Nail Magic

4.0

107 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

n-Butyl Alcohol, Butyl Acetate, Amyl Acetate, Butoxyethanol, Ethyl 3 Ethoxypropinate, Nitrocellulose, Water (Aqua), Methylene Glycol, Gelatin, Red 33 (CI 17200)


on 9/7/2012 7:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this product for about 8 weeks now. Twice a week, I apply a thin coat on bare nails, then continue with my usual manicure.

I experienced burning only once. It was right after removing the acrylic and applying 3 coats on my nails. The damaged nails along with a lot of product is what I believe to cause the burning sensation. After this experience, I only apply a very thin coat and no more. I have experienced no pain since.
Now for my results thus far. There is a sharp deliniation on my nails where I can actually see the difference in what is healthy nail and what is damaged. My nails below the damage are pink and smooth. They also appear to be thicker than the damaged area. I have had no nail breakage or chips as a result of using Nail Magic.
My nails are the longest they have ever been (Yay, free edge!)
Once my nails grow to a point where I see no damage, I will update this review. By then, I should be able to give you a good idea of how strong my nails have become. At this time, I do plan on purchasing again.



on 7/11/2012 10:12:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It contain formaldehyde. It makes the nails so hard that they can actually lift from the nail bed. That's what happened to me and it takes forever to grow out because it just kept lifting.


on 6/6/2012 1:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was so stoked to get this because I heard wonderful things. My nails aren't THAT thin or brittle, and my skin isn't THAT sensitive, but when I first used this, on a Saturday, my nails, like the meat underneath the nail bed got warm and felt weird but it went away after a little while. It says to put it on twice a week, so on the following Wednesday I removed the old polish and painted it fresh. It started feeling warm again, and then it HURT. It was making my finger tips hurt, not just where the nails are.. it's like an intense achey burny hot weird uncomfortable pain. And it lasted so long even after the stuff had dried... So I removed it because I could no longer handle the feeling, my fingers and nails still hurt for about thirty minutes after I removed it, and I mean it's a little fishy that a nail hardener would hurt so bad! Especially since I've heard of this happening to other people. It's probably harsh chemicals they use...


on 5/29/2012 2:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT.
DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT.
DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT.
IF I COULD GIVE IT A 0 AS A RATING, THAT IS WHAT IT WOULD GET.
I began using this product hoping to achieve the long nails I had right after I removed my acrylics, because my nails have been very thin as of late. They would not grow, broke very easily, etc. I put this on the first night, and it BURNED. My nail beds actually burned, not a tingly feeling, a BURNING feeling. It was very unpleasant, but bearable. I left it on though, and after about forty-five minutes it subsided. The stuff actually chipped THAT NIGHT and looked horrible, mainly because it's a very light pink color, so it was obvious it had chipped, and it really just made it look like I had some sort of nail disease. But other than that, it was fine after the burning.
A couple of days later I decide to take it off and repaint it, since the box says to apply two times a week, I decided that this would be my second time. BIG MISTAKE. I removed it and put another coat on. The burning happened again, only this time it became unbearable. I had to remove it. When I did, my nails were STILL burning. They were weak, thin, and there had been no improvement, but how could there be if the stuff was too painful to even leave on??
It's been about five days since the first time I applied Nail Magic to my nails. It has been off since last night. My nail beds are RED. The end of one of my nails is way way way too far down past the skin. It doesn't look like a nail, it looks like skin. It hurts to touch things/ apply pressure to things with my fingers. My nails are continuing to break. I'm really worried about the red nail beds, though. I don't know what to do about any of this, and am going to see my manicurist tomorrow to see if he knows what it is/ how to remedy it/ if I should go see a doctor.
PLEASE, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.


on 5/20/2012 6:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I can honestly say that this is the only product that has every worked for my nails; it is also one of VERY few products that I will continue to repurchase.

This product is amazing. My nails are really weak; they always chip, peel, break off - especially if I use nail polish. I have not had long nails in years since I always have to cut them almost as short as possible without experiencing discomfort.
I have tried probably a dozen of products (mostly Sally Hansen hardeners) but none worked at all. I saw good reviews for this so I decided to give it a try mostly because of the color. Soooo glad that I bought it because this really works! I typically use it by itself according to directions - two thin coats and change it every few days after it starts to peel. I also use it as a base coat because it dries so quick. It makes my nails super shiny and the color is beautiful on the nail. I've used it for about two weeks and my nails are growing! I haven't cut them in nearly a week and it's awesome to see them grow; no chipping or breakage so far. I think I will reduce to using this once a week from now on just so my nails don't become too thick and strong to the point of breakage.

Best product ever. Definitely worth the money and it only cost $5.99!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2012 9:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first started using this product my nails were in great shape thanks to using another nail hardener treatment. I did not experience any burning, peeling or chipping.


I've only been using Nail Magic for the last month and I use 1 small thin coat as a base coat about 2 times per month (ever other manicure). I use it for added strength/protection and it seems like it helps my nails to grow. I might even just use it just once per month because I don't want to make my nails so strong that they break off.


Because of the fumes when I apply it I use it another room with a window cracked and I wear a mask. I find the chemically smell very strong! I also apply with care and use a cuticle balm before applying so I do not get any on my cuticles or skin.


I do not like using this product as a top coat because I like a lot of shine and this does not provide it for me, but I will continue using this as a base coat once in a while.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Black

I started using this as a bottom and top coat on my nails after removing acrylics. My nails were very thin and damaged, but I've definitely seen a difference in my nails while faithfully using the product. My nails and growing fast and are quite strong! I did notice some throbbing and slight pain/burning on my nails sometimes while applying this product, but it was only minor - nothing excruciating. I bought this from a drug store for around $6, definitely worth it.


on 4/2/2012 4:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff. My friend recommended it to me when I was having so much trouble with weak, splitting nails this past winter. I put on one or two coats about once a week and then forget about my nails and have had tremendous results. My nails are definitely stronger and I only have one nail that is stubborn and still has one peeling spot at the tip, however I can't actually peel it - I don't know how to describe it very well. The point is this stuff works, it has made my nails strong and I would highly recommend it. I had no trouble with any burning, either. Give it a try if you have weak, peeling nails.


on 4/1/2012 9:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for 3 weeks and it's great. My only complaint is as a base coat it caused my nail polish to completely come off with in a few hours. I would suggest using it by itself for the first month.


on 3/29/2012 6:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For the people that have a burning pain from this product, it's because you nails are in worse shape than you thought. This product stregthens your nails... If you nail is very thin or lacking something from your diet then you feel the burning pain because it goes through your nail to your skin.

I have bad nails that peel and crack so you do not need great nails to use this but if your nails are extremely soft from fake nails or something else then you need to let your nails grow out to use this.

It will be worth it because this is the only thing that has actually let me have nails again. It's wonderful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments


Fade Cream
Fade Cream
131 Reviews


Back to Top