MAC • Veluxe - Sketch • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(307 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 krissay on 9/15/2012 8:22:00 PM more reviews by krissay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

FANTASTIC. Makes hazel/brown eyes appear bigger. Works great as a crease color or outer v. Dark but not too dark. Looks wonderful against my skin pale or tan (I can range from NC20-35). I will definitely rebuy once I run out. Can't recommend this shade enough!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurelwatanabe on 8/20/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by laurelwatanabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I just got this through a swap and love it, I use it for my crease and outer eye on my smokey eye, softer than using carbon and looks nice with my green eyes. It's a really nice plum I agree with the other reviewer great for fall, great for green eyes and works really nice for a not so heavy smokey eye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cara4444 on 8/7/2012 12:34:00 PM more reviews by Cara4444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i love this color in the crease with a satin cream color! its more interesting than brown i think, but is still very wearable! it makes my green eyes pop and is nice for all year round, but especially in the fall! i think everyone should own this shadow :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 5/4/2012 10:26:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the few MAC eye shadows I have used that does not apply or blend well at all. Sketch is a burgandy color that looks exactly the same color as wine once on my eye lids. It is a rich color but truthfully it doesn't really compliment my skintone and makes me look very pale. I only use it along the lashline as a liner or very very lightly in the crease blended with other colors. I kind of regret buying sketch because I hardly ever use it and when I do I remember how hard it is to blend. For some reason this color always migrates on me as well even with a primer so I don't really like that either. Compared to the rest of my MAC eye shadows and their good quality this doesn't really compare and is a total fail in my opinion. Try this out on your eye lids before purchasing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 4/19/2012 11:39:00 PM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite MAC eyeshadows!!! This really lights up my brown eyes. It looks great in the outer corner (I usually pair it with UD Roach, MAC tempting, or NARS Fez). It looks AMAZING as a smokey eye. This is the only smokey eye that my boyfriend actually complimented me on. Without me prompting him might I add. I don't love the texture of this e/s as it's a little hard to blend, and I really have to pack it on to get the color payoff I want. In the end it is absolutely worth it though!! Would repurchase!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ltnla on 3/28/2012 7:29:00 PM more reviews by ltnla

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Reviewing this b/c I'm finally taking advantage of MAC's recycling program after all these years... and this is one that's going back. There have been many, many reviews on this, so all I'll say is that unless you generally know that plummy brown eye shadows work on you, try this one out on your eyelids -- not just your hand, and don't let the MA tell you how wonderful this is etc. Try it on yourself. Plus texture a bit hard to blend too. Needless to say, this didn't work for my skin tone (makes me look tired and bruised), and I now know to stay away from dark plummy brown for my lids (I could have kept this and used as a liner, but not really worth it).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ImYourFavoriteDrug on 3/3/2012 12:32:00 AM more reviews by ImYourFavoriteDrug

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

While it is a bit tough to blend, the dark wine color really brings out my green eyes. I like the shade and would probably repurchase. It is BEAUTIFUL as a liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeupphd on 2/4/2012 10:48:00 PM more reviews by makeupphd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this shadow! It was one of the first shades of MAC shadows I bought because of all the great reviews, but I was sorely disappointed with it. Mainly I found that the payoff was not good and that it required more work to blend than my other MAC shadows. When I did manage to blend it out, I just ended up looking like I had been punched in the eyes- not a cute look! lol So I swapped it and am glad to be rid of it. I love fig 1 from MAC which is a mid-to-deep-tone shade of purple with a matte2 finish- it's a dream to blend, adds beautiful dimension and does everything I had originally hoped sketch would do but didn't.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 workingfire on 2/4/2012 10:32:00 PM more reviews by workingfire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was one of two of my first MAC shadows and at first I was disappointed that I got 'suckered' into buying purple, as I already own a lot of purple shadows because I like it on my hazel eyes and wanted something different. Anyways, I love Sketch. I use it all the time to deepen my crease/outer-V and it just adds a really nice dimension. A little goes a very long way, and as long as you use a soft hand, there is no trouble with blending.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leannne on 2/4/2012 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Leannne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the first MAC eyeshadow I ever owned, and to this day it's still my favorite. I have very dark features so it looks really nice on me. It's very highly pigmented and it stays on all day. You only need a tiny bit to get quite a bit of color. One of these shadows lasts me YEARS of wearing it several times a week. Definitely a must have for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products