Tarte • Cheek Stain in Dollface • Blush

rated 3.8(109 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 mayer2816 on 2/8/2010 9:51:00 AM more reviews by mayer2816

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I admit that I bough the wrong color..I bought this from an online store along with benetint just to make the shipping free, but I hated it the second I put it on my face, I don't understand all the reviews here, maybe I just got the bad batch or something I don't know...But this is VERY STICKY, it's like putting Mac Lipglass on my face, the color doesn't glide and I don't like the feeling that this doesn't let my skin breathes..at first I thought it will dry off, but i doesn't..I was dying to try "Blushing Bride" or "Natural Beauty" so I was only testing with this..if this is how the product's like, I don't want to try another one..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 redsnapper on 2/5/2010 12:38:00 PM more reviews by redsnapper

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I use a brush to apply Dollface. I love the color and texture of this blush. It looks like a nice dewy flush. It is a bit of a pain to re-position the little plastic bubble over the product each time, but it does keep it from drying out. I use and enjoy other colors in this product as well.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brookebaird on 1/2/2010 3:24:00 AM more reviews by brookebaird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My favorite of all the Tarte stains. This is a great watermelon shade that has enough pink to make it look like a natural flush. This is super flattering for blondes.
Great shade, light formulation, easy to control stick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shimmering_pink on 12/7/2009 2:12:00 AM more reviews by Shimmering_pink

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I actually really like this color. I have fairly fair skin and use about 2 coats (applying with my fingers) to get a pretty pink color on my cheeks. It's natural looking and can be done up more dramatic if you wish. I used just a little hotpants eyeshadow from urban decay over it one time when I wanted a bit brighter pink effect on Halloween and it looked REALLY good, good enough that I sometimes wear this combo on regular days just a little more toned down. It is expensive, but i think well worth it because you get a lot of product and it really is a beautiful pink color that I think would look good on many skin tones. Any pink powdered blush would look good over it too. I would have to say I won't repurchase just because I don't use it enough to run out! There is so much product in these tubes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jillwiersma on 12/2/2009 7:32:00 PM more reviews by jillwiersma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Sigh ... I have been on a Tarte cheek stain kick and just recently bought Tipsy, Blissful and Blushing Bride - all of which are great, smell nice and are easy to apply.
I'm less in love with Dollface. It smells like Fruit Loops and sort of gums up when you dab it on unless you are SUPER careful and only put on a very sheer layer. It also gums up on your foundation. (I wear Cover FX cream foundation, stippled on with a very light hand over a layer of Keihl's UFM SPF 15).
I've found the best way to apply it is to warm it up by swirling my fingertip across the top. Then i dab it on and try not to smear it in fear of it turning into Play-Doh, as one reviewer astutely described.
That aside, the color is lovely. I was afraid it might be a little too cool on my skin and exaggerate my rosacea, but it really is just a pretty bubblegum pink.
As much as I love the colors mentioned above, they all end up looking the same on my cheeks, but not Dollface.
I have never complained about a makeup item being too large, but I think it will take me the next decade to use up all of this blush. Maybe I could slice them in half with a cheese slicer and swap here or share with my sis.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riyeu on 8/4/2009 7:12:00 PM more reviews by riyeu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

i really love the concept. Powdered blushes look like makeup on your skin but Tarte's cheek stain looks natural (like you are really blushing from within).


One issue I have is the applicator. Once you push the product up, you can't twist it back down. You have to force it back down. Also the applicator is made of this thin fragile plastic that I can forsee cracking if i ever dropped it. Despite these inadequacies, i will repurchase if I ever ran out since i couldn't find any other product more superior. I've tried benetint (which lacks in color selection and it is hard to use - streaky) and cream blushes dry like powder blushes.


I have normal-combination skin and don't have a serious problem with its texture. When you first put it on, it does feel sticky but it dries a bit and it isn't an intolerable feeling on my cheeks. However, i would think it too oily for oily skin and great for dry skin.


The only real complaint i have is that I wish the color was less sheer. I have to apply many layers for just a little bit of color to show.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amoyer2 on 6/17/2009 4:50:00 AM more reviews by amoyer2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this blush today and may amend my review pending a few wears. This said, I like this stuff. When I was first applying it, I was a little worried about the texture. However, once it dries (which is relatively quickly) it look very natural and nice. It gives a healthy glow and doesn't look clownish at all.

PROS:
*good for fair skin
*natural glow
*nice scent
*long lasting

CONS:
*packaging is not the best
*takes some practice to get application down/not 100% goof proof
*price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glitternglitzy on 6/3/2009 5:36:00 PM more reviews by glitternglitzy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have totally changed my makeup routine since finding Tarte cheek stain. I look so much younger and have given up foundation, wear tinted moisturizer and Tarte cheek stain over it and have gotten non-stop compliments!


Dollface is a light soft pink that is very sheer and at first I didn't think it was dark enough for my very fair skin but after applying it I realize it is the most natural color of all the cheek stains on me. I have Flush, Tipsy, Tickled and Dollface. Flush is a bright fushia/pink, Dollface a light soft pink, Tipsy a peach pink, Ticked a reddish/rose/peach. I absolutely adore this shade!!! Looks perfect for my fair NW15 with neutral undertones complexion. It really does look like a flush that one would get after coming in from a very cold day or from a sexy romp! It is quite possibly my all time favorite blush!



I thought I wouldn't like gel blushes but since I am a true make up junkie and blush is one of my weaknesses, (I have literally all the best high end blushes and MSF's) I thought this one would be sort of fun to try. I'm so right!


I'm in my mid 30's and I'm noticing more fine lines on my skin lately. I like to do a full face of makeup and with the foundation, powder, blush and MSF's, I'm starting to feel a lot older than I am. In fact, I decided to try something new lately which was just forgoing the foundation, powder, sculpting powder, powder blush and highlighters and just go for a sheer tinted moisturizer with a gel blush. I am surprised to say but I think it helps me to look younger and more fresh!


I've read a few reviews of people not liking this product due to texture. I actually thought the same thing at first when applying it to my hand. However, for some reason on my cheeks it seems to really sink in to my skin and leaves nothing but a sheer moisturized finish. I love the texture much more than I expected I would.


The staying power is wonderful! I just dab a bit on my cheeks and dab my fingers over my cheeks in a patting motion, I don't rub. I don't use any powder or setting powder over it so far as I'm trying the more youthful glowy look at the moment. It stays on morning until night. In fact, there are times I wear it to bed and even me being a side sleeper, the cheek stain is just where I left it.


There isn't any streaky issues on my cheeks either. I always moisturize first so my cheeks are nice and soft first.


The smell is divine. It's supposed to smell like strawberry and cream but I find it smells like grape juice. The scent is different from the other 3 that I have. The other ones all smell the same to me but this one is different. It feels a bit extravagant putting such a lovely smelling thing on my face. It is like a stick of juicy candy. It looks as sweet as it smells, too. Sheer juicy goodness!


I'm really sad to see all the many products go as I love how make up looks but I'm finding that with age, it helps to wear less. I know that it's been said before but of all the people in the world I would think I'm one of the hardest to convert to such an idea. HOWEVER, if you're looking to take a few years off of you, switch to a tinted moisturizer and a Tarte gel blush (whichever suits your skin tone the best, for me it's Flush or Dollface) also skip the powder. You'll find that you're looking in the mirror at a different looking girl. Sort of reminds me of how my skin looked in high school. I used to get constant compliments on my skin then.


I think Tarte Cheek stain really makes a big difference in terms of natural youthful beauty. I was very hesitant and doubtful but I have been converted! I even tried other things like lipstick, lip gloss, cream blushes, etc. and nothing looks as great as Tarte Flush on me. What I love the most is I can literally get away with wearing nothing but moisturizer, Tarte cheek stain and some tinted lip balm and some mascara and I actually look ok! This is coming from a girl who HATES going without make up and actually feels self-concious without a full face. I think that Tarte Cheek stain has actually changed my perception of myself! Wow. That's deep! I'm in love with this stuff. I big pink puffy heart love Tarte Cheek stain. WOW!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* layzeex on 5/20/2009 9:35:00 PM more reviews by layzeex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I *love* tarte cheek stains. I have these in both Dollface and Tipsy. They are really moisturizing, and haven't broken me out. The texture of these stains are like gel, and for me they aren't sticky. They *are* if I just swirl it on and leave it. What I've found is, to get rid of the stickiness, I have to lightly 'pat' over the area (NOT rub, or else it will come off). I swirl the stick on so it's in the shape of a circle, and then I blend off the edges, and then LIGHTY pat over to get rid of the stickyness. After it dries, it stays on for hours and hours!


I suppose the reason why this has low ratings is because this specific shade is for those with lighter skin tones, as this is really sheer. But when it does show up, it's such a beautiful color. It's a light baby pink, and awakens my dull skin. It gives me this *glow* that younger kids have. I've found that this shade makes my complexion look healthy. Tipsy however, gives me a look as if I had just ran around a track. Both are good, both are EXTREMELY natural, but Dollface is definitely my HG! I've added a picture above. That was with one swirl of the stick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sushigrl1029 on 5/12/2009 1:23:00 PM more reviews by Sushigrl1029

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to give this a try as there are so many people raving about it. So I bought Dollface after the lady in Sephora said it would complement my fair skin. I took it home and tried it for a week. 1) The stickiness is my main issue with it. My hair sticks to my cheeks. And no matter how long after I put it on, it is still tacky! 2)There is a lot there, so yes, it will go a long way for the price. 3) I have to put like 2-3 layers surprisingly for it to show up. Even though I am keeping it, the stickiness will probably result in me rarely using it. I recommend trying in the store first and letting it sit all day before you buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Blush products