Revlon • Rose Velvet • Lipstick

rated 4.5(80 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 paranoiaa on 9/20/2011 2:33:00 PM more reviews by paranoiaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS!
I've been collecting (*cough* hoarding *cough*) quite a few lip products lately, but this remains my favourite for daily use. It brightens up my skin (which otherwise looks sallow and zombie-like) but looks completely natural at the same time, and has this lovely creamy texture that doesn't dry out my lips. HG material. Will keep repurchasing!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isseymiyake on 9/8/2011 1:36:00 PM more reviews by isseymiyake

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For reference: NC 25~30 ( Asian, Chinese), yellow to olive undertone, median pigmented lips. This is one of my favorite lipsticks. I love to apply it with figures, patting it onto my lips instead of wiping it on ( Less amount will be applied by patting and the shade will be lighter and pinkier) . On my lips it is a beautiful warm toned mauve, my lip color but better, perfect for a finished but not overly done daytime look, especially great for fall. Creamy texture, matte finish but not drying. can be worn alone or underneath lipgloss. Highly recommended to gals with median warm undertones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EternityintheRain on 7/29/2011 12:58:00 AM more reviews by EternityintheRain

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It is official, I have become a Revlon lipstick fan. The color selection is great, the price is affordable, I can find them everywhere, and the best part? My lips aren't tortured into an early tundra. No lipstick brand has managed to do that-- Not MAC, not Clinique, not Estee Lauder, not Lipstick Queen, none. You can't believe how much that means to me. My lips and my smile are the features I am most proud of, aside from my skin. I love to show them off, but have had a tough time trying to find colors and formulas that work with me. This brand took care of that in one swipe. The only thing that would make this perfect would be if they did no animal testing. But considering most of my products, at least my skin care is not tested on animals, it is a small sacrifice.


On to this particular color, it shows up as my natural lip color now, only brighter. My lips were brighter, almost raspberry colored as a kid and tween, but I've come to realize that with age things change. I felt unfortunate because i loved how they looked then, but this color makes me love them even more now. It is a soft, creamy and bright rosey pink. Not bright as in neon or blue based, but bright as in the color of a child's cheeks. The brightness of a natural pink flower in the spring. But not ostentatiously so. I like to wear it with a bare face. It makes my face look wide awake and brightened even when I have dark circles.


This is one color that looks good on everybody. I can't see who wouldn't be able to work this. And great for any occasion really. I wore this to a party with gold shadow, gold highlighted cheeks, and black winged liner and it was hot. I wore this with pink cheeks, and plum lined eyes and it was beautiful. I think it would make a great bridal color even. You can't go wrong. The feel of it, so silky, soft, and moisturizing is great. Really great. I may experiment with other brands in eyeshadow, etc. But to me, Revlon makes the best lipstick. Hands down.


Update 11/08/11: I followed Stellina recommendation and went to MAC to test Twig. This is a straight-up match. Only the formula for Rose Velvet is 1000x better and 2/3s cheaper. If you are unsure what looks to try with this just google MAC Twig and try some of them. For those that are Indian (India or of descent) and you like the lip looks of say Aishwarya Rai and Priyanka Chopra (love their makeup btw), this is a great way to copy them. I've tried some of their makeup looks/tutorials and it works great!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkeyedfran on 7/5/2011 12:12:00 AM more reviews by darkeyedfran

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought Revlon's "love that pink" on a whim with a 2 dollar coupon at my HEB and I fell in love with the super lustrous lipsticks! I decided to but Rose Velvet the next time I went to the store (with yet another 2 dollar off coupon! ) I've been looking for a dupe for my Benefit "good to go" lipstick! the benefit one is a silky finish lipstick so the finish is very different but the color is the same! the color actually goes on more evenly. This is a my lip but better color, i feel like this could be a little brown on some skintones, but on mine its perfect :) love this lipstick! The best part of this is that if i blend this color with love that pink i get a beautiful color! I swipe rose velvet on first (I never do more than one swipe because these tend to look too heavy if you put too much on!) and then swipe on a little Love that Pink and its a brighter brownish pink! just lovely! totally worth the $3.94! (they're $5.94 at HEB for those of you in Texas). thank you revlon, you're a savior for the graduate student!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shcjeunbyeol on 6/1/2011 1:04:00 PM more reviews by shcjeunbyeol

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the color. the formula is great. i like it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PurpleCupcake87 on 5/5/2011 3:44:00 AM more reviews by PurpleCupcake87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

picked this up along with blushing nude. on me their very similar. rose velvet is a little darker and warmer and blushing nude is lighter and cooler. both can be worn during the day and night and both flatter my neutral to warm skin tone of NC 25-30. i love the creme finish of Revlon lipsticks and at my walmart they run at 4.99$

Update : the more I wear this the more I'm convinced that its the perfect nude for my lips. It dosent wash them out, looks like I've applied Concealer instead of lipstick, or the formula floats above my lips and comes off easily. This sinks in, looks natural, and fades nicely over time. So glad I didn't jump the gun and return this.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckylouie on 4/28/2011 10:38:00 PM more reviews by luckylouie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Another excellent lipstick from Revlon. Rose Velvet is a lovely somewhat cool toned creamy rose. I have ticked that I will not repurchase because it is too cool toned for my skin. Nonetheless it's a lovely sophisticated look for daytime. If you find this lipstick is too cool toned for you, try Blushing Nude superlustrous also by Revlon.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brandibmarino on 4/10/2011 1:40:00 AM more reviews by brandibmarino

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Another good Revlon lipstick. I got this BOGO at Walgreens along with a plum color. I love a good creamy lipstick and Revlon always fits the bill. This shade is like my natural color but brighter and richer. Looks great for every day, but mixed with a red liner would also be fantastic at night. And most importantly, it doesn't make my coffee taste gross!! lol

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rambow on 4/9/2011 5:59:00 PM more reviews by rambow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really had no idea this was so popular! I've bought this lipstick probably three times in a row. It's a beautiful neutral colour. I tend to be rather fair, but I tan easily, and this colour looks great on me both ways.


I wish the formulation was longer-lasting, because I am a lip-licker and this stuff doesn't last me more than a couple of hours, but it's so beautiful, easily found, and reasonably priced that I don't care. If you have dry lips (I don't), you will probably like this because it is creamy and moisturizing. It also doesn't emphasize every tiny dry flake on your lips.


I lost my last tube of it somewhere and found myself missing it for months, even though I had other lipsticks, until I finally broke down and bought another today.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luckystar718 on 4/9/2011 12:19:00 AM more reviews by luckystar718

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first lipstick I ever bought for myself. I grew up with a mom who is very conservative when it comes to makeup color. After trying the FLIRT! lipstick she bought me at Kohl's and being disgusted with it, I knew that we had very different taste in lip color. I don't remember the shade but it made me look like I drank chocolate milk and forgot to wipe it off my lips. I went to CVS determined to find a decent MLBB lipstick with some color in it. After some deliberation I ended up bringing this one home.
Oh, how anxious I was to try it! What if it looked awful and garish? Thankfully it looks awesome on my lips. Apparently many MUAers agree! My mom thought it was a little "loud" though :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products