Neutrogena • Visibly Even Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(102 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Brittany123 on 7/18/2010 7:49:00 PM more reviews by Brittany123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This facial cleanser is my HG!!! I have normal-combination-dry-sensitive skin that gets pimples occasionally. It's really hard to find a right cleanser that actually works for me because my skin is very sensitive yet acne-prone. I've tried facial cleansers from high-end (Ex: Dior foaming cleanser, DDF, Boscia, etc) to drug store brands, and NOTHING has worked like this one!!! It contains small beads for exfoliating and its foaming formula makes my skin feel so fresh, clean, and soft. It does NOT dry out my skin at all. I can see fresh natural glow and my evened out skin tone right away after cleansing with this product!!! When I use this, I rarely need to use any scrub products because I get less whiteheads or pimples with this product. Although I like trying new things every time I run out of a product, I know I'll come back to this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stilettoheel on 6/3/2010 1:18:00 PM more reviews by stilettoheel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product works! I have olive skin, and I scar and get hyperpigmentation very easily. I had a set of breakouts on my chin that left me with dark brown acne scars that I've had for almost a year. I bought this product two weeks ago, and have been using it in the shower every morning. I just massage it over my face and rinse, it's a creamy scrub that doesn't really foam much at all. After washing I noticed that it left spots on my face dry and peeling, but then realized it was only in the areas where I had hyperpigmentation. I could literally see the dotted scars peeling away while the rest of my face stayed normal. It wasn't as noticeable as the day went on. This was not painful or irritating, but I wouldn't recommend wearing foundation as the skin is exfoliating.

After two weeks, already there has been a huge difference! A few of my scars have faded completely and the more severe ones are slightly pink. My scars are almost completely gone, and my skin looks so much brighter. I've even stopped wearing foundation!

I've tried so many different cleansers, creams, exfoliants, peels that didn't give results. I don't know what's in this product that's any different, but it works. While the results don't happen overnight, it's nice to see it exfoliating the spots away over time and leaving me with clearer, more even skin. If these are the results I've gotten after just two weeks I'm excited to see what the results will be in a month. Now I'm curious to see if the other products in the line are as good. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to even out their skintone and fade hyperpigmentation or acne scars!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tarheeloutwest on 5/1/2010 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Tarheeloutwest

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

A good cleanser if you don't mind the odd graininess of it.

This cleanser has a light, agreeable scent. I use a dime-size amount, loosened with water, and gently rub it into my face each night after I've taken off my eye makeup. I try to take the time to let it work, adding more water to really get the makeup loosened up and off. You can't rub too hard because of the granules. (I dunno, maybe they're there to remind us to be gentle?)

It doesn't really foam very much and I can't discern any improvement in my skin's tone but it does a good job of removing the makeup and dirt.

I am 52 years old with rosacea and this cleanser doesn't irritate my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DontStpTheMusic7 on 4/6/2010 11:49:00 AM more reviews by DontStpTheMusic7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Never have I ever disliked a product so much. It cleaned my skin to the point where it squeaked, and my skin became really dry and tight. I had to apply a ton of moisturizer for my skin to feel comfortable again. I also broke out with cystic acne, and being a person who doesn't even break out (except during that time of the month) and gets one to two pimples a month at most (again, during that time), I was upset to be breaking out at all, especially with cystic pimples! I also have to comment on the smell. I thought it smelled oddly familiar, and then I realized it smelled like a mix of soy and Paris Hilton perfume. I prefer things I am putting on my face to have a milder scent, and this was a little too fragrant for me. All in all, I will not be using this again and I guess I will give it to my sister, because I can't use the rest of it or I will ruin my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannonmiller on 1/13/2010 12:44:00 AM more reviews by shannonmiller

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't love it, I don't hate it. It doesn't dry out my skin or cause breakouts, which is great. I wish it had more exfoliating power though. It seemed to do well getting off all my makeup, but I mainly bought it to even out my skin tone, which it didn't. The bottom line is that it's not the worst cleanser I've ever used, but I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 w5bjm on 1/11/2010 1:27:00 PM more reviews by w5bjm

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

I find this to be a very good cleanser. I use it every morning in the shower with an extra gentle Buf Puf. Just a small amount makes my face really clean and ready for my treatment and moisturizing products and makeup. I can tell a difference in the texture and clarity of my skin if I miss a few days; my makeup also goes on smoother and looks better if I wash with this product. Neutrogena products do not cause milia or breakouts for me either, a problem I had with another very highly advertised facewash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 12/6/2009 8:27:00 PM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I wasn't sure about this cleanser at first, but I really like it now. In the winter, I'm extremely dry. In the summer, I'm extremely oily by my nose and my eyes. Before using this, my cheeks were pink but coverable with a good foundation. Now I'm just slightly, naturally pink.

The scrubby bits are a little rough, and the texture is a little greasy, but both are manageable on a daily basis. As long as I use just a little bit when I wash (after EVOO makeup removal) I feel fine. It is NOT a heavy-duty makeup remover and I sometimes have to use two little portions of cleanser for my eyes.

Overall:
the smell isn't even an issue
the texture is okay
it doesn't overly dry me out
doesn't slick me up
decently removes makeup
makes my skin look soft and glowy

ETA: This had gone up my list and is now one of my favorites, my #1 for now. If I use a lather net (like a bath pouf) to lather it first, the little scrubby bits don't irritate my skin as much. Still doesn't amaze me but I do really like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* devmar on 11/29/2009 12:15:00 AM more reviews by devmar

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

pretty good i guess
not really unspecial
i guess it evened out my tone a little, it takes a while to see results
better than nothing! :D
i use the visibly even moisturizer too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jezseeca on 8/30/2009 5:32:00 PM more reviews by jezseeca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i just love this. to be honest, the first week i used this i didn't. there are three tricks to really make this cleanser work optimally: #1: use enough. although it seems like you only need a dime-amount, use a nickle. #2. add a little water, just a few drops, to get the lather going. #3. work it in your skin for a good minute. And one more thing too-- it took about a week of use before i noticed it evened out my tone. but after that-- wow! improved clarity, softness, really even tone. So much improvement that i wear less foundation now (only concealer here and there.). i wear moisturizer afterwards as well (neutrogena ageless). all in all, i just love this. no irritation, no dryness-- just fresh, clean skin. great find!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KClark on 7/3/2009 9:46:00 AM more reviews by KClark

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily, acne prone skin which I've been fighting for about 10 years now. I've tried all types of OTC products & prescriptions but nothing worked. My skin was always discolored due to the acne scars and always had atleast one or two zits. About 6 months ago, I started using this product. Within 2-3 weeks of using this product, I noticed that the acne scars were starting to fade and my skin was looking more even. I continue to use this product, a long with an acne cleanser and a toner, all by Neutrogena and it has made all the difference in the world! For the first time in years, I have even, clear skin. I don't have to hide behind make-up. The thing that helped the most for me with the acne was the toner. It immediately cleared my skin up within a day or two. I use the Clear Pore Oil-Eliminating Astrigent. I know some say that it's hard on your skin but it has worked wonders for me. I just make sure I moisturize after each use and I'm good to go.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products