Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1058 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/29/2013 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why I never reviewed this product because I have had it for 10 years. This was my favorite setting powder for the longest time but since I have explored others. It does set foundation well, the only issue I have with it is pores. It seems to show mine more than any other powder and I don't know why.
Some of the newer Mineral Veils do not, so it might be the formula on the original. I love BE products, I think they are high quality and have great ingredients. This stuff can become cakey regardless of what the company says and needs to be buffed in some. It has never oxidized on me or become splotchy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Purplegal on 12/27/2013 11:26:00 PM more reviews by Purplegal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this because of the SPF and believing that Bare Minerals only sold good products. I was disappointed. The SPF worked fine, but the powder seemed to oxidize & turn into an oily mess. I tried it with a variety of foundations, primers & bare skin, but it just didn't do well with my skin. Also, I am not a fan of the packaging it seemed to release way to much powder and it was messy.

I know others love & swear by Bare Minerals, but this didn't work for me. For reference, my skin is oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StephKatz1 on 11/4/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by StephKatz1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great product for reducing how big your pores look.
This definitely gives me that finish.

It's light, clean-feeling and makes a noticeable difference. I'm on my second jar, so obviously I'd buy it again. Unfortunately the only way to buy this for me was QVC, with its outrageous shipping cost - but I found it on amazon for a good price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 11/1/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product. Well, they didn't quite do that, but I really think I look "finished" when I apply this. It's light, clean-feeling and makes a noticeable difference. I'm on my second jar, so obviously I'd buy it again. Unfortunately the only way to buy this for me was QVC, with its outrageous shipping cost

I found it online instead for a great deal

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 courtney16spicer on 10/29/2013 7:46:00 AM more reviews by courtney16spicer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG. I am absolutely in love with this powder. My friend bought it for me in the States and I've been using it everyday since. I wear this over everything- even on the days I can't be bothered to wear makeup I'll put on my moisturiser and this over the top (to control my shine of course!). The mineral veil is so sheer but it still manages to absorb shine and make my skin look and feel flawless. I love that this powder is relatively natural, as my skin is really sensitive and I don't like to use too many chemicals. This is a bit pricier than some other finishing powders but I've tried the cheaper ones and this is definitely the best of them all. I'm just about to finish my current box and I will definitely be buying this again. LOVE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JLsunshine on 10/28/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by JLsunshine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Mineral Veil make my makeup routine complete. I couldn't live without it. Regardless if i am using bare minerals make up or not, i always use mineral veil to conceal and to finish my makeup routine. I of course, 'swirl', 'tap', and 'buff' a small amount and spread evenly onto my face (especially in areas such as my cheek bones and nose). It locks in my makeup and gives a complete after glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 10/28/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product as it gives my makeup a soft focus effect. The downside is it doesn't keep my makeup staying matte for very long and also I think the packaging is terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jen283 on 9/23/2013 4:38:00 PM more reviews by Jen283

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE setting my makeup with this product, even when I'm not using the bare minerals foundation. This product is so finely milled and sheer, that it sets without looking too powdery. Personally I think it reduces the appearance of my pores and blends my makeup into a soft finish. I also use a setting spray after this, but that's because my makeup needs to last 11+ hours, and I hate doing touch ups.

I don't have much experience with any setting powders from other brands, but I don't really feel the need to look elsewhere. This is one of bare mineral's products where they really know their stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 YXXC on 9/9/2013 3:30:00 PM more reviews by YXXC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

You're either going to like mineral products or not. If they make you itch, that's because you're allergic to one of the ingredients used in it and therefore it's not for you. Fortunately, I have no problems any which way and I really like using the whole range as the minerals contain skincare benefits. This, along with the foundation, gives the skin a (non-glittery) sheen that you could only achieve with foundation, cover up and a highlighter. If you've got dry skin, just use the primer ( incl in the starter pack) and it won't cake. For more honest reviews, 'like' Face Up To It on Facebook, Twitter @YoCalliss, yocalliss.wordpress.com. Thanks :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mings1911 on 8/22/2013 11:35:00 PM more reviews by mings1911

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I dislike Bare Minerals with a vengeance. I bought the starter set and ended up not being able to use it at all because the bismuth oxychloride in the foundation and blush made my skin itch SO MUCH. Its the kinda itching that makes you wanna rip your entire face off. It was so bad I used the set like 3 times then I had to stop. The mineral veil thankfully does not have that evil ingredient so I've been using it but I have to say that, like the rest of the bare minerals products, this is a big dud.

It is a loose powder which costs a bomb but functions like how I would expect a mid to low-range powder to perform. I use it over my bb cream and before i put it on, my skin looks smooth and silky but once I put this on (with an ELF kabuki) my skin looks cakey, no matter how little I put on. The powder seems to really emphasize the little bumps and imperfections in my skin.

The only thing I like about this powder is that it gives a nice tan tint to my skin. This is really helpful when I try some samples or new creams that are too light for my skin. But other than that this loose powder is really not worth the price. I'm using it because I have it and its such a waste to throw it away but I can't wait to move on to something better! Avoid bare minerals like the plague!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products