MAC • Amplified Creme - Girl About Town • Lipstick

rated 4.6(254 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Angelysabelle on 9/25/2013 6:06:00 AM more reviews by Angelysabelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've always wanted to buy Girl About Town when I saw Beyonce wearing the color. At the time, my mum wouldn't let me wear makeup. I had to wait for years because the shade is not available here in the Philippines. During my recent trip to Chicago, I tried it on and I loved the way it looked on me.

This is a bold lipstick that manages to be wearable. It's bright and bold but very wearable. It's a bold look for day and it's beautiful for a night out. It wears for 6 hours on me. I have no complaints. I wore this when we were visiting Los Angeles and I got complimented a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EmilyC17 on 8/22/2013 11:28:00 PM more reviews by EmilyC17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought this lipstick after being recommended it countless times from my Mac girls and I'm not quite sure why it took me so long to pick this color up. I have very pale NC15 skin and it looks so nice on me, not to mention it comes in my favorite finish which is amplified. I feel as though this can be worn year round as it is an intense color but not too bright or dark to only be considered wearable for a season or two

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 8/22/2013 7:51:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, MUA, you were right, this color does look stunning on me! I am NW20, almost black hair, brown eyes, rosey lips, this color is bold, confident, yet not overpowering or like my lips walk in the room before me. It is a creamy beautiful blue based fuchsia color. The amplified creme formula is amazing. This was much better suited for my skin tone (all year round) than Impassioned (thought that may have worked well in the summer). It is less in your face than a red & more girly than a red, but with just as much strength as a red. If I could find a way to wear this lipstick every day...I would. I feel amazing in it and the lasting power is great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 8/10/2013 10:02:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start out by saying I never wear bright lipsticks. Or opaque ones. I like my lip products on the sheer side and prefer MLBB shades. My favorite lipsticks are Chantecaille Lip Chics and I do prefer similar sheer(ish), moisturizing formulas such as those of YSL Rouge Volupte Shines, Chanel Rouge Coco Shines, Dior Addicts, and Burberry Lip Mists.

Well one day, I randomly came across Girl About Town when I was trying to help someone identify some lipsticks and...

Wow. I immediately fell in love with the color! It was so strange because I have never been attracted to bright lip shades. However, when I saw Girl About Town, I knew I needed it. It's not just that I like the shade itself, but I feel like it looks amazing against my skintone. Not necessarily the depth of my skin (I'm NC20-25, by the way), but the undertone. Specifically the yellow undertone. I know that sounds a bit odd and I have to admit I've never come across anything I felt inclined to say looked good against my yellowness, but there's just something about this shade. Even SO, who was against how bright the lippie is, admitted that the color looked great on.
And as someone who isn't used to wearing a bright lip, I really liked how fresh it make me look!

Now, while I love this shade, I do think it is a bit difficult to wear during the day because it is very bright. My workaround is to blot it down. It makes a great stain and lasts okay. I have to reapply now and then, but I can usually just lightly tap on a little bit and that'll do the trick. I don't wear a gloss on top, though that would be a nice addition, and I experience no dryness.

Overall, love love love the color, and the formula is nice too. If you have yellow undertones, I would highly recommend giving this shade a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahkkelleher on 7/5/2013 8:10:00 PM more reviews by sarahkkelleher

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

My go to night out lipstick it's just an amazing colour and lasts all night

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 channelalice on 7/5/2013 1:57:00 AM more reviews by channelalice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a MAC Lipstick addict. Whenever i like a shade, i purchase 5 of them for backups (i know it sounds crazy but yes i do this).
This is one of those that i have backups.
I'm asian and asians don't typically go well with bring lipsticks, so don't even talk about magenta or some crazy ass colour with blue undertone.
But surprisingly, this colour looks soo beautiful on me! Everytime i wear this colour, i get compliments from many people. It's like a lipstick that just instantly boosts up my confidence.

I like to wear this lipstick with a soft eye colour and probably a medium weight makeup. I literally wear it when i go shopping, when i go to school (university), when i go out at night, or even when i go grocery shopping! i always feel those jealous eyes around me, screaming "thats some sexy lip colour"

I recommended this colour to my friends who are very dark and very fair, and they all loved it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ladybetter on 7/4/2013 3:54:00 PM more reviews by Ladybetter

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

It's a really pretty lipstick. Especially when it dries up. Brings out my face but it starts to look really faded and smeared after a while. Anyone know how I can fix this I will really appreciate the help

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JennifeRx on 6/26/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by JennifeRx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't just "like" lipstick, I am a hardcore lipstick JUNKIE and Girl About Town is one of my all time favorites. I can't say enough about this color. There are many days were nothing but this will do. I try other hot pinks and they just don't look as perfect as GAT does. This lipstick prompted a lady to complement me by yelling, "Great lipstick!" across the produce section of a high end supermarket. I am fair skinned, blonde hair and blue eyes and this color really just brightens up my whole face and makes me look young and fresh. It's like a makeover in a tube. I love the finish (Amplified Creme) and it has considerable lasting power. I would definitely repurchase. I don't ever want to be without this lipstick.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 screamstyle on 6/18/2013 3:22:00 AM more reviews by screamstyle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Awesome color!! amplified!! yes.. it goes glossy and after few hours it becomes matte and stains perfectly!! it just gorgeous in my skin!! just adds dimensions to your face!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissLilyRhiannon on 6/13/2013 9:06:00 PM more reviews by MissLilyRhiannon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this!
It is the perfect hot pink on my skin tone (NC15-20) and it just works an absolute charm!
Definatly recommend this beautiful shade to anyone looking for a magenta/fucshia/hot pink
It's super pigmented and stays on forever and leaves a beautiful stain to the lips when worn off. It stays on when eating and drinking as well!
Great colour xx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products