E.L.F. • Clarifying Pressed Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 3.2(190 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 shabbus on 6/3/2013 12:59:00 PM more reviews by shabbus

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've just started using powder as part of my regular routine. The first one I tried was suggested to me by the SA at Nordstrom's (MAC Studio Fix, I think. I know that it was more than $24). I wanted something to keep in my purse in case I needed to touch up, and picked up the E.L.F. powder at Target for $1.

I haven't touched the MAC powder since.

I haven't used any powder other than this. I love the texture, I love the color and I really, really love the price. The packaging is just fine for a buck, but nothing you'd want to keep on your dressing table. You don't get a huge amount, but that means a smaller overall size and that works great for a purse or travel. It even comes with a puff, but they don't work well for me, so I have to pack a brush. But I'd have to pack that with any powder.
And being the cheapskate that I am, nothing -but nothing- gives me a bigger kick in the morning than buffing on this powder and remembering that it only cost a dollar.It's the highlight of my morning!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertwaya on 6/2/2013 10:58:00 PM more reviews by desertwaya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is better than I remembered it. It used to have a strong Orange scent but it's much milder now. I like how it looks on my skin and hasn't given me hives, which is common for powders for me. It's super cheap and I can get it at Target. Who would of guessed a $1 powder is my HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HappyUnicornSmile on 5/30/2013 2:01:00 AM more reviews by HappyUnicornSmile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pros:

1. Cheap! Any $1 make up compact that doesn't test on animals (especially if it's vegan) is worth a try!

2. Coverage ain't bad. It's in between light coverage and medium coverage to me. A bit buildable, but not to full coverage.

Cons:

1. Poor color selection. The only available colors at my Target were Ivory and Light Beige. These are their 2 lightest shades in the collection. Ivory was too light for me, and Light Beige was too dark. It was a pain in the but trying to use both of them to get the "me" color. But I did it.

2. Powdery. I'll bet you're thinking, "Duh," but what I mean is that if you swirl, dip, or anything your brush into the compact, powder is sitting on top of the product. It's not very buttery. So once you're finished applying the powder, odds are that a bunch of product in powder form that's become separated from the pressed compact will spill everywhere. Messy. Wasteful.

3. Although it's supposed to be clarifying, this powder totally clogged up my pores and broke me out. It took about 3-4 days for my skin to have a negative reaction. The first day, nothing changed. Second day, my blemishes were healing! Third day, my blemishes healed a little more, but my skin was over-producing oil. Fourth day, I had a bunch of new break outs. I continued acquiring more and more pimples until finally I put this make up away and my face went back to normal.

4. Not a lot of product in the packaging. But hey, for one dollar, that's not a big deal.


Comments:

2 lippies stands for "didn't like it", while 1 lippie for me is "hated it" and three lippies is "it's okay".

Packaging didn't get a 5 because I think it would be nice if they included a mirror. "But it's only a one dollar compact!" you say, and then I reply, "Well hey, if L.A. Color's one dollar compact can have a mirror, why not this one?"



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 astr323 on 5/10/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by astr323

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

yick. I'm not terribly picky when it comes to packaging or how much product you get with elf products, but I AM super picky about color. they seem to be hit or miss for me! the zit zapping concealer is a perfect match for my skin tone while most of their 'ivory' labeled products are way too yellow. if the ivory studio concealer stick doesn't work for you, trust me, this won't either. I'm getting the studio translucent loose powder soon in the mail - I'm sure I'll have much better results with that. at least this stuff didn't break me out - and, I'll admit, doesn't look so bad that I can't wear it out. you can't really tell that it makes me yellow until you see my natural skin tone, which I really like and prefer to the yellow haha. oh well. sorry elf!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mexicancrackles on 3/25/2013 10:18:00 AM more reviews by mexicancrackles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is definitely not for me. I have dry skin and this just makes my face look cakey, dry, patchy, etc. It's very matte, so it might be better for oily skins. It's quite messy and crumbles quite easily. The packaging is cheap looking and breaks very easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SarahhBolt on 12/24/2012 6:05:00 PM more reviews by SarahhBolt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, recently got another E.L.F haul :D So, I decided to try this product and find out what all the fuss was about and now I know. This has become a powder I use on a daily basis. The problem is, I've already hit pan... I just LOVE it. Mines in ivory, A LOT darker than it looks, so if you have slightly pale skin make sure it's the shade you go for (as it's the lightest). I have oily skin and I own dewy foundations so I like to keep them Matte so pressing this onto a pad and then applying to my face just is amazing. Honestly trying this, and Rimmel Stay Matte, I wouldn't bother with another high end Powder.
(Sorry for the awful Punctuation)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mosmakeuplover on 12/8/2012 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Mosmakeuplover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a good powder but it isn't the best of coarse. It does keep my makeup in place and my face matte. However I think there should be more shades. I got the lightest shade ivory and it matches my skin tone nicely, but I'm light skinned but not pale so I think there should a shade or two that's lighter than "ivory" (which isn't ivory at all) a few more really dark shades would be nice too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 zeebraheem on 11/27/2012 1:56:00 PM more reviews by zeebraheem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I am a big fan of E.L.F. products so for $1 I thought I would try this powder. I got it in 'light beige' although I have quite tan skin but the color worked perfectly. I used it to set my liquid foundation. The powder was just okay, until I dropped it. I used it for a few days without re-pressing it and the texture just completely changed. It was so dense and became cakey so I just through it out since it was so cheap no big deal. I replaced it with a powder that I could use as a light light coverage foundation or use to set liquid foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hayyleyyissmee on 11/12/2012 5:54:00 PM more reviews by Hayyleyyissmee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this powder! I've been using this for about a year now, and honestly, when I first started using it, I thought that I was gonna run out of it in no time, but I've hardly made a dent in it. I got this in light beige, thinking that it was gonna be too light for my medium toned complexion, but it's actually a great match! I love using it with both a brush and a puff. I think applying it with a powder brush gives a more light application, while applying it with a puff gives a whole lot more coverage and matifys super well! For a dollar, you really can't go wrong, and it works just as well as some of the higher-end powders out there! I'd recommend it to anybody out there looking for a great all-around face powder!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meriel65 on 10/20/2012 5:31:00 PM more reviews by Meriel65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I picked up the powder in Ivory on a kind of whim; I figured, for a dollar, why not just try it? Well, I am very pleasantly surprised. Yes, the packaging is cheap plastic, yes, the puff isn't the most luxurious. But people, it is a dollar! What are you expecting? The shade, Ivory, is a surprisingly good match for my approximately NC15 coloring. It has a yellow tone to it that goes well with my skin. I find the puff adequate for its purpose. Using the puff gives heavier coverage than dusting it on with a brush. Actually, I find that, using the puff, I can almost use it as a powder foundation. The finish is nicely matte, holds back the oil for about as long as any other powder I've ever used. There is no scent, which is great. Overall, a great little item. I suppose there are likely to be a few shades that aren't great at this price point. Then again, at much higher prices, there are bad shades as well. I have found Clinique foundation and powder shades to be WAAAAY too peach or orange, almost across the whole gamut of their product lines. If you can find a shade that suits you in this E.L.F. line, it's a great steal.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Pressed Powders products