I just washed my hair with a clarifying shampoo and am deep conditioning right now. So relieved to know what it is. So Ladies (and Gents) beware that long term use of this conditioner can lead to stick straight, dry, hay hair... basically crazy Scarecrow hair. Luckily it's reversible. The end!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Briggitte on 8/3/2011 8:07:00 PM more reviews by Briggitte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Although I'm sure this product works well for others it didn't fit my hair well. I don't color my hair and it is naturally curly. I do heat style my hair quite a bit so that's why I thought this might help with damage. After using this twice in 2 weeks my hair felt extremely brittle and became tangled quite easily which is not normal for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahturtle3 on 7/26/2011 10:35:00 AM more reviews by sarahturtle3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

To start I would just like to say that this review is of the conditioner AND shampoo of this line. This product is fantastic. I used lemon in my hair to lighten it without getting highlights, and ended up stripping it of all life. I researched online and looked high and low for a good reconstructing shampoo. Then, I was surfing YouTube, and came across juicystar07, or Blair Fowler, and her everyday haircare routine. Curious, I took a look, and sure enough her shampoo and conditioner were of the Joico K-PAK Reconstruct line. So I hauled my butt to Wal-Mart to try it out, and I am blown away. After just one wash, my hair was rejuvinated and brought back to life. It is amazing, a bit pricy, but totally worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Conditioner products