MAC Eyeshadow in Mystery

4.5

104 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/11/2012 5:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I went into the mac store and told a pretty blonde girl with awesome eye makeup I wanted a cold, dark brown eyeshadow without the annoying red undertones in it. Her expertise mathed her flawless makeup application, because she soon showed mystery and swatched it on her hand for me, and it was love at first sight! I combine it with orb as a base colour and then just apply this on my lid and blend it into the crease to emphasize my eyes more. It's pigmented and doesn't fall out when I apply it, which is a huge plus. I hate it when eyeshadows Smulders and practically attacks my lower eyes and cheekbones. I don't know the staying power since I combine it with UDPP, which even holds onto the cheap stuff like superglue. But I guess it lasts longer than most eyeshadows without a primer too, judging from the views, but it would most likely crease and smudge on my super oily eyelids anyway, so I won't take the chance.


I also discovered that it was great for filling in patches on my eyebrows I'm growing out at the moment. The shade is a perfect match for my dark brown brows, but I can imagine it being a bit too much for a blonde or someone with naturally light brows.


This is definitely a basic must have for every mac eyeshadow palette no matter what kind of skin or haircolour you have.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 5/24/2012 11:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love using mystery for my eyebrows. It's the perfect shade. I have dark brown hair, nc25 skin. It goes well with mac spike eye brow pencil. I use to wear brun eyeshadow for my brows but mystery is lighter making it look more on the natural side compared to brun. It will last me a very long time since I only use it for my brows

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2012 5:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I like mystery. It's a nice eyeshadow, a darker brown, not warm, not really cool. The color payoff is not really good, which is the main reason I gave it only 3 lippies. If you swatch it, it looks like nothing. And I may have gotten a dud, because it does not look nearly as dark as it does on other people. I have seen it on multiple blogs and swatches and somehow mine doesn't even get close to be that dark. I usually use Cork as a crease color, but if I want something a bit more dramatic, a bit deeper, I use Mystery. Now I wish I had gotten Smut, because swatched next to each other they look quite similer but Smut has that reddish shimmer to it that gives it a special twist. Although I heard Smut's texture isn't that great either. Anyway, I'd probably go for another dark brown now.


on 4/21/2012 3:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Aahhhhh, Mystery, it's not called this for nothing you know. This is probably one of my favorite "neutrals" as it's sooo unusual. This you will never find elsewhere. It is a must have staple/neutral like Carbon, Brun, Concrete, and Bark, but not as ash or cool. There have been arguments as to what color this brown/neutral is laced with around MAC counters/stores amoung MAC staff and customers. What is in it to make it look not so ashen/cool? Is it a hint of pink/red? maybe a bit of Mauve, a bit of purple, a bit of VIOLET even. Well I don't know. That's why they named it "Mystery" I guess...A MUST, MUST have, for sure!!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2012 11:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i use this to fill my brows sometimes when im going out on the weekends and i want defined bold brows, i always grab for this. great multi purpose eyeshadow


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Such a good multipurpose shadow. I use this for my brows, and in the outer crease, of for a great smokey eye! Really matte and pretty! The MAC eye shadows are also such good prices considering the quality.


on 2/10/2012 4:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use it for almost everything: lining, smokey look, on the crease, and more rarely for filling my brows (only because it fits better on dark brows- mine are lighter). Great on top of eyeliner/pencil, either to set it and keep it from smudging, or to make the line look softer and more refined. Its matte, cool, not extremely dark colour makes it a basic product in my vanity case. Its greyish shade flatters brown eyes. When I travel, I take this and an eyebrush, and I don't even need any eyeliner with me. Also, the texture/quality is very good, and it stays well and long on oily lids, but I would say this about all MAC eyeshadows that I've tried. Very convenient for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2012 11:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm kicking myself for not getting this sooner! I've been using Espresso as a brow filler for, oh, over 10 years now, and while it did the job fine, sometimes I felt it pulled too warm on my fair skin and very dark brows - almost unnaturally reddish in certain lighting or photos. And I never was able to use it as an eyeshadow since it's too warm (just like saddle and soft brown, which look horrid on me). Mystery is the dark hair/cool skin answer to Espresso - it's a perfect, dark, muted brown with absolutely zero warmth. It looks natural on my brows and also pairs well in the crease or outer corner with all of my beloved taupe shadows. Pigmentation and blendability are great. HG!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2011 7:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

To start off, I have very pale skin with freckles, and dark hair and blue eyes. This color unlike any other brows I've come across, a sort of a mauvy cool-toned brown without any red in it - which I love.

I use this through my eyebrows every day and it's perfect for that and lasts really well. For most looks I put this in the crease to darken it, but I recently found a new way to use it and it has become my go-to make up look: Apply mystery with a regular application brush, preferably a bit softer than usual brushes, and apply it all along my top lashline as well as 2/3 on the lower lashline. Then I smudge this a bit to soften it, apply black eyeliner to my top waterline and finish off with mascara. Voila, an appropriate, super easy smokey eye suitable for daytime and with some more eyeliner for evening. Works great.

I think it might be a bit too ashy on people with warm undertones, but it is worth a shot. It's a perfect cool-toned dark brown, highly pigmented and super smooth to apply. However, I think MAC eyeshadows are a bit too expensive, luckily they last forever. The packaging is hideous and I really hope that MAC do something with that. But great color though :-)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2011 5:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

Mystery and Ricepaper are the ONLY MAC shadows that I will purchase over and over for as long as I live. Rather dramatic statement to make, yes, but they're such staples in my gigantic makeup collection, it's hard to imagine doing a makeup look without them! Mystery is my go to color for my brows. I'm Asian NC35 and it fills my sparse brows in perfectly. I use my Laura Mercier double ended brow brush and I get perfect brows every time. Ricepaper is THE tear duct color I use for almost every look. Love!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top