Artdeco • Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 4.3(115 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Wood_stock on 4/9/2012 6:46:00 PM more reviews by Wood_stock

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This eye prime is crap. It is very dry and difficult to apply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HotLikeMexico on 3/8/2012 9:13:00 AM more reviews by HotLikeMexico

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The Urban Decay Primer Potion isn't available where I live and I desperately wanted an eyelid primer so I got myself this baby. And I love it.
APPLICATION: It comes in a tiiiny little pot, but don't be fooled by the size because you only need a light layer of this on your lid and you're good to go. I dip my finger into the pot once and get enough product to cover my lid and brow bone. After blending this in, I can layer as many shadows as I want over it and get great results.
QUALITY: This product makes eye shades so many times more vivid and long-lasting than they are without it. Colors look as bright on the lid as they do in their pans, if not brighter. I've worn this on multiple occasions and it lasts for 8+ hours, in my experience. It is also water-resistant! I splashed/rubbed/ran water over it and it didn't budge. Only when I scrubbed with soap did it actually come off. It'll last you forever, seriously. I've had mine for a little under a year now and the product looks barely used.
SMELL & CONSISTENCY: It has a hard creamy consistency. The color is a nude gold color with slight iridescence but worry not, NO sparkles or glitter shows on your lid. The product doesn't show through eye shades at all, either. It has a slight cologne-ish smell, like men's perfume. I don't mind that, though.


To sum it up -
PROS:
-makes eye shadow as bright as can be
-makes eye shadow last 8+ hours
-very small amount needed
-pot lasts exceptionally long
-not too expensive


CONS:
-some people may not like the men's cologne smell
-stupid pot packaging (Use a spatula/toothpick/back of a spoon to get product out, I'd say)

All in all, it really is a great product, minus the packaging. When and if I run out of mine, I'll definitely get another.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nnn3 on 2/19/2012 8:51:00 AM more reviews by nnn3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this base.It helps my eyeshadows last longer and prevents them from creasing.The only thing that I do not like is the smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 helenanoelle on 1/10/2012 5:29:00 PM more reviews by helenanoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this, and this will last ALL day :) I get very oily on my lids, and this really helps me with my eyeshadow creasing. I use this everyday, and it works great.
Ive seen some reviews complaining about the scent. Really? There is rarely a smell at all, and you have to stick your nose into it to even notice it! So overall, this product is great, and i recommend it to everyone of my friends. Will,and do buy it over and over again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* winterfairy on 1/1/2012 4:23:00 AM more reviews by winterfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't wear strong colors much, so I can't tell how much it brings up the color, but it helps the eyeshadow stay put whole day long. Even the worst drugstore brand will last all day with this little gem:) Although a squeeze tube would be probably better packaging option...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 banjaxed on 10/1/2011 6:16:00 AM more reviews by banjaxed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really hate being a party pooper but I found this didn't work at all! I've been using UD Primer Potion for about a year but although I found it great I did have a few issues with it: hard to blend eyeshadows over it, bad packaging and difficult to find here in Ireland. Art Deco is sold closer to home here and packaging seemed good (little plastic jar with a screw top lid) and I was hoping it would be easier to blend several eyeshadows over this base.


Price: Contrary to a reviewer below from Greece, I had to pay 11 euros for it which works out about the same as UDPP here.


Availability: Found it in a town near me while Urban Decay can only be found in bigger cities or online.


Overall impression: It went on very smoothly and sheer and eyeshadows blended perfectly over this. I was so happy, I thought I'd found the perfect base! After about an hour I noticed my eyeshadow was disappearing just over my top eyelashes and another hour after that all my eyeshadow had migrated to my crease, not a good look. Since then I've experimented with more primer, less primer, left it to dry longer on the eyelid or while still damp. Nothing works for me so I'm forced to realise that I've yet again made a bad purchase and I'm stuck with a 99 % full jar which I can't use...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annakimla on 9/17/2011 11:55:00 AM more reviews by annakimla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this base, makes the es last around 8 hrs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 9/5/2011 6:50:00 PM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I haven't tried Urban decay's primer potion yet so I can only compare this to e.l.f.'s eye primers. This one works a bit better in my opinion, the texture is much nicer and easier to spread around the eyelid (although it is a bit thicker and greasier). What I don't like is the scent (it smells exactly like men's cologne) and the fact that you have to apply it with your fingers. The shimmer particles don't bother me though. Nice product but I'll keep looking for an even better one. I don't have oily lids and use primers only to make the shades more vibrant so I would never pay more than 10 dollars for it.
Edit: Today I applied it under my eyes and the scent and/or ingredients in it irritated them so they started to water. Ugh. I also heard that they started to make a scentless version of this product and if they didn't they really should.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mladkins on 6/17/2011 5:15:00 PM more reviews by mladkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Meh! I was expecting high marks for this product but it failed to live up to the hype. I should have known when it felt slick and greasy upon application. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't as bad as some others I've tried (UDPP I'm talking to you!) However it did crease as the day wore on and I found it very hard to blend eyeshadows over it. I doubt I'll ever stray from my HG - LORAC behind the scenes.


Let me just say that one's HG eye primer is a personal quest. What works for one doesn't cut it for another. Keep searching my fellow makeup addicts, you WILL find yours!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeidiF69 on 6/14/2011 4:31:00 PM more reviews by HeidiF69

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got tired of UDPP and the annoying wand (not to mention the high price) and found this was half price on HSN. It really works well! I must have gotten the unscented version, mine has no scent. It does have a slight shimmer to the cream, but it does NOT make my matte shadows into frost or add any shimmer to the shadow on top. It's not that intense! I like the tiny pot, and it only takes the lightest dab for each eye. I could see this lasting forever because you use so little. It's a stickier consistency than UDPP and works just as well, not creasing or fading all day. I have very sensitive eyes and this didn't give me any reaction at all.
ETA: It does have a scent, but I really had to practically stick the container in my nose to detect it!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Artdeco products

More Eye Primer products