Bulgari • Black • Fragrances

rated 4.1(176 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 tanno123 on 10/1/2011 6:52:00 AM more reviews by tanno123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this online without tryin and I LOVE it.

Its different, its interesting and really sexy!
It does smell like the car shop but in a very clever sophisticated way.
I like its sultry smokiness and the way it sits close to the skin
You can tell a lot of work has gone into this perfume unlike a lot that are out there now. This is true Italian craftmanship!

I hate girlie boring fragrances and like hardcore kick *ss scents.
I've been lookin for a new perfume and have gotten so bored tryin one bland scent after the next.
So finaIly I have found what Ive been lookin for.
I plan on wearin this to work -- just wish I'd bought a bigger bottle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 love4animals on 6/28/2011 10:53:00 AM more reviews by love4animals

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Cant believe this has been discontinued. Its such a unique perfume.

This fragrance is a comfort fragrance to me, yet I find it sexy as well. Its a smoky, musky, woodsy black tea scent that has the perfect amount of vanilla so that its not sweet. And its soft. It has a grounding effect on me. I dont get the rubber tire smell at all, I guess this note translates to a smoky smell on me.

Sillage is there but not in your face. Just right. And it lasts and lasts on my skin until my next shower.

Mysterious and comfortable. One of Bvlgari's best.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ncjdivadancer on 6/21/2011 11:58:00 AM more reviews by ncjdivadancer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I dont' get a rubber scent on me at all. It's very powdery on me instead. freakin love it! Such an unusal and interesting frag. you won't smell like every other woman out there!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrigitteTolson on 4/20/2011 1:38:00 PM more reviews by BrigitteTolson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely adored this perfectly unisex elusive fragrance from first sniff- it manages to be sophisticated and close to the skin while being rather dry and clean in many respects as well.

Though the black tea is with other much more heavy and potentially over-poweing notes, they've done a wonderful job in allowing the gentle smokiness of the black tea to shine through as the star. The vanilla note is an icy dry bourbon vanilla that initially mingles with the leather note perfectly, and aside from that- I really don't get any additional notes after the first 10 minutes. It's such a perfectly balanced scent that it's difficult to tell exactly what you are smelling in it at times, but it's quite comforting and inviting. I've heard many remark it smells "expensive", and because it is so beautifully done, it really does- though I've found many bottles online for under 40$. Gorgeous!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 riveroflethe on 3/22/2011 2:53:00 PM more reviews by riveroflethe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Sex in a bottle--for MEN.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 3/3/2011 1:30:00 PM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The initial blast has an addictive chemical tanginess, like those purple-inked mimeograph sheets from grade school (1970s), back before schools had Xerox machines. We used to huff those mimeograph sheets, especially when fresh from the “ditto machine”—they were most fragrant when still slightly damp—and laugh with each other as we sniffed. I’m also getting a narcotic floral note, like daffodils or paper-whites, but that may be because L’Artisan’s Dzing!—often mentioned as a sort of sister-scent—has a daffodil note. (Turns out it is jasmine I smell.)

Ten minutes in and the mimeo chemicals are fading already. Later it develops the more familiar tarry-wood-smoke scent of Lapsang Souchong tea and is sweetened by vanilla and hints of cream. The whole scent becomes softly reminiscent of sweet pipe tobacco and stays relatively close to the skin. I finally begin to get hints of rubber about two hours in, when a bit of powdery musk becomes perceptible in the base.

Aside from the quirky opening act, Black seems tamer than the animalic and raunchy Dzing! It’s edgy, sure, but nowhere near as weird as I expected. Perhaps because I love (and often drink) Lapsang Souchong tea, its potential strangeness is lost on me. That and the fact that the "rubber" note reminds me of grade school and not kinky adult pursuits!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gigi27 on 2/14/2011 9:59:00 PM more reviews by gigi27

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Amazing. Lapsang plus leather, but weightless. Elegant, wearable, unique.

A note about the rubber: if you've smelled Lapsang before, you'll recognise the rubber as typical of this tea. No tires for me. Not just full bottle worthy, back-up bottle worthy.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fyankevich on 1/19/2011 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Fyankevich

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I honestly didn't know what to expect when I ordered a sample vial of Bulgari Black. After reading various reviews claiming that it had a tire smell or a burning plastic notes, I guessed that this scent would be very strange; however, on my skin it smells soft, smooth and powdery. I detect an innocent baby powder mixed with soft vanilla and a tiny dab of leather. It's like sniffing the warm, clean neck of someone in a leather jacket. I'd say this scent falls in the realm of a unisex fragrance, I don't find it particularly feminine or masculine. There's absolutely nothing bizarre about this scent to my nose. Actually, I find it to be quite comforting and lovely on my skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* atomic_girl on 1/8/2011 9:33:00 PM more reviews by atomic_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Black makes my skin smell like Canadian Tire!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 12/9/2010 11:44:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: black tea, rosewood, bergamot, cedar, oakmoss, vanilla, amber, sandalwood, and musk.

The opening of this fragrance is an aromatic crystalline citrus note. This interesting note disappears almost immediately, and on my skin remains a smoky tea note with a touch of leather as its base. The dry down is very soft and creamy, the main note being vanilla. I feel this is a very well done tea fragrance, very elegant and understated. Lasts for more than 6 hour on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bulgari products

More Fragrances products