NYX Black

4.6

192 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Diisostearyl Malate, Talc, Mineral Oil, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Butylparaben. May Contain: Polymethyl Methacrylate, Methylparaben, Zinc Stearate, CI 19140 Yellow 5 Lake), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), CI 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 16035 (Red 40 Lake)


on 6/20/2012 6:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

What the hell? Did I get a fluke? This was number one on my quest for HG black e/s after hearing all the rave reviews about it. I don't know if I just got a bad one or something (I ordered direct from amazon, not a random seller on amazon), but all I can say is FAIL... One of the most unpigmented eyeshadows I've owned, PERIOD. Very hard, rock-dry, but somehow still manages to have a lot of fine dusty fall out. It is buildable to a decent black (that is, for an eyeshadow - I don't by any means expect eyeshadows to look as black as my cream/gel eyeliners without some kind of base first) with at least FIFTY or so careful brushstrokes. I am severely disappoint. I would return immediately if I hadn't used up so much of the product just trying to get a nice black (when you swipe fifty times each time, it gets used up pretty fast) I picked up WnW Panther soon afterwards and it is much better quality, kind of what I hoped NYX Black e/s would be like but at half the price. It took Panther 2-3 swipes to get to an equivalent of 20-50 swipes of NYX black. I highly recommend WnW Panther over this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/3/2012 5:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

amazing black! one of the best out there - reminds me of charcoal, especially willow charcoal because of the feel of the powder and the way it looks when blended out


on 2/21/2012 3:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the best black single eyeshadow I've ever used! It blends very well and flawlessly into your creases and eyes. I apply a primer underneath and it makes the color look outstanding! This is best for people who love smokey eyes that are alluring and sexy! On those days when I can't find my eyeliner, I use this with a little water and an eyeliner brush and stays on all day! It compares very well to Mac's typography eyeshadow! One con I would advise is to apply little by little because it goes on very dark when too much is applied.


on 2/19/2012 2:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

i rarely ever buy single shadows (i like to get more bang for my buck, so i stick with palettes most of the time) but i wanted a good matte black eyeshadow to use as a liner for days when i felt that liquid was too harsh. this definitely works! it is super pigmented, and i was sooo surprised at how creamy it felt. there isn't much to say about the color because, well, it's just a matte black lol. there are some super small, barely noticeable sparkles in the pan, but you don't notice them at all once applied. it does go on a little patchy, but what matte black doesn't? it's nothing a little primer can't fix! i haven't noticed any fall out when applying. the packaging works just fine, and it's very small, so it doesn't take up much space. overall, i'm super happy with this shadow. a good matte black is a staple that everyone should own, especially when it's this cheap!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2012 4:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I don't wear black eyeshadow very often so I didn't want to spend a lot of money on one. So I picked this one and am really happy with the quality of it. It's easily worn as an eyeliner and blends nicely as a shadow.


on 1/17/2012 4:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very good black eyeshadow. No complaints at all. I have no need to keep looking for a good black eyeshadow! However, I find any black eyeshadow a little too harsh most of the time and prefer to use a brown shade.


on 1/5/2012 2:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Intense matte black pigment! I've been using this as eyeliner. A wet detail brush dipped in this shadow enables me to draw a very dark line on my eyes. It does eventually smear a bit, but my skin is oily, so I wouldn't expect otherwise. I'd buy it again, but since I'm only using this as eyeliner, it will last a very long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2011 1:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

What can I say about this product except that it is fantastic. I have been searching for a highly pigmented black eyeshadow that I can double as an eyeliner. I originally was going to get carbon from MAC but after the reviews on MUA I decided to get this one. First off NYX is known fo being an exceptionally good drugstore brand. The price is also fairly affordable compared to MAC. So onto the actualy product review. It is a deep black colored eyeshadow that can be added to your eyes to create a perfect smokey eye effect or you can wet an angled brush and turn it into a stunning eyeliner. I use this black for everything and it will seriously last me forever. If you are searching for a simple blach eyeshadow, you cannot go wrong with this product. I promise you will fall in love with it just as much as I have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2011 5:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros: Dark black, matte.

Cons: FALL OUT galore! UGH! Hate it! I have a L'oreal Black that was probably just about the same price and has WAYYYY less fall out. Its a little less black, but has way less fall out. I even got an LA Girls single from Dollar Tree (glitter in pan, not on eyes) that is better. Grrr. Wasted of $4 + tax.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2011 2:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

it is a matte black eyeshadow color..
i use this to deepen my outer V area everytime i want to achieve a smoky eye look..
it is very easy to blend so it won't leave like a harsh edges on to your eyes.. as a lot of ppl know, the key to achieve smoky look is to keep blending and has a nice gradient from light to dark.. all you need is just a very little, it is pigmanted enough.. the texture is sooo soft.. i am going to buy another for my back up.. lol :D




Back to Top