MAC • Eyeshadow in Mystery • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(102 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Emma93 on 4/21/2012 5:32:00 PM more reviews by Emma93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like mystery. It's a nice eyeshadow, a darker brown, not warm, not really cool. The color payoff is not really good, which is the main reason I gave it only 3 lippies. If you swatch it, it looks like nothing. And I may have gotten a dud, because it does not look nearly as dark as it does on other people. I have seen it on multiple blogs and swatches and somehow mine doesn't even get close to be that dark. I usually use Cork as a crease color, but if I want something a bit more dramatic, a bit deeper, I use Mystery. Now I wish I had gotten Smut, because swatched next to each other they look quite similer but Smut has that reddish shimmer to it that gives it a special twist. Although I heard Smut's texture isn't that great either. Anyway, I'd probably go for another dark brown now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bernsie on 4/21/2012 3:52:00 PM more reviews by bernsie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

Aahhhhh, Mystery, it's not called this for nothing you know. This is probably one of my favorite "neutrals" as it's sooo unusual. This you will never find elsewhere. It is a must have staple/neutral like Carbon, Brun, Concrete, and Bark, but not as ash or cool. There have been arguments as to what color this brown/neutral is laced with around MAC counters/stores amoung MAC staff and customers. What is in it to make it look not so ashen/cool? Is it a hint of pink/red? maybe a bit of Mauve, a bit of purple, a bit of VIOLET even. Well I don't know. That's why they named it "Mystery" I guess...A MUST, MUST have, for sure!!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thathoneydip on 4/20/2012 11:36:00 AM more reviews by thathoneydip

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i use this to fill my brows sometimes when im going out on the weekends and i want defined bold brows, i always grab for this. great multi purpose eyeshadow

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blushmetweetme on 2/17/2012 7:47:00 AM more reviews by blushmetweetme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Such a good multipurpose shadow. I use this for my brows, and in the outer crease, of for a great smokey eye! Really matte and pretty! The MAC eye shadows are also such good prices considering the quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nancy371 on 2/10/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Nancy371

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use it for almost everything: lining, smokey look, on the crease, and more rarely for filling my brows (only because it fits better on dark brows- mine are lighter). Great on top of eyeliner/pencil, either to set it and keep it from smudging, or to make the line look softer and more refined. Its matte, cool, not extremely dark colour makes it a basic product in my vanity case. Its greyish shade flatters brown eyes. When I travel, I take this and an eyebrush, and I don't even need any eyeliner with me. Also, the texture/quality is very good, and it stays well and long on oily lids, but I would say this about all MAC eyeshadows that I've tried. Very convenient for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dcabc on 1/14/2012 11:43:00 PM more reviews by dcabc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I'm kicking myself for not getting this sooner! I've been using Espresso as a brow filler for, oh, over 10 years now, and while it did the job fine, sometimes I felt it pulled too warm on my fair skin and very dark brows - almost unnaturally reddish in certain lighting or photos. And I never was able to use it as an eyeshadow since it's too warm (just like saddle and soft brown, which look horrid on me). Mystery is the dark hair/cool skin answer to Espresso - it's a perfect, dark, muted brown with absolutely zero warmth. It looks natural on my brows and also pairs well in the crease or outer corner with all of my beloved taupe shadows. Pigmentation and blendability are great. HG!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NK207 on 11/4/2011 7:26:00 PM more reviews by NK207

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

To start off, I have very pale skin with freckles, and dark hair and blue eyes. This color unlike any other brows I've come across, a sort of a mauvy cool-toned brown without any red in it - which I love.

I use this through my eyebrows every day and it's perfect for that and lasts really well. For most looks I put this in the crease to darken it, but I recently found a new way to use it and it has become my go-to make up look: Apply mystery with a regular application brush, preferably a bit softer than usual brushes, and apply it all along my top lashline as well as 2/3 on the lower lashline. Then I smudge this a bit to soften it, apply black eyeliner to my top waterline and finish off with mascara. Voila, an appropriate, super easy smokey eye suitable for daytime and with some more eyeliner for evening. Works great.

I think it might be a bit too ashy on people with warm undertones, but it is worth a shot. It's a perfect cool-toned dark brown, highly pigmented and super smooth to apply. However, I think MAC eyeshadows are a bit too expensive, luckily they last forever. The packaging is hideous and I really hope that MAC do something with that. But great color though :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 9Chickweed on 9/27/2011 5:15:00 PM more reviews by 9Chickweed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Mystery and Ricepaper are the ONLY MAC shadows that I will purchase over and over for as long as I live. Rather dramatic statement to make, yes, but they're such staples in my gigantic makeup collection, it's hard to imagine doing a makeup look without them! Mystery is my go to color for my brows. I'm Asian NC35 and it fills my sparse brows in perfectly. I use my Laura Mercier double ended brow brush and I get perfect brows every time. Ricepaper is THE tear duct color I use for almost every look. Love!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittney93 on 9/27/2011 5:08:00 PM more reviews by brittney93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

One of the best MAC eyeshadows. I absolutely love this eyeshadow. I use it everyday to fill in my brows, and I also use it in the outer corner of my eye to intensify any nuetral eyeshadow look. Mystery is a cool toned medium to dark brown and looks really nice on cool toned skins. If your warmer toned handwritten is a good reddish based medium dark brown that is also nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hellokitty93100 on 9/3/2011 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Hellokitty93100

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Mystery is one of my all time favorite mac eyeshadows. It's a dark cool toned brown that is perfect for the outer corner and adding smokiness to any look. I also really like this for my eyebrows, because it's cool tone it looks really natural and doesn't clash with my ashy dark brown hair like a lot of reddish eyeshadows do. However I have to say that I'd your more of a warmer complexion or you have more golden tones in your hair you might want to try handwritten eyeshadow. It is also a dark brown but is more red based and complements warmer skintones better that mystery will.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products