Caudalie Instant Foaming Cleanser

3.9

141 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Water, Glycerin, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Cocamidopropyl Betainamide Mea Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Laureth-16, Parfum (Fragrance), Butylene Glycol, Trisodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract, Citronellol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool.


on 2/12/2011 12:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this when I ran out of my Clinique cleanser. This is great for removing my face makeup, but horrible for eye makeup removal. I had to go over several time for it to remove my eye makeup, which cause the skin around my eyes to be dry and sensitive to the touch. After a week of use this cleanser I had to return it because it my face really dry, bumpy, red and cause a lot of break outs. When I stopped using this cleanser and the Caudalie moisturizing cream, I noticed that in the 24 hours my skin was gradually returning to its normal state. If you have dry combination plus sensitive skin stay away from this unless you want to look like your sunburned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/22/2010 7:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have combination skin bordering on just plain oily, and I love this cleanser. It is very gentle and it does not strip my skin, so oily-skinned people who are used to a deeper, squeaky-clean finish might think this product is not doing its job. Not so. This foaming cleanser effectively removes all makeup, including hang-tough minerals, and it even removes non-waterproof eye makeup. I pump two squirts onto the brush head of my Clairsonic, and two minutes later, my face feels soft and silky and so clean. In warmer months, I can get away with not using a moisturizer. I'm on my third bottle and will definitely buy again.


Note: this product is fragranced. It is not heavy, but I detect something sweet. It reminds me of Jolly Rancher Watermelon candy or Paul Mitchell Awapuhi shampoo.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is an effective but gentle cleanser, which I would recommend for normal to oily skin. I have combo normal/dry skin and if I use this everyday morning and night it tends to dry my skin out quite noticeably. So I only use it maybe twice/three times a week to remove my makeup under a hot shower. If I limit its use to a few times a week by alternating it with a creamy cleanser, it leaves my skin squeaky clean but not dehydrated, with small pores and a nice glow. It's super fast and very gentle. It has never broken me out in months of usage. The smell is fresh and pleasant! 4 stars!


on 10/16/2010 9:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got this about 9 months ago, and probably used it for a couple of weeks. I didn't get a great result with this cleanser. The nice thing is that it is made with high quality, natural ingredients, but they just didnt seem to mesh well with my skin. I have combination/ oily skin that is acne prone, and this cleanser seemed to make my skin feel dry and stretched after use. Also, it made me break out as well. However, I do wish I liked this product because the ingredients and packaging were nice quality. On another note, I do think that this cleanser it too expensive. It only offers 1 thing- and that is to clean your face. It doesn't offer anything else to me that other cleansers have, such as leaving your face fresh and supple, and moisturized to an extent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product during the summer and early fall months of the year when my skin is oilier due to living in hell's sauna aka Phoenix AZ. It is gentle and effective and works well with the cleansing water and the purifying treatment. I think that Caudalie is a great line for cleansers and body products, but needs to seriously improve their moisturizers!

2011 EDIT: I have discontinued use of this product due to hormonal acne and have switched over to Rhonda Allison's Pumpkin cleanser with better results. had to remove a few lippies... :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2010 2:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The foam is soft and smooth, it makes my face clean w/o drying. Luv the refreshing scent. And "natural and no-additive" thing always gets me.


on 6/7/2010 5:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Caudalie makes great natural product, but the downside is that you pay for it. This cleanser is nice, but there's nothing too special about it.


on 6/6/2010 11:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I want to believe this product works for me, because I really love Caudalie products. I seem to break out when I use this product. BUT I also know that sometimes your skin can react do different products. I may try this again for a three month period - at least to let my skin adjust.

The positives of this product are; it is gentle, the scent is soft, it has a great texture.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Before this I was using Philosophy purity foaming cleanser. I liked it but it almost always made my skin really tight after wards. I usually don't mind the tightness since I like the clean feeling but it just kept getting worse especially when I was finishing up my second bottle. Sometimes I couldn't even open my eyes it was so drying. I would have to put vaseline in the corner of my eye immediately or it'd hurt. I have oily skin too!!!

I bought this after reading some reviews, which were mixed but I liked that it claimed it was gentle while it was foaming. It also claimed it removed makeup (as so did the Philosophy one). After about a week, I noticed that my skin wasn't tight after washing it. It is still winter so it is still a little tight but def. not as much as the Philosophy purity. I also bought it b/c it was worth a shot since Sephora has a pretty good and understanding return policy.

Differences between the two:
1. Philosophy was much more drier.
2. Caudalie removed makeup much better! Almost with no scrubbing (even mascara).
3. Caudalie has a fresh smell compared to Philosophy 'soapy' smell
4. Philosophy pump would get stuck about half way through the bottle, not a biggie but def. inconvenience.

I tend to break out really easily and this hasn't broken me out yet. My skin is pretty sensitive and breaks out REALLY easily but this has helped with the clarity and prepping the skin for my derm topical products.

It is expensive (about $5 more than Philosophy) but I think its worth it. I bought my bottle about a month ago and I'm half way through now. I guess it goes through pretty fast but I think it's worth it. I took one lippie off b/c it goes through pretty fast for the price other than that it's really good. well def. repurchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2010 10:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i purchased it from Sephora several month ago. It is okay, but i am not a fan of it. it smells fresh but i guess i dont really like instant form cleanser. I will not buy form cleanser anymore. and it is a little bit expensive.


Back to Top