MAC • Satin Lipstick - Myth • Lipstick

rated 4.0(575 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 JerseyRoja on 3/30/2013 1:21:00 AM more reviews by JerseyRoja

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Love this lipstick! Nc42. I must always use a liner with it though

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Annelien1987 on 3/29/2013 4:18:00 PM more reviews by Annelien1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had this one a couple of years ago and I hated it, I badly hated this concealer looking lipstick. I didn't know how to wear it, that was the reason why I gave it away to my mother (who hated it too and threw it away). BUT I wanted a very pale nude lipstick for that perfect sixties look or to pair with a smokey eye. I bought some drugstore nude lipsticks by Rimmel (Kate Moss line, which I love!!!) or Rimmel nude delight, even some mac ones like velvet teddy and jubilee but nothing really was what I was looking for. I bought myth again. First I exfoliate my lips (because my bottom lip is always a bit dry), next I moisturize my lips with rosebud salve, I put on my spice lipliner and last I put on myth. This works well for me, It might not be to everyone's taste but I love it like that. It's extremely sixties bombshell. I love the Brigitte Bardot or the vanessa paradis look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cortiz4 on 3/8/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Cortiz4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use to love Revlon soft nude it is the perfect nude and also very moist, but I lost it and haven't been able to find it again so I went to my favorite store for lipstick MAC and tried this on and loved it. It is a bit drying but when paired with a lip moisturizer or chap stick it looks great and feels great. . Snob will still be my go to lipstick but this can come close.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 1/21/2013 10:03:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wear Bobbi Brown skin products in Golden for reference* Against my skintone without liner or any type of gloss I do look quite a mess with it on but after I use MAC's lip erase in "dim" followed by Myth, lip liner in "cork" and a touch of "pink lemonade" I have the perfect nude lip without it looking too super pale or too pink. I love,love this shade and it works with all my countless smokey eye looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hisquiggle on 12/26/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by hisquiggle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I never thought in a million years that a lipstick paler than my NC30 complexion would be flattering, but with the right application Myth gives me that sultry, 60s sexpot look. It's a slightly difficult lipstick to work with because it's not moisturizing and emphasizes lip imperfections like no other, so I have to exfoliate and moisturize my lips heavily before using it. I apply it straight from the tube (way too pale if I leave it as is) then blend the color into my lips with a finger to sheer it out. I like to pair Myth with a bold cat eye and a strong cheek or, of course, a smokey eye. Like the other Satin lipsticks MAC offers, Myth wears an average amount of time, around 3-4 hours. It looks very sexy with NARS' Turkish Delight lipgloss on top, but the natural satin finish of Myth is flattering on its own as it's not too matte. It's not the easiest lipstick to work with, but definitely one worth having if it flatters your complexion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 WhackyAki on 12/12/2012 3:22:00 PM more reviews by WhackyAki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This has been my HG nude lip for a couple years, but I think I've moved on.. A couple years ago it seemed impossible to find a true nude lipstick, but there seems to be lots now from many different brands. My problem with this lipstick is the incredible dryness it causes my lips... It looks great for maybe half an hour but it instantly chaps my lips after that. I have applied many different lip moisturisers before applying, but this lipstick can be extremely fussy - it has a tendency to coagulate and separate. It is also fussy with whatever you put ON TOP of it too! I like this lipstick with a tiny bit of shine, but I have only found one lip gloss that holds it in place without it separating and forming lines and chunks on my lips.

So, bottom line, I used to love this but there are so many better nude lipsticks on the market now! It was fun, Myth :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xAutumnBabyx on 11/19/2012 12:07:00 AM more reviews by xAutumnBabyx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My favourite type of lip is a subdued nude lip, it suits my skin tone and doesn't interfere with my eye makeup. I love bright lipsticks, but they seem to wash me out, and I always end up wiping them off and using Myth. My lips are naturally very red, almost fuchsia, so prior to applying Myth, I prep my lips with OCC's Lip Tar in conquest (which is extremely pale) however, the true colour of Myth shines through- a true light nude pink. I use to apply gloss over it, but I find any lipgloss just seems to ruin the lasting power- Myth lasts up to 3 hours before I have to reapply, it's so simple to just pop it on the apply a gloss. Myth has been a HG for me for the last 3 years :) I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CBNegron on 11/12/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by CBNegron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Myth is a very light pinky-beige nude. It is a Satin formula, which I would describe as a matte look, with a creamy feel. I have purchased this countless times. This is best paired with a smokey or colorful eye look. If you tend to wear more natural eye looks, then this might make you look a bit washed out. If you're looking for something slightly deeper with similar formulas, try Creme d'Nude or Honeylove.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nails4Tiff on 11/2/2012 2:14:00 AM more reviews by Nails4Tiff

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite nude lipstick next to Nyx's Circe's!!! I am on the darker skinned side (nc45 for reference) and when I pair this w/Cork lip liner, I'm in heaven with the outcome! I've read other reviews and it seems--so far--no one of my complexion has yet to try this product. Guess it looks too scary. But believe me, if you just just pair it with the right liner or gloss, its an HG......even for women of color!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PureAmbrosia on 10/22/2012 11:09:00 PM more reviews by PureAmbrosia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the ultimate matte, pale, nude lipstick. I love mixing this with other lipsticks, and it looks great with beige-y pink liner. There is no other alternative that does a more beautiful job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products