Mary Kay • Day Solution/ Night Solution • Treatments

rated 3.5(64 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 djsiberia on 12/16/2007 5:56:00 PM more reviews by djsiberia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

i like the sunscree, hasn't caused break outs. its on the greasy side.

the night solution is great. though i'm not sure i've noticed a huge difference from the days of just moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 filmstarcompany on 8/18/2007 11:14:00 AM more reviews by filmstarcompany

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Ok - here's the thing.

I can't say the day solution does very much. But the night solution...

...i have no idea why it looks like i'm an exception to the rule, but i can not ever live without the night solution. It just seemed to heal so much of my skin. I'm not sure what's in those little microbeads that pop when you pump it but they have done the trick. I have quite the glow going and an incredible smoothness. I'm naughty in that I use this stuff in the morning and the night. My MK consultant said there's no harm in doing that, but not how it's intended.

Intended, schmended, this stuff works and i'm usin' it when i want! Highly recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zernelle on 4/30/2007 10:38:00 AM more reviews by zernelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My husband's cousin, who sells Mary Kay, recently gave me samples of these products.
I found the Day Solution to be a nice part-zinc sunscreen that didn't irritate my skin or make me break out. This surprised me because after a bad experience with an all-physical sunscreen, I thought that I couldn't use physical filters, but apparently at least low concentrations of zinc are fine. I did find that on occasion the sunscreen would ball up just slightly when I applied it, but this did not happen often. I will not be purcashing this product, however, because of its insane price: $30 for 1 ounce. There's no way I'm paying that for sunscreen.
The Night Solution is also overpriced at the same price. It is basically a chemical exfoliant, and I'd much rather buy a BHA or AHA from Paula's Choice ($15.95 for 4 ounces). More than the ridiculous price, however, I won't purchase the night solution because it seriously dried out my oily skin, and the plant extracts irritated my skin.
Overall, I would consider purchasing the Day Solution if it wasn't so overpriced. I'll definitely avoid the Night Solution, however, even if I get another free sample.
Day Solution Ingredients: Active: Octinoxate 7.5%, Octisalate 5%, Zinc Oxide 3.88%, Oxybenzone 3%. Other: Water, Isododecane, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Nylon-12, Betaine, Glyceryl Stearate, Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Acetyl Dipeptide-1 Cetyl Ester, Plankton Extract, Hydrolyzed Algin, Squalane, Glyceryl Polyacrylate, Butylene Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Ascorbic Acid, Lecithin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Ceteareth-20, Peg-100 Stearate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Dimethicone Peg-7 Phosphate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Peg-4 Laurate, Sorbitan Isostearate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Peg-75, Peg-150, Peg-8 Cetyl Dimethicone, Polysorbate 60, Laureth-3, Disodium Edta, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Tin Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Mica.
Night Solution Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, 1-Methylhydantoin-2-Imide, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Geranium Maculatum Extract, Mentha Arvensis Leaf Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Rosa Centifolia Flower Extract, Orange Flower Extract, Jasmine Extract, Galbanum Gum Extract, Cananga Odorata Flower Extract, Black Currant Fruit Extract, Propylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Mannitol, Acrylates/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer, Cellulose, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Triethyl Citrate, Acrylates/Ammonium Methacrylate Copolymer, Polysorbate 20, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium Edta, Talc, Methylparaben, Dmdm Hydantoin, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarines, Red 30.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 minerniener on 4/28/2007 10:34:00 AM more reviews by minerniener

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i use these every day (the old version). i use the day solution alone, as a sunscreen and moisturizer under makeup. it makes me face look really oily when i first put it on, but that goes away after a few minutes. i use the night serum under the timewise lotion only to sleep, but i feel like i would rather have a lotion that CONTAINS alpha hydroxy instead of needing it in a second bottle and spending freaking thirty bucks an ounce.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lstrue on 4/5/2007 10:25:00 PM more reviews by lstrue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Night time: Might as well have put water on my skin. Useless, didn't do a thing. Daytime: You would think a sunscreen would always be useful, but this one is way too greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 audreyliz on 12/16/2006 12:20:00 PM more reviews by audreyliz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I would like to rank these products separately - 4.5 for the Night solution and 2.5 for the Day. The Day solution is a glorified sunscreen that doesn't even moisturize. However, as far as sunscreens go, its decent, if overpriced. The Night solution is pretty cool in that it visibly lifts and tightens your skin. I don't know of another product like it, so it has earned its place. I will buy the Night solution, but not the Day. Just get the moisturizer with sunscreen instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gingerc on 11/3/2006 11:34:00 AM more reviews by gingerc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the NEW version of the day/night set. This has been reformulated and in my opinion is for the worse. I used the old version for many years with no problems. This new version left my skin a red, broken out mess. Looking at the ingredients and comparing old and new, I see that many things have changed. I don't know what particular ingredients does not agree with my skin, I would guess some of the plant extracts. I quit using this and gave it away. When its not broke, why fix it?

I loved the old version and am sad to see the change. I will not repurchase the new version.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jesi_2006 on 10/27/2006 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Jesi_2006

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has really improved the look of my skin. The lines that I did have starting on my face had melted away. I am about to hit 30 and have been really worried about the signs of aging hitting in. I am so glad that bought the set even though I was really scared because of the price. It has been the best investment I have ever made. I hear all the time how get my skin looks, people younger than me can't beleive that I am older than are because my skins looks so good. This is a must have in my house.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kathy123 on 10/16/2006 11:35:00 AM more reviews by Kathy123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say that I always raise my eyebrows and roll my eyes when it comes to MK. This reaction is not because of the products themselves, but it is because of the pushy sales people. When you get over the pushy reps., who are always after you to make a party and invite friends and do this and that, and you finally get to use the products, you see that the products are actually very good. For me, the biggest challenge is my oily skin. These have helped me a lot. My skin is well balanced and I do not have a single wrinkle on my skin. My mom, who is 76, uses the same products and she loves them too. In fact, all of her friends are amazed of her skin. That said, I love these minus the sales persons.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 esteegal on 9/8/2006 9:39:00 AM more reviews by esteegal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am reviewing the new one they introduced in March. I used the old set with very good results in the past. My skin was destroyed by a new Estee Lauder set over the winter and a friend who is a consultant reminded me that i had used this system in the past and liked it. I love skin care and make up and usually clinique but every few years I get board and change up my routine to try the latest must have regime. So I bought it in march right after they intoduced the new night and day solutions. I used it for six months and I hate the day solution.... It made my nose burn in the corners and even though I did not put it in my eye area it would make my eyes water right after I would put it on. But being very very fair I loved the high SPF of 25. So I stuck with it as there is no day cream that is as light with as high of an spf in the deptment stores. At first I loved the texture and look of my skin with it but a few months in I began to breakout and see blackhead. Consultant recomended the at home microderm and the blemish toner so I bought them and that seemed to work but I still get black heads I new it was the day solution. I took it out of my routine and they lessened but still there so I stoped Mary Kay all together and went back to Clinique and within 7 days have seen improvment and my skin is much calmer. I think it was a combination of the new day solution not washing off as easy and that there is not enough exfoliation in the timewise cleanser for combo/oily. And together I got cloged pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mary Kay products

More Treatments products