Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(963 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 labesitos on 1/24/2014 3:09:00 PM more reviews by labesitos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like it because it broke me out. I have oily, acne prone, sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Daiseymay on 1/22/2014 11:35:00 PM more reviews by Daiseymay

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a good product. I like it because it doesn't burn my Eyes and it doesn't make my face dry or tight. I am currently using this wash with the clearisil vanishing acne cream and this routine seems to work well. Both are good costs and they have cleared up my skin in the 2 days I have been using them both. I do recommend this duo but you may also experience dry skin with the clearisil vanishing acne cream so I suggest using a moisturizer. I hope you try this and use it for the clearsil and I hope it works on you like I did!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 adOrk_aBLe on 1/22/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by adOrk_aBLe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I ran out of my acne.org cleanser and decides to pick this up from Target. I used this for about a week (the time it took to ship my other cleanser) Made me breakout into cystic acne. As soon as i stopped using it, breakouts went away. Didnt foam enough for me, didnt work well with my clairsonic, will not repurchase. Gave it one lippie cause it did remove my eye makeup

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anpage on 1/17/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by anpage

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This has become my HG facial wash. I have dry, sensitive skin and this cleans my face perfectly without irritating it. It also gets my make-up (eye makeup included) off fine. Most facial washes tell you not to use around the eye area, so that's a bonus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 circusriddle on 1/1/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by circusriddle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My skin: oily, very sensitive, clog prone, acne prone

I was on the fence about trying this product because of the reviews here saying it was too harsh. I'd been looking for a basic, gentle cleanser and I had been using Trader Joe's Nourish Cleanser, which was working very well as my HG cleanser prior to this. It was so gentle, but my skin needed a little something more because I found it just wasn't doing anything for my clogged pores. So I took the plunge and purchased a huge size of this on sale for $10 and I haven't looked back since. It's been a year now and that huge container is just over half gone so I'd say I've given this a good long testing.

PROS:
-Cleanses my skin without stripping it dry
-Gentle
-Takes off leftover makeup my remover does not remove
-helped clear up my acne
-Doesn't break me out
-Packaging; its a pump so you can control how much product dispenses out and keep it all sanitary

CONS:
-Fragrance

Why must they ruin products with fragrance? Thankfully, the fragrance ingredients don't break me out, but I just wish they could make this go the extra mile towards being gentle by remove the fragrance. Its not a bad fragrance or anything, but I just don't like it as an ingredient in general when it comes to skincare.

All in all, this is my HG cleanser, and I will continue to repurchase this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 matt1syd on 11/29/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by matt1syd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I was having serious problems with acne, and after using benzoyl peroxide I needed a gentle but effective cleaner that wouldn't dry out my skin too much (I used to have oily skin but now it's pretty dry). I love this stuff! It takes off all my makeup and doesn't leave my skin feeling too tight. It lathers pretty well too. After adding this to my routine (along with a new moisturizer) my skin has completely cleared up! I'll never stop using this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 breanda19 on 11/26/2013 11:40:00 PM more reviews by breanda19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sadly, this has happened to me a few times...
Using Purpose: OMG! My skin looks great! I should start washing with another cleanser to help combat aging/large pores/redness/something in a cuter package!
Using anything else: (skin massacre)
Using Purpose again: OMG! My skin looks great!
Repeat, ad nauseum.

For whatever reason, when I use this cleanser my extremely acne prone (cystic) and sensitive skin behaves. This cleanser does not make my skin perfect my any means but it is definitely the best I've found for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 11/1/2013 10:05:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not a big fan. For a gentle cleanser I would prefer cetaphil or cerave. I didn't find this too effective but I gave it a three because a lot of people I know do really like it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 10/28/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic facial wash. I haven't had a breakout since I started using this about a month ago. It foams nicely, takes off every trace of makeup, and is pretty cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CamiWillians on 10/27/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by CamiWillians

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent face wash, I found it at my dermatologist's office in a sample. It's really a lot better for me in the summer when I get all greasy during the day, but it's not too drying now that it's winter (at least, not yet). Looking at the ingredients I do like how I recognize everything I see, and that there aren't many...only rant about it is that Clean & Clear's Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash is identical and costs less.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products