MAC • Fluidline-Rich Ground • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(172 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 3/30/2010 6:21:00 PM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i use this color all over my lid and my waterline when doing a bronze smokey eye. top with Dior Spicy Brown and Gold Touch == gorgeous.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilyofavalon on 3/24/2010 10:56:00 AM more reviews by lilyofavalon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Rich Ground is a coppery brown. It is now my best friend's HG - she is pale, with light brown hair and green/hazel eyes. It looks wonderful on her and is much less harsh and more flattering than a matte or darker color would be.


However, my extended experience with Fluidline has put it in a different position for me. Fluidline is supposed to be waterproof, and not smudge or flake. It was the first gel eyeliner that I ever tried, and I quickly fell in love with the results and how easy it was to use, once I got the right brush. Since then, I've tried Stila Smudge Pots and L'oreal HIP Cream Liners, and while I seem to be in the minority, I think that the Stila Smudge Pots are greatly superior to Fluidline.


Why? I've had no issues with drying-out, and I have swatched Smudge Pot in Black and Blacktrack Fluidline next to each other, and found the Smudge Pot to be significantly blacker. I also did a little experiment around Halloween when I did cat makeup on myself - I did it one day with Fluidline and one day with the Smudge Pot. The Fluidline faded much, much faster - after around 6 hours, while the Smudge Pot makeup lasted all day. This is parallel to the issues I've had personally with checking my makeup throughout the day and discovering that my Fluidline has gone AWOL. Charming. And I don't even have oily lids!


However, Fluidline has multiple uses - it's great as an eyeshadow base for darker looks, and for this use, it behaves much better than Smudge Pots. And it's definitely more affordable than Smudge Pots at $15 rather than $20. If you get the chance, though, I would test out the wear time for yourself before buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cinnabuns on 3/9/2010 12:58:00 PM more reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this coppery bronze color. It has a metallic look to it also. I'm always a sucker for colors in this family. Rich Ground has a creamy texture that glides on smoothly. I first saw this color on MUA and had to have it so luckily I was able to swap for this. Yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3110hello on 2/28/2010 8:35:00 PM more reviews by 3110hello

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Love this fluidline color and have repurchased several times. I have brown eyes and this color is more subtle than a black when I want to look somewhat less made up. It is just a pretty brown color and, like all fluidlines, can be used for lining or all over the lid for a stay put deep color. Sheered out under the lashes, this gives one a nice light smokey look, too. Go for it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 2/12/2010 4:09:00 PM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favourites eyeliners. Very pretty color, and gives a gentle highlight to the lids. Great buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paintingitpink on 2/3/2010 11:30:00 AM more reviews by paintingitpink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is such a great colour on blue eyes! When I first bought it I didn't really know what to do with it because it really isn't a traditional eye colour. My favourite uses of this shade are:

1. Water line - this is a great look for the daytime because it doesn't smudge, and it looks soft and shiny. Black can be a bit harsh in the waterline during the day (especially on those who are pale).

2. Lashes - after my mascera is dry, I'll take a thin brush and apply this to my inner lash tips. Give a little extra sparkle.

3. Lining the top line - I'll make a thicker line of Blacktrack, and then apply a very thin line of Rich Ground overtop, as close to the lashes as I can get. It really makes my eyes blue, and when my picture is being taken I get this soft gold shine to my eyes.

Blacktrack is a staple that I think everybody should have, but Rich Ground is just as good (in its own special way)

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aalmu90 on 1/21/2010 8:52:00 PM more reviews by aalmu90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am quickly becoming obsessed with gel liners, and MAC fluidline collection makes applying gel liners soooo easy! I was on the hunt for a brown gel liner and I had in mind to purchase dipdown which is a pure dark chocolate brown. But when I saw rich ground in store I knew that I had to have it, I didnít even bother looking at dipdown. The colour is absolutely gorgeous itís a coppery/bronzy brown, such a unique colour! When I tried it at home however I was very disappointed. The colour is not as vibrant and intense as I would have liked. I have jet black hair, brown eyes and NC30 skin during summer, rich ground just does not show up. You can hardly tell that I have anything on my upperlash line especially if i'm wearing mascara. I wish I read the reviews on here before I bought this! *Sigh* Anyway my point is, if you have fair skin you could probably pull this colour off, but if you have medium skin tone it won't do you any good. I'll give this product 2 lippies because I still love the texture and consistency.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanstuff on 1/8/2010 1:47:00 PM more reviews by shanstuff

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this liner! I'm mostly a fan of the Fluidline collection, although I have found them to be sort of hit-or-miss on quality depending on the color. Well, this one is a hit! Stays true to color on application and is a breeze to apply. This one does not get dried out and clumpy in the jar over time, so it stays easy to work with even as it ages. It works very well with my brown eyes, but I imagine it would set off any color eye well, as it is such a great neutral. It also maintains its sparkle after application, which is more than I can say for several of the Fluidlines. Overall, a great product. Will definitely repurchase (if I ever run out of this huge pot!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lucy_192 on 1/8/2010 6:34:00 AM more reviews by Lucy_192

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I also received this product as part of the holiday '09 collection, and I absolutely LOVE it. I have used MAC's Teddy eye pencil for a couple of years now but recently all I have been using is this fluid line. It goes on so easily (I've never really used a gel eyeliner before) and the texture is lovely. The colour of this liner is absolutely stunning, a rich coppery brown with a reddish tone to it. I love this soooo much!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelly3kids on 1/1/2010 12:47:00 PM more reviews by kelly3kids

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

A HG product for me. This is the liner I reach for almost daily. I pair it with MAC All That Glitter eyeshadow and it is like they were made for each other. I do also use Macroviolet and love that as well. They are both great for a daily subtle look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products