MAC Blot Powder

4.2

1158 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Silica, Kaolin, Water, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Coconut Acid, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxid lllol


on 7/10/2014 2:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this powder based on the reviews that I have read here and decided I must have it, I have been using this for a while now and to be honest its nothing special, it does make your face appear more matte but I don't think its great at controlling oil and shine, which is what I hoped this product would help me with. It comes off no colour so it wont change your foundation colour or anything which is a plus. I will continue to use it until I run out, but I probably wont be repurchasing this and I'll continue to look for my HG powder



on 6/24/2014 11:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Pros:
++No color

Cons:
--Effect does not last long. One hour at most on me.
--Product shattered on me. I left it in my bag and maybe due to placing my bag down? Haven't dropped it.
--Price. Expensive!
--Ashy. Ladies with yellow undertones beware.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2014 10:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The MAC Blot Powder does reduce my shininess and oiliness and I think my makeup last better and my Mineralized Skinfinish Natural work better with this powder. This combination gave me a natural glow with reduced shine.You definitely don't need much and currently I don't wear it as much as before. I used to dust it like crazy before when it's actually not necessary, but I learned now.

Generally, I think my skin is less oily than it used to be, even in the summer or when I'm back in hot tropical climate. I still use this but more sparingly and really that's enough.

I have not got any bad reaction from this and I trust this product. Though this product is a simple science of being heavy with MICA and SILICA which absorbed the oil, as MAC has clearly claimed. So those who obviously have problem with these ingredients, just stay away or use it to your own risk.
When I had issue with flaky dry skin I would avoid using this or just use this on tip of my nose *because oily nose tip is never flattering* as I think it's unnecessary. I wouldn't say this powder worsen it though.

One thing I notice, when comparing Medium Dark Blot Powder with the one from Mineralized Skinfinish Natural, it's lighter in shade. So it does not really matches my skin tone and I'm annoyed as it does give off a bit of ashyness after I got the 'perfect' second skin look with my Mineralized Skinfinish Natural. Nevertheless, it is light in texture so it doesn't affect much. Probably if I get my exact shade it looks better? or better, if it's a translucent instead.

The compact is fine, come with a mirror and the price is MAC standard, 20.00.
It last long as you don't need to use much so it's worth the spend.


on 6/10/2014 3:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have had this for two years. I first bought the MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Medium Plus, but I found I got oily by lunch time in my high school year. So I decided to try out the blot powder. Does it work? Yes. I dust this on my face and the oil is GONE. But I also find that it makes my face really cakey after I apply this, so I prefer to just remove my foundation entirely and redo it than use this powder.


on 6/7/2014 1:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went into mac looking for a good powder and one of the lady's asked me if I wanted to try the blot powder on my face, my nose was very oily at the time and when she put it on it totally absorbed all the oil, it blurred my pores like crazy, and kept me shine free until I went home to take my makeup off! (5pm-10pm) I ended up buying it but she did use a stippling brush on me, maybe that makes a difference. I have normal-combo skin.


on 6/6/2014 7:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Expensive and didn't keep my nose shine free for more than 2 hrs. I had so much hope after reading all the reviews but was so disappointed. I used this as set powder after cc cream, mufe matte velvet + and my nose was shiny after couple hrs. With mufe duo matte powder it lasted a little longer but not long enough. Keep looking :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2014 1:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am really disappointed with this powder, I really wanted to love it as so many people do. My initial views were good. I loved the finish over my foundation which is really snooth and silky, however, the staying power is nowhere near as good as other powders I have used for half the price. I suppose this wont be an issue if you haven't got oily skin like me. On the plus side, it is a good powder to have with you to use after you have blotted as it doesn't cause your foundation to move or cause a build up on the skin. I will stick with my HG no7 perfect light loose powder.


on 5/17/2014 3:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I'm normally not a huge fan of MAC, since I think they're a bit too hyped, and I normally prefer drugstore/highstreet make-up. However the great thing about MAC, is that they have EVERYTHING. If I need anything I can't find anywere, I will probably find it at MAC.

Anyways, I was looking for a translucent powder that would take away the oil, set my makeup without adding more coverage or that heavy powder feel. This one does it all!
I apply a bit to my t-zone, were I normally get a bit shiny through out the day. I just make sure not to apply to much, because then it can look a bit too powdery.
I wouldn't say it last or keeps away shine for more than 4-5 hours, but the great thing about this powder is that you can reapply it on top of your makeup, without it looking cakey. It comes with a mirror and little powder puff, so it's perfect for on the go.

btw.
I have tried the Rimmel stay matte, but since it contains talc, it sadly broke me out. I also find it to be a bit too heavy and powdery, so I definetely prefer this MAC one over that.


on 4/30/2014 8:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

What is the hype? Just another over exaggerated mac product. Most press powders would do the same thing as this. Though I must say I really like the packaging. Overall I wouldn't repurchase.


on 4/12/2014 9:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First thing I want to say is this is the only product that has ever worked with oil and shine control.
I have suffered with oily skin ever since I was a teenager and have tried so many powders and other so called oil control, shine control and mattifying products and none have worked.
Such as Revlon colorstay powder, covergirl oil control powder, Maybelline dream matte, shine free, superstay 24hr, rimmel stay matte, murad mattifier, Neutrogena oily combination moisturizer, skin doctors t zone, nivea young, avene anti shine, formula 10..0.6 and those are just the ones I can remember and not one made any difference.
I was sick of wasting money trying products that didn't do what they were suppose too but I was getting fed up with my skin getting so oily only after 2 hours of applying makeup and looking yuck. So I saw all the positives reviews for the MAC blot powder and thought one last try, it was before Christmas and they had free delivery, It cost $36aud but worth every penny.
To compare usually at the 3 hour mark my face, especially forehead is very oily but with the mac on at the same time it's completely matt and at about 5 hours it's still pretty matt only maybe a little shine comes through but it's not greasy and yuck looking just dewy.
I love it because finally I have found something that actually works to keep my face matt. If you suffer from oily skin and need a product to keep your skin matt, then I would definitely recommend trying the mac blot you won't regret. I will keep buying it as long as they keep making it.
There's only one negative the colours are lighter than what the package says. I would usually be a medium at the most in other powders but bought the medium dark in the mac blot and it's still not too dark . I would recommend going up a shade.
But other than that it's a must have for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin

Back to Top