TiGi Bed Head Masterpiece Massive Shine Hairspray

4.2

92 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/13/2012 2:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This does add shine, but the smell in sicky sweet (fake candy) and strong. The hold is stiffer than I wanted, but does hold. I just can't take the odor. It is very noticeable for a long time--you wouldn't be able to wear any other perfume, because it would clash.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 9/2/2012 1:02:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

THANK YOU to everyone who recommended this magical potion! It only took I evening to realize I'd found my HG hairspray. I have bought an embarrassing number of finishing products over the years but never found anything that holds as well as this without feeling stiff and looking dry. My hair is naturally dry, very fine and stick straight if I don't either perm it or spend a half hour with a curling iron. I got sick of doing the latter so I got an "organic" perm at the beginning of the summer. I love to dance and wanted to be able to work up a sweat without looking like I'd gotten caught in a rainstorm. I thought I could just "wash and go" but I did have to style my curls (another product, another story) But once I got the style right, spraying with Masterpiece made it last all night! Even though my scalp felt damp by the end of the night, the curls held. I wouldn't say it makes my hair shine but nothing does. At least it doesn't dry it out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2012 5:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I guess I'm in the minority here, but I have to be honest. I'm usually impressed with TiGi products, but this was awful. I have long, fine hair - I only use hairspray to add some hold to my shoulder-length curls, so I'm not exactly a hairspray aficionado. I was out of my Redken Forceful 23 and saw this at the grocery store (of all places), and decided to give it a go. I've used this on and off for the past year - usually in desperation when I'm in a pinch. To begin with, the smell is overwhelming, and not the impression I want to give when I enter a room. Pineapple?? I'm not 12 anymore, thanks. It's so powerful and unrelenting that it clashes with whatever fragrance I'm wearing for the day. I could live with that if it were a spectacular hairspray, but it falls very short at every opportunity. Aside from the smell, the nozzle doesn't spray a fine mist - expect your hair to get drenched. I have thin hair, and the wet look isn't flattering in the slightest for me. Then there's the performance: the hold isn't great, and it's one of those hairsprays that makes hair hard and crunchy - which usually correlates with amazing hold, but that's not the case here. My curls actually fell out but remained hard to the touch. It's like the worst of all worlds AND it's fairly pricey for what it does! You know how there are some products that look cute on your shelf, and you don't use it for a while - with good reason - but you forget that reason now, and its adorable package beckons, so you figure, 'Sure, why not!'? Most of the time that's a safe instinct, and you either remember why it's not your favorite or maybe you fall in love with it for the first time. This was so bad that I actually had to throw it out so I'd never be tempted to use it again. Seriously. Going without hairspray at all is better than using this. Just awful. I do like Redken Forceful 23, but I haven't used it in over a year now. I've since found TRESemme Tres Two Extra Hold, and that's actually a great value for what it does, plus it performs much better than this stuff. I kind of want to try Elnet, but I'm happy with the TRESemme at the moment.


on 6/8/2012 8:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This smells wonderful! Oh and it adds shine too. I have straight flat hair. I use this in combination with "small talk" to boost up my hair. I have dark hair, and this hairspray doesn't give me flakes, even if I brush my hair. Brushes out easily though. I throw this in my bag and the cap stays put. The only other hairspray I have used is Sabastian Shaper. This one is more expensive but I like it so much more!


on 5/20/2012 8:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm a hairstylist so I use a lot of styling products. I bought this one on a whim. Hold sucks and doesn't add shine. Smells weird too.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the perfect hairspray for texture in fine hair - holds well but brushes out easily and smells nice - far better than elnett in my opinion. Fab

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2012 1:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Best hairspray I have tried. It smells lovely adds gloss and great hold and a little goes a long way so although quite expensive lasts for months. It is the only hairspray I buy now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2012 4:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Oh my goodness! I have been searching for a hairspray that holds my curls, isn't crunchy, and doesn't smell horrible,and this is it! I have fine hair that holds curls for all of 2 seconds tops, but this hairspray keeps my curls intact while providing shine. It can get a tad hard in sections if I've over-sprayed, but once I run my fingers through my hair (which I didn't even think was possible w/ hairspray!), the crunchiness disappears, and all that remains are soft, bouncy, beautiful curls. And the scent is amazing! When I first sprayed it, I thought it might be too strong, but after a while, the scent dissipates, and all that's left is a soft, subtle, pineapple-y aroma. This is a fabulous hairspray!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2012 11:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Love, love, love this spray.

This spray gives tons of shine, good hold, and keeps my thick, fine, straight hair under control - holds the hairdryer and product-induced volume in place, which is no easy task!! It also calms down flyaways and baby hairs. Defines layers, too.

My onlye complaint is that the pump will clog occasionally, which I really find annoying, but it's nothing some hot water won't fix.

I got this 2-for-1 at Target so it was a total steal. Nice scent, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2011 1:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been looking for a hairspray that will not dry out my already dry hair. I have been using Kenra Volumizing Hairspray. I spray my roots for volumen and all over to finish and it holds up beautifully to humidity and I have volume all day with very little stiffness. BUT, my hair is dull and dryer after using it.

I was hoping this would be the answer, but my hair is barely a bit shinier than with Kenra. It's hold is somewhat comparable (Kenra has a nicer hold), but the test came on a rainy day. My hair completely flattened and frizzed (I have naturally cury hair that I often straigthen). It didn't pour on me, drizzly and a few large drops, not enough usually for my hair to act like it did (assuming this is the major benefit of Kenra).

I will not repurchase, it was $20 at Target, so I'm not really saving money which would be the only reason to keep it. Unfortunately, this doesn't fit the bill for what I need. Also, the smell is typical TiGi smell, which I really can't place, almost like candy? Regardless, it isn't an unpleasant smell, but I prefer my hair to smell less fruity, sweet, etc.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top