Vichy Normaderm Deep Cleansing Gel

3.3

194 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENT………….PURPOSE SALICYLIC ACID 0.5%............ ACNE TREATMENT INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: WATER • SODIUM LAURETH SULFATE • PEG-200 HYDROGENATED GLYCERYL PALMATE • DECYL GLUCOSIDE • GLYCERIN • PEG-120 METHYL GLUCOSE DIOLEATE • PEG-7 GLYCERYL COCOATE • TOTAROL • TRIETHANOLAMINE • GREEN 3 • SODIUM CITRATE • YELLOW 5 • DIPOTASSIUM GLYCYRRHIZATE • CAPRYLOYL SALICYLIC ACID • EPERUA FALCATA BARK EXTRACT • DEXTRIN • FRAGRANCE


on 5/24/2013 6:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

this is an ok cleanser, I purchased one, I prefer la roche posay effaclar. Overall OK



on 5/21/2013 9:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a sensitive acne skin. This cleanser is way to harsh for me. It left me skin very dry and I got break outs from it. I dont recommened buying this product if you have a sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2013 6:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have combination skin with a very oily t-zone and large pores/blackheads. I have tried lots of cleansers, and prior to this had been using a Glycolic-based cleanser for 20+ years. This has Glycolic +Salycylic acids in it. It has done wonders for my skin. I use it with my Clarisonic 2x day, and my blackheads are kept at bay and my skin is soft and clean. For those not getting results or considering purchasing - one, this is for very oily skin. I wouldn't say just acne-prone because you can have dry skin that is acne- prone, and this would make it worse. It's definitely only for oily-very oily skin types. Second, this has sulfates in it. If you are allergic to them, beware of this. Im incredibly sensitive to them on my scalp, but haven't had any issues on my face. This doesn't mean that others won't have a reaction to it. Overall, I love this product and it's my GoTo cleanser now,

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2013 1:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have oily, acne prone skin that has been struggling with acne for a while. I switched to the entire Vichy Normaderm skincare and have already used up three bottles of this stuff.

I used to use a light Clarins (Eclat du Jour) cleanser, that was way too light for me to get rid of all my make-up and clean my skin. This Vichy cleanser is a lot stronger, and I do feel that it cleans my skin well but doesn't leave it completely stripped off. When I use this and dry my skin, it feels a little squeeky clean, but not uncomfortably. When I clean my skin with this cleanser and then use toner, my toner pad/cotton ball is always grey and never brown, which hopefully means there is only dead skin cells on there and no make-up.

I never use this to get rid of my make-up (I wear concealer and foundation) AND clean my skin, but I use a simple gel cleanser to get rid of my make-up and then use this to clean my skin. In the morning I use it once to clean my skin, in the evening I use it twice because I wear a lot of foundation and have noticed that if I don't clean my skin properly it breaks me out.

This cleanser contains (2 % I believe) salicylic acid. I always thought it was nonsense to use cleansers with active ingredients, but my dermatologist told me salicylic acid in cleansers is effective and can definitely help with break outs and acne.

In terms of my own acne, I think the entire Normaderm range is helping me batteling acne, so if you have acne-prone skin this might help. I think my acne is getting less and less since I have been using this line, and if I ever switch skincare lines I think I would still use this cleanser because it is so effective. Out of the entire Normaderm line, I think this cleanser and the Hydrating Day Care are the best, though I also use the toner that also contains salicylic acid and also works for me.

I would recommend this to combination to oily and oily skin, but it is more for people who are a bit on the oilier side, I think. Though it is not a harsh cleanser, so it wouldn't wreck havoc on combination skin. It is a very simple, but effective cleanser in handy packaging (I have a pump bottle) and it is not too expensive in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I began trying this product recently as it was on offer at Boots. At first I was really pleased with it - it left my skin feeling soft and smooth and clean, and I noticed a significant reduction in the oiliness of my skin almost immediately.

However, after a few days I began developing patches of dry, flaky skin on my cheeks. I started using it only once a day instead of twice, but the dryness continued. I've seriously never had a product dry out my combo/oily skin so badly before - one evening I didn't put moisturiser on immediately after washing my face, and within 5min my skin was so tight it was difficult to smile properly. This morning I had to resort to slapping E45 intensive moisturiser on my face rather than my usual Clinique to try and counteract the dryness.

So, I'm in two minds about this product. I am impressed enough by its ability to reduce oiliness that I'm going to keep using it and see if I can find something to keep the dryness at bay - but if I can't, then I will be forced to stop using this and buy something else. If this product was just a little less drying, it would be perfect.


on 3/29/2013 6:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I started using this after I couldn't find my usual cleanser from LaRoche-Posay. I find this one very effective for keeping acne at bay (I used to get break-outs on my chin because I touch it all the time) and it doesn't dry the skin too much, although you will need a light moisturizer afterwards. I use it twice a day, morning & evening and as long as I keep this schedule, acne is a vague memory.


on 3/6/2013 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this last summer when I was experiencing the worst acne of my life. It did clear up a lot of the acne but it stripped all the oils from my face and left my skin raw, dried out and painful. I've since switched to Lush Ultrabland as its kinder to my skin, but I do owe a lot to this cleansing gel. I didn't finish the bottle but I sometimes still use it in the shower if I have any break-outs on my back. This is excellent for treating blemishes but is too harsh for sensitive skin.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I purchased this cleanser in boots I was suffering from breakouts at the time so I wanted to get a whole skincare range by the same brand so I was not making my face worse by swapping and changing with products. I bought this cleanser, the pore night treatment and the moisturiser which were all part if the Normaderm range! I used all of these products for about 3 months and did not notice and drastic improvements with my breakouts and enlarged pores! I ended up just throwing the products out! I started using the Eucerin purifying cleanser which is a lot better and has made a difference in the appearance of my skin!


on 1/5/2013 2:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Ive been using this cleanser for about 5 months now, and its the best cleanser i have EVER used. I rarely break out, maybe once a month, and it doesnt leave my skin feeling dry and tight. I have normal skin, but in the winter it does get dry, so i used the normaderm moisturizer once a day. Overall this is an awesome cleanser, does the job perfectly, and my skin feels clean and smooth after.


on 1/5/2013 8:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really liked this product, it is weird that the gel helped me but the Normaderm moisturizer did not. At least that's what i experienced.
I used this product on it's own, without any other moisturizer and it helped me reduce my acne with 80% without having it back once i stopped using it. I really loved it and if i would ever have problems again i would count on it.


Back to Top