Maybelline Designer Chocolates Quad

3.5

89 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/12/2011 10:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was surprised by the lack of pigmentation I found in the crease shade. It is a beautiful rosy brown, but it doesn't come off very strong. While the color it does show on my lids is a nice mauvey color, it's not what the quad is advertising. As with most of the Maybelline quads, the lid and outer corner shades are lovely and have fantastic pigmentation. I plan to wear these every day! The highlight color seems misplaced, as it's a pearly white. I would have prefered a shimmery cream or peach, but maybe they were trying to make it white chocolate? Either way, it doesn't blend well with the lovely browns. The packaging is fantastic, the hinge keeps the lid in position, and the compact is slim and sleek. A nice quad, but don't expect to wear it all at the same time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/28/2010 3:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If you are one that likes a natural look then this is for you. The colors are sheer and very pretty. I think I will be able to use all as a lid color and use more pigmented eyeshadows for my crease or liner. Perfect for everyday.


on 12/26/2010 4:33:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Lovely colours.
Stays on for long time without creasing.
Wonderful colours for BLUE eyes. :)
Will repurchase when all gone.
Only bad thing was its around $16-17 aussie dollars.
But will last a long time. <3


on 12/19/2010 1:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really enjoy this quad, the colours complement each other well and they can provide either a neutral or dramatic look.

If you're hoping to achieve a more dramatic look using the dark brown a primer is definitely needed. The crease burgundy barely shows without one.

I love how this looks on me, but I can't rate it any higher as I can only achieve the look with the help of other products.


on 10/21/2010 3:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really like this quad. Have mac dupes below Its a great neutral quad that works perfectly on my fair skin. Pigmentation is pretty great, applies easily, blends so well. Love using as directed or mixing them up or a single shade, its a great quad to have but ive been pleased with mostly every quad i bought from them. Around $5-6 depending where u purchase def cheaper if u wait 4 a sale.
I have labeled my quads with possible mac dupes, feel free 2 correct me
Lid: (mac kid)a cream/biege color almost a silver sheen to it
Crease: (mac da bling) a cranberry/maroon color with a slight shimmer to it but most of it doesnt translate
Browbone: (mac vanilla) a matte off white or vanilla
Outer corner: (mac brown down) a semi matte chocolate brown nice brown color
As a pale girl i have used these so much, esp this one- luv it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2010 2:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a great quad! I love these shades and what I love most is that you can wear them with either a black or brown liner. I always find myself grabbing this. I have fair skin and the colors work really well with my skin tone. I even use the dark brown shade to color in my brows. Gotta love a multi-functional product!


on 9/7/2010 12:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For me this quad of colors just does not work. I really like the crease color, but I find that that these shadows lack pigmentation and begin to fade shortly after applying even with an eyeshadow primer. The texture is kind of powdery as well, and I end up with shimmer all under my eye after I am done applying them.
It is okay for a subtle daytime look so I do use it occasionally for work but I would not repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2010 11:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love the colors of this quad and how well they complement each other. The only problem is that they aren't very pigmented and fade rather quickly, even with primer. The pink one intended as a crease color is really pretty itself but it's tricky to apply, at least for me. It can look way too shimmery and obvious if you're not careful. The other three shades have a really nice matte finish with just a hint of sparkle. It would be nice if they had toned down the pink one as well. Otherwise, I do like it for the colors and use it often. It just leaves a lot to be desired.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/10/2010 2:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This quad serves best as a brightener for the eyes. Definitely not pigmented as their other quads (e.g., Natural Smokes and Chai Latte) but it does provide subtle colors for a natural/neutral look.


on 7/27/2010 10:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I liked this eyeshadow, actually.
Neither the dark pink or the light pink are particularly pigmented, but they are both very smooth. Unfortunately the beige-pink makes my eyes look like I've been crying. The dark pink, however, is gorgeous.
The white is a really shocking white - I wouldn't use it on my browbone as suggested, but on my waterline or the inner corner of my eyes it does a decent job.
The brown is just a brown.
Overall it's a pretty good natural look.




Back to Top