MAC • Cleanse Off Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.3(529 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 5/26/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm afraid to put this product anywhere near my face again. Now, it could be totally unrelated, but during the time period I started using this my face exploded in cystic blemishes (I'm prone to these during hormonal fluctuations) in spots where I usually never get them. When I stopped using this, it took some time for my face to clear up, but it did. I'm glad I only bought the travel size, because I don't plan on using this again just in case it was the culprit.

With that said...

This smells nice and fresh. I originally purchased this to remove waterproof mascara, but eventually tried it on my entire face. It felt nice on my skin - not greasy or heavy. It rinsed off clean, but I fallowed up with my usual cleanser afterwards.

I'm going to give this product a 3, because I'm really not sure if it caused my cysts or not. If it didn't, it's very effective at removing stubborn makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rubyeskimo on 5/25/2013 4:39:00 AM more reviews by rubyeskimo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Where to start? I have oily skin which can be breakout prone when certain products are used. I wear sunscreen on a daily basis and know that it is important to remove every single bit of it at night, hence why I first started using an oil cleanser. I previously used the DHC Olive oil based cleanser but found this a bit too thick for my liking - it felt like I was rubbing straight olive oil on my face and that isn't a feeling I particularly like. Anyway back to the Mac; this is a very light feeling oil, with a very pleasant fragrance. I take 1.5 pumps and massage on to my dry skin. I then dampen my hands and massage again to emulsify the oil before I rinse it off. I find this is the best way to get all my makeup off rather than just rinsing straight off. I have never had any problems with this breaking me out. I love the packaging, it has a locking cap on the full size bottle, which I have traveled with and it has never leaked on me. The travel size bottle has the same kind of top as the Fix Plus spray. A bottle typically lasts me 3-4 months so the price doesn't really bother me. I have been using this for years and think it will always be a staple in my skin care routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jesssicupcake on 5/23/2013 6:26:00 PM more reviews by jesssicupcake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've gone through countless bottles of this product. ABSOLUTELY ASTONISHING. I use this oil completely dry: I take about a pump and a half into my hands, rub, and then apply all over my face, massaging my eyes and skin to fully remove the makeup. Once I have black panda eyes, I rinse my entire face; the oil becomes this luxorious milky texture and rinses completely clean without leaving any oily residue or speck of makeup on my face. It's also incredibly effective at removing water-proof and long-wearing makeup: I never have to second guess purchasing water-proof mascara when considering difficulty with removal.

I notice that if I apply with even slightly damp skin or hands, the effectiveness is lessened so I would recommend using this product on 100% dry skin. $28 may seem like a lot to spend on a makeup remover, but it's a one-stop-shop that will last for months on end. I can ration a bottle out for an average of about 2-3 months WITH daily use.

I cannot think of any cons associated with product. I will continue to repurchase forever and ever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JayFab on 5/13/2013 7:56:00 PM more reviews by JayFab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Only tried it once and there was still a little makeup in my pores between eyebrows. But very good so far!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloodymerry52 on 5/12/2013 10:23:00 PM more reviews by bloodymerry52

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I just got my very first bottle of this oil, and I already LOVE it! I bought the travel size just to see if I like it. It feels really luxurious, and it really does remove every last trace of makeup. I follow this with MAC Green Gel cleanser, and they are a nice combo. Pretty pricey, but it's MAC quality, and I will continue to buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spaceykatie on 5/6/2013 11:31:00 PM more reviews by spaceykatie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry, adult/hormonal acne prone skin, but my skin loves this stuff! I bought this originally intending to only use it to remove eye makeup (I am always wary of using new products on my skin, almost everything I try that deviates from my super gentle cleansing routine causes massive breakouts) but I wound up using this on my whole face to great effect. It does not break me out (so rare), allows me to remove eye makeup without any tugging or pulling at the skin, and takes off every ounce of makeup without leaving any film or residue. I do follow up with my normal cleanser, just in case, but I'm honestly not sure I even really need it.

This is the best makeup remover I have ever used! I highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelbaby111 on 4/11/2013 6:13:00 AM more reviews by angelbaby111

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this cleanser. Removes every trace of makeup and leaves my skin soft. I don't feel the need to use an additional cleanser after using this. In fact, I had very annoying sebascous filaments on my nose and using an oil cleanser with my Clarisonic worked miracles to loosen the sebum and clear them up about 70%.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlondeInDelhi on 4/11/2013 3:27:00 AM more reviews by BlondeInDelhi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Does not remove my non-waterproof mascara. Otherwise it leaves my skin feeling quite nice and clean.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nadia5 on 4/10/2013 5:59:00 PM more reviews by Nadia5

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I am on my 6th bottle of this. It is the best product to remove any type of make-up especially waterproof mascara. Lasts for a long time and truly works better then any other I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NeatoBandito on 4/10/2013 5:42:00 PM more reviews by NeatoBandito

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC Cleanse Off Oil is the only thing that takes off my ColorStay foundation. Not only that, it takes off all of my eye makeup if I'm too lazy to use a special eye mu remover. COO doesn't break me out, and doesn't leave me oily. I should note that after I use the COO, I rinse with a little bit of my regular cleanser. One thing to note is that COO isn't great to travel with, though it does come in a travel size.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Cleansers products