Kiehl's Lip Balm #1

3.3

1074 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

PETROLATUM, SQUALANE, LANOLIN, TRITICUM VULGARE (WHEAT) GERM OIL, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TOCOPHEROL, FRAGRANCE, ALLANTOIN, PROPYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN, ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF EXTRACT


on 10/27/2013 1:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product because of how professionals rave about this. It is disappointing as this does not last very long, is not moisturizing, and like a lot of other reviewers said, it was just Vaseline in a tube, but much more expensive. You have to apply it with a finger, which is a downside on the packaging. The good side is that it makes my lips pleasantly glossy. I completely agree with kochanie. I once applied a bit more on my lips and went to sleep, hoping I will wake up with soft moist lips. But they were frightfully dry and I was extremely disappointed!! A better alternative would be The Body Shop Vitamin E Lip Care SPF 15 or Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balm for some color.



on 10/21/2013 1:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This lip balm is really nice, but it's more of a gloss than a balm. A nice, non-sticky, hydrating lip gloss. It's not thick or intensely moisturizing like aquaphor, but it does make your lips smooth, shiny, plump, and it has a silky texture. It also comes in different scents, I have the vanilla one and it's lovely. My two biggest issues with it are the packaging (you have to apply with your finger, like the aquaphor tubes), and that it doesn't last very long on the lips, but all in all I really like it and would repurchase.


on 10/10/2013 1:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really want to stop eating petrolatum.

Lately I have been using a Jurlique balm that doesn't contain gross industrial lubricants. But somehow I can't shake this Kiehls habit. Yeah, I know it's essentially Vaseline in a $7 tube. But I discovered the eucalyptus version at the airport store at SFO (I think this line is airport-exclusive) and it smells so invigorating.....

This is the last tube. This time, I mean it....


on 9/24/2013 11:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use this in rotation with Jack Black Lip Balm so my lips will not become accustomed to any particular lip balm. It gets the job done and is reasonably priced. I will repurchase.


on 8/23/2013 8:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I only find this product so so. The hydration doesn't last and it has a weird taste. Would only use it as a base under lipstick (but more cost effective to use Vaseline for that).

********************************************************************************************************

Ingredients: Petrolatum, Octinoxate, Squalane, Lanolin, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) germ oil, Tocopherol, Allantoin, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Aloe Barbadenis Leaf Extract.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The product is okay. What I don't like is the tube container, which I think can be messy for most of the time. It is also a little over-priced imo. I would not repurchase this again as I prefer the Vasline petroleum jelly much more.


on 7/2/2013 9:59:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As others have observed, this is 90% Vaseline and performs in a similar manner but at ten times the price! It is at least honest in its description though with the word, 'temporary', because thats all it is.......But yes, it does offer quick results to smooth out cracked lips. But thats about all (and so does vaseline). There are no long term results with this product and I couldnt even say it worked for me overnight. Truly, I put it on last thing and still woke up with cracked lips!

Not the worst product in the world but certainly not worth the money and surrounded by hype in my opinion. As with all Kiehls products, nothing spent on packaging (which is good) but the massive savings Kiehls must make, are not passed onto the consumer -- the psychology of 'if its expensive it must be good' doest always work!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2013 11:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this product is definitely better than Vaseline! My lips absorbs this faster and every time my lips crack, I apply this overnight and it immediately heals the next day! I love this so much this is my favorite lip balm especially during office hours where I have to withstand the dry air conditioned environment for really long


on 6/27/2013 4:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I actually got this from during their lip balm giveaway. And WOW! This is definitely a surprise because I didn't expect much from this ever. But my lips are in love with it. Instant results, makes my lips moisturized and plumped. The only thing I don't like is the taste. I'm definitely getting one next time but in a different flavor.


on 6/26/2013 4:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought into the hype and purchased this product for use on my lips. It is glorified Vaseline. Just buy Vaseline.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1532 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3612 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top