Dr. Hauschka Cleansing Cream

3.7

323 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Meal, Anthyllis Vulneraria Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Alcohol, Arachis Hypogaea (Peanut) Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria/German Chamomile) Flower Extract, Hypericum Perforatum (St. John'swort) Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Fragrance/Parfum (Essential Oil), Citronellol, Geraniol, Malpighia Punicifolia (Acerola) Fruit Extract, Xanthan Gum, Algin 5/29/09


on 1/5/2013 3:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like natural (paraben free) products, and I prefer cleansers and moisturisers in tubes. I have dry, sensitive skin. This cleanser is OK, I didn't hate it, I didn't love it. I didn't particularly like the smell or the consistency, or the oily film it left on my skin. But if it was the only cleanser in the world I'd use it.

If it works for you, a little goes a long way, so it would probably be fairly good value for money.

I bought a Dr. Hauschka trial set. Very glad I didn't invest in full-size products. Dr. Hauschka uses far too much alcohol and most of their products inflame and dry out my skin. It seems unnecessary as other natural products like REN don't use alcohol as a preservative.



on 12/24/2012 6:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this cleanser uses almond meal as it's choice of exfoliant, which is an interesting choice. It is also an interesting combination of cleanser and exfoliator that i was assured would be fine to use daily, but i have my doubts. However, almond meal is not preferred to synthetic beads as it can lead to microscratches on the skins surface as the surfaces of almond meal is not smooth (read; MICROSCRATCHES). the smell is incredibly off-putting as well, i had to hold my breathe as i smeared it on my skin. it is incredibly thick, and expensive.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The entire Dr. Hauschka line gave my skin the most horrendous breakout it has ever had. At first I thought it was purging, but no, I ended up with cystic acne that it has taken me 6 months to get rid of.

Perhaps this line would work for someone who is not acne-prone, but if you have problem skin, I would definitely steer clear!


on 12/13/2012 6:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This cleanser is fantastic. I have been using it about once a day for almost three months. I was initially sceptical as to how clean it would get my face (I have sensitive combination skin) but I am now a convert.

When I use this, I first wet my face and then squeeze out about a centimetre onto my palm. I then add a little water to make a paste which I pat over my face. I then gently press the cleanser into my skin. There's no need to scrub; the granules gently buff your skin as you press them in. Sometimes I leave the cleanser to sit on my face for a while as it contains some nice essential oils. Then you simply wash it off.

The first time I used this, I was shocked at how good my skin looked. It was even toned and glowing. Even stranger, my skin felt more soft and plumped up. I haven't experienced any irritation or break outs.

One drawback is the packaging. The foil tube crinkles, making it hard to get all the product out.

Also, this is more expensive than cleansers I'd normally buy. I bought it for around AU$24 on ebay. As much as I love it, I don't think I could justify paying the retail price, so I will be heading back to ebay to repurchase.

Dr Hauschka's Cleansing Cream may be a little more work than the average cleanser, but I think it is really worth the effort for the way your skin looks and feels.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2012 1:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to have oily, spotty and very sensitive skin. Then I switched to all-natural and organic skin care and makeup over two years ago. I had heard of Dr. Hauschka and their concept back then, but stingily decided against buying their expensive products. Instead I went with cheaper organic skin care products by Alverde and Alterra. My skin got somewhat better back then. It became less sensitive and only my T-Zone remained oily and spotty. Needless to say I was not satisfied and have been looking for a different skin care routine for the last two years.
I then remembered Dr. Hauschka's concept. I sent them an email explaining about my skin and asking a few questions I still didn't understand about their concept. They answered really nicely and even sent me a package home. In it were a plan for my skin care routine, should I decide to switch to Dr. Hauschka, plus trail sizes of the Cleansing Cream, the Clarifying Toner and the Normalizing Day Oil. I'm really really glad I received this package not only for the free trail sizes included. Using Dr. Hauschka products is almost a science. The plan included in that package helped me a lot to understand how to use the products as did a video on YouTube that showed the Press and Roll Technique.
As instructed I use the Cleasing Cream in the morning and in the evening after removing my makeup. I first wet my face, my neck and my cleavage. I put a hazelnut sized amount in my hands and mix it with water. Then I press and roll the Cream gently onto my face, neck and cleavage. I repeat the pressing and rolling. Then with warm water I gently remove the Cream and afterwards splash my face with cold water. Note that the Cleansing Cream is only meant for your face and not for your neck and cleavage.
You should never use the Cleansing Cream for exfoliating. In my email I had asked the Dr. Hauschka team why there wasn't an exfoliator in their range. They explained that by regularly exfoliating one's skin, the skin is going to produce more and more callused skin. When stopping to exfoliate, your skin is supposted to stop doing that and become nice and smooth again. I was very skeptical, but it turned out to be true.
The Cleansing Cream feels nice on my skin. Its fragence is unusual but interesting and not unpleasent. It does leave a greasy residue behind. It is supposed to do that.
I was very pleased with the way face changed after the first month of using nothing but this three products. It became less oily and spotty plus I feel like it became stronger and less sensitive.
After using up my trail sizes I repurchased the Cleansing Cream and the Claifying Toner. I didn't however get the Normalizing Day Oil, because aside form the T-Zone my face became somewhat dry. I find that the Melissa Day Cream works better for me. By Dr. Hauschka I have also bought the Cleansing Milk for removing my makeup, the Cleasing Clay Mask, Rejuvernating Mask and the Facial Steam Bath. I am very pleased with the entire range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2012 12:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A few years ago, my skin was really bad - irritation, break outs, peeling. So I bought a box of Rhythmic Night Conditioner and a travel set for dry skin. This cleansing cream impressed me most, so I bought a full tube later. Considering the price, I just use it once I feel the sign that my skin is uncomfortable, such as exposure to sunlight in summer, or in the wind for long.
As others already say, this is an unconventional cleanser. It's a mix of moisture cream + almond grains. The grains are very soft, won't hurt the break outs, or the irritated area. You can't wash the cream completely off. There's a file left in your face. Just let it be. For those people with oily skin, using the rhythmic night condition or essence oil is enough.
Don't give up when you feel odd in the beginning. Keep using it for a week or 2, you will see the benefit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this about two weeks ago and have used it every night (and most mornings) since, as instructed. I've also applied it as instructed. I like the feel, the packaging, the scent--I can tell it's a quality product. I also feel that it's contributed to clearing up the outbreak of bumps on my forehead. HOWEVER, my facial skin started to dry out about 4 days into my using it. At first, it seemed like a good thing, as my forehead was clearing up, but now my face is pink and irritated. My face burns when I apply my sunscreen now and is peeling a bit on the sides of my nose. Bottom line--NOT recommended for long-term morning/night daily cleansing if you have even remotely sensitive skin. I'm going to try the cleansing milk instead, because I'm not ready to give up on Dr. Hauska just yet. I'll probably continue to use this as well--about once/twice a week for a deep clean.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2012 9:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The Dr. Hauschka skin care program has perfected my skin. I am 20 years old and have had dry skin with minimal acne my whole life. I have tried cream cleansers from dozens of companies and none have proven to be as effective and of as high a quality as Dr. Hauschka's cleansing milk and cream.

I apply this product after using the cleansing milk. The representative at the store directed me to gently pat it on my face and allow it to sit for about a minute or two as harsh exfoliation can disrupt the pH levels of skin (the product contains almond pieces). As the cleansing milk lifts my make up this cream lifts the cleansing milk from my face using very little product, about a dime-size. When I use it I imagine that it actually absorbs what is left from the milk while balancing and nourishing my skin. Although Dr. Hauschka products do not contain oils my dry skin has never felt more hydrated and nourished. My makeup goes on smooth, I wake up radiant, hydrated and glowing. My skin is at its prime and thanks to these products I can tell and I can show it off instead of covering it up.


I am excited about my skin care regime because I no longer have to worry about my skin drying out, having the feeling of a low quality product, or moisturizing products that awkwardly sit on my skin. I encourage anyone with dry skin to try the Dr. Hauschka skin care regime and see the benefits it produces. I am so glad to have found skin care that will stick with me for what I hope to be my whole life.

Key descriptions: Hydrating, balancing, soothing, refreshing, aromatic, nourishing, comforting, radiant, natural.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2012 1:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I went here to buy their cosmetics (loose powder n translucent liquid fdn) and they gave me a full size freebie of this!

I already had like 4 cleansers and was sceptical at first how it would work out for me as my skin always felt dry after washing :s or maybe I over exfoliated. I used it only once and it was a totally amazing experience.

My skin is soft n supple. Then I applied the rejuvenating mask (freebie too) and OMG.


Knew I had to get it. No going back. LOL.

I tried a lot of cleansers from SKII, Clarins, Dermalogica and so far I felt this is the best as it promised to deep cleanse :)


EDIT***********

Still loving it after 2 months. One thing I realised about this is that with this cleanser, you no longer need to use facial scrubs :D
I'm a little unwilling to use the 10ml sample of cleansing milk but it felt good.
I love the smell of this product! Finally a HG cleanser :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/6/2012 1:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Black

The only reason i am not giving this product the full 5 stars is the fact that this may not work for some as a stand-alone cleanser. Myself, i use it as a gentle exfoliator following my regular cleanser in the evenings or if i use it in the morning then it works fine on its own. When i first got this i will admit i was pretty sceptical and almost hesitant to try it, mostly due to a previous bad experience with the rhythmic conditioner (disaster!) but i am happy to say i was pleasantly surprised :) The verdict after a month of use is I LOVE IT!!! It took some getting used to since it doesnt feel like a "conventional" cleanser but once i got used to the texture of the mild granules i was hooked. The look of the brown paste and the "natural herby" scent may put off a lot of people but i am weird - to me the smell was almost comforting...It reminds me of something but i cant quite figure out what, all i know is that i always look forward to it :)
Dr.Hauschka advises us to use their signature "press and roll" technique with this cleanser, which might be cumbersome if you are not used to it but i feel even gentle circular motions would work perfectly. My method is a combination of both just because i dont feel like i've cleansed properly if i just "press and roll" but i am trying to make it work it (getting better every day!).
The best part about using this cleanser is the way your skin feels after rinsing it off (splash of cold water at the end!). Any cleanser can make you feel clean (and usually tight) and most scrubs will give you that immidiate softness BUT this cleansing cream will leave you feeling clean, soft and plump all at once! The glow of radiance is visible almost right away and for me everything i put on top afterwards seems to absorb and feel better. Brilliant - a definite repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top