Neutrogena • Visibly Even Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(106 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katie75007 on 3/9/2011 7:19:00 PM more reviews by Katie75007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have used Visibly Even pretty consistently for the past seven or so years; I can't remember exactly when it came out. While I've tried others periodically, I've found that more often than not, my skin freaks out when I don't use this -- and I've come to the conclusion that it's actually happiest with a $7.99 cleanser you can find at Target, rather than the pricier, more impressive-sounding anti-aging cleansers I attempt to use.


This cleanser has seen my skin through several phases, including a Retin-A adjustment, during which it was very dry, flaking and irritable. It leaves my skin soft and glowing -- not tight or dry -- and it doesn't irritate at all. It also removes makeup! A friend of mine was telling me that she has a hard time removing her mascara (we use the same one) at night, but mine always comes right off when I use this. While I don't use it with my Clarisonic Mia (I use the Fresh Soy Face Cleanser, since it's more gentle), I still use it once a day when I'm not using my Mia.


I WILL cry if Neutrogena ever decides to discontinue it (I'm nervous, as several of the other Visibly Even products have been disappearing). I've used cleansers that cost four times this amount, with less impressive results. Nothing has ever worked for me like this has -- honestly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oraange on 2/26/2011 4:12:00 AM more reviews by oraange

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I only started to use this recently. I think the cap breaks easily, BTW so watch out. Anyway I have super sensitive, combination, acne prone skin. I use this daily and I love how soft it makes my skin feel. It doesn't get rid of the oily-ness I have but I feel like my skin becomes brighter. I noticed very slightly brighter skin after first use. This gently exfoliates which explains the grainy texture. I would buy again! I use this with a moisturizer (Clinque/Biore) afterwards because it can be just a little drying if left on too long.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ixginaa on 1/11/2011 12:07:00 PM more reviews by ixginaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this cleanser. I didn't buy it for clearing my face with acne just because it doesn't say anything about it so i didn't have any expectations with that. I bought it for improving my skin's texture and fading my scars after reading a review here on makeupalley. oh my goodness. I absolutely love this cleanser. it did clear my skin for the most part which was pretty impressive considering it doesn't have any acne medication in it. it improved my skin's texture incredibly. my skin is baby butt smooth and soft! I've been using it for about a 4-5 days or so. I could feel the smoothness and softness of my skin after just one use. It has tiny micro beads in it but it's not like an exfoliator. there isn't a lot of it but a few here and there. i think it really would be nice for sensitive skin because it doesn't have huge and a lot of beads. i use it in the shower and i can tell that my skin is really soft and smooth. i don't get the tightness of a squeaky clean face that's been stripped of it's moisture. my face products have been going on a lot smoother after using this. as for the smell, it smells pretty nice in the packaging but as you put it on your face, it has this awkward funky smell but for me it's not unbearable. if you're really sensitive to smells, then you might want to stay away. just in case, sniff it at your drugstore before you purchase it. or buy it at riteaid or walgreens, save the receipt and return it if you don't like it. target doesn't allow returns for opened items.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nikkaay on 9/3/2010 12:20:00 PM more reviews by nikkaay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Meh. It was an okay cleanser. It did the job, but really nothing else it said. It didn't even out my skin tone at all, it didn't make my skin more radiant or glowy. Actually it didn't even feel like it did a good job cleansing. Its not the worst cleanser ever, maybe it did a great job for other people. But all i know is that i wont buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brittany123 on 7/18/2010 7:49:00 PM more reviews by Brittany123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This facial cleanser is my HG!!! I have normal-combination-dry-sensitive skin that gets pimples occasionally. It's really hard to find a right cleanser that actually works for me because my skin is very sensitive yet acne-prone. I've tried facial cleansers from high-end (Ex: Dior foaming cleanser, DDF, Boscia, etc) to drug store brands, and NOTHING has worked like this one!!! It contains small beads for exfoliating and its foaming formula makes my skin feel so fresh, clean, and soft. It does NOT dry out my skin at all. I can see fresh natural glow and my evened out skin tone right away after cleansing with this product!!! When I use this, I rarely need to use any scrub products because I get less whiteheads or pimples with this product. Although I like trying new things every time I run out of a product, I know I'll come back to this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stilettoheel on 6/3/2010 1:18:00 PM more reviews by stilettoheel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product works! I have olive skin, and I scar and get hyperpigmentation very easily. I had a set of breakouts on my chin that left me with dark brown acne scars that I've had for almost a year. I bought this product two weeks ago, and have been using it in the shower every morning. I just massage it over my face and rinse, it's a creamy scrub that doesn't really foam much at all. After washing I noticed that it left spots on my face dry and peeling, but then realized it was only in the areas where I had hyperpigmentation. I could literally see the dotted scars peeling away while the rest of my face stayed normal. It wasn't as noticeable as the day went on. This was not painful or irritating, but I wouldn't recommend wearing foundation as the skin is exfoliating.

After two weeks, already there has been a huge difference! A few of my scars have faded completely and the more severe ones are slightly pink. My scars are almost completely gone, and my skin looks so much brighter. I've even stopped wearing foundation!

I've tried so many different cleansers, creams, exfoliants, peels that didn't give results. I don't know what's in this product that's any different, but it works. While the results don't happen overnight, it's nice to see it exfoliating the spots away over time and leaving me with clearer, more even skin. If these are the results I've gotten after just two weeks I'm excited to see what the results will be in a month. Now I'm curious to see if the other products in the line are as good. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to even out their skintone and fade hyperpigmentation or acne scars!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tarheeloutwest on 5/1/2010 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Tarheeloutwest

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

A good cleanser if you don't mind the odd graininess of it.

This cleanser has a light, agreeable scent. I use a dime-size amount, loosened with water, and gently rub it into my face each night after I've taken off my eye makeup. I try to take the time to let it work, adding more water to really get the makeup loosened up and off. You can't rub too hard because of the granules. (I dunno, maybe they're there to remind us to be gentle?)

It doesn't really foam very much and I can't discern any improvement in my skin's tone but it does a good job of removing the makeup and dirt.

I am 52 years old with rosacea and this cleanser doesn't irritate my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DontStpTheMusic7 on 4/6/2010 11:49:00 AM more reviews by DontStpTheMusic7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Never have I ever disliked a product so much. It cleaned my skin to the point where it squeaked, and my skin became really dry and tight. I had to apply a ton of moisturizer for my skin to feel comfortable again. I also broke out with cystic acne, and being a person who doesn't even break out (except during that time of the month) and gets one to two pimples a month at most (again, during that time), I was upset to be breaking out at all, especially with cystic pimples! I also have to comment on the smell. I thought it smelled oddly familiar, and then I realized it smelled like a mix of soy and Paris Hilton perfume. I prefer things I am putting on my face to have a milder scent, and this was a little too fragrant for me. All in all, I will not be using this again and I guess I will give it to my sister, because I can't use the rest of it or I will ruin my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannonmiller on 1/13/2010 12:44:00 AM more reviews by shannonmiller

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't love it, I don't hate it. It doesn't dry out my skin or cause breakouts, which is great. I wish it had more exfoliating power though. It seemed to do well getting off all my makeup, but I mainly bought it to even out my skin tone, which it didn't. The bottom line is that it's not the worst cleanser I've ever used, but I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 w5bjm on 1/11/2010 1:27:00 PM more reviews by w5bjm

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

I find this to be a very good cleanser. I use it every morning in the shower with an extra gentle Buf Puf. Just a small amount makes my face really clean and ready for my treatment and moisturizing products and makeup. I can tell a difference in the texture and clarity of my skin if I miss a few days; my makeup also goes on smoother and looks better if I wash with this product. Neutrogena products do not cause milia or breakouts for me either, a problem I had with another very highly advertised facewash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products