NYX • Black • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(189 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 loudmouth on 2/19/2012 2:57:00 PM more reviews by loudmouth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i rarely ever buy single shadows (i like to get more bang for my buck, so i stick with palettes most of the time) but i wanted a good matte black eyeshadow to use as a liner for days when i felt that liquid was too harsh. this definitely works! it is super pigmented, and i was sooo surprised at how creamy it felt. there isn't much to say about the color because, well, it's just a matte black lol. there are some super small, barely noticeable sparkles in the pan, but you don't notice them at all once applied. it does go on a little patchy, but what matte black doesn't? it's nothing a little primer can't fix! i haven't noticed any fall out when applying. the packaging works just fine, and it's very small, so it doesn't take up much space. overall, i'm super happy with this shadow. a good matte black is a staple that everyone should own, especially when it's this cheap!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bucephala on 2/11/2012 4:34:00 PM more reviews by Bucephala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't wear black eyeshadow very often so I didn't want to spend a lot of money on one. So I picked this one and am really happy with the quality of it. It's easily worn as an eyeliner and blends nicely as a shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 manitoban3 on 1/17/2012 4:12:00 AM more reviews by manitoban3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Very good black eyeshadow. No complaints at all. I have no need to keep looking for a good black eyeshadow! However, I find any black eyeshadow a little too harsh most of the time and prefer to use a brown shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeup2000 on 1/5/2012 2:55:00 PM more reviews by makeup2000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Intense matte black pigment! I've been using this as eyeliner. A wet detail brush dipped in this shadow enables me to draw a very dark line on my eyes. It does eventually smear a bit, but my skin is oily, so I wouldn't expect otherwise. I'd buy it again, but since I'm only using this as eyeliner, it will last a very long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joannas20 on 12/23/2011 1:32:00 PM more reviews by joannas20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

What can I say about this product except that it is fantastic. I have been searching for a highly pigmented black eyeshadow that I can double as an eyeliner. I originally was going to get carbon from MAC but after the reviews on MUA I decided to get this one. First off NYX is known fo being an exceptionally good drugstore brand. The price is also fairly affordable compared to MAC. So onto the actualy product review. It is a deep black colored eyeshadow that can be added to your eyes to create a perfect smokey eye effect or you can wet an angled brush and turn it into a stunning eyeliner. I use this black for everything and it will seriously last me forever. If you are searching for a simple blach eyeshadow, you cannot go wrong with this product. I promise you will fall in love with it just as much as I have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 haikusamurai on 12/10/2011 5:09:00 AM more reviews by haikusamurai

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Dark black, matte.

Cons: FALL OUT galore! UGH! Hate it! I have a L'oreal Black that was probably just about the same price and has WAYYYY less fall out. Its a little less black, but has way less fall out. I even got an LA Girls single from Dollar Tree (glitter in pan, not on eyes) that is better. Grrr. Wasted of $4 + tax.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 d61rlz on 10/13/2011 2:57:00 PM more reviews by d61rlz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

it is a matte black eyeshadow color..
i use this to deepen my outer V area everytime i want to achieve a smoky eye look..
it is very easy to blend so it won't leave like a harsh edges on to your eyes.. as a lot of ppl know, the key to achieve smoky look is to keep blending and has a nice gradient from light to dark.. all you need is just a very little, it is pigmanted enough.. the texture is sooo soft.. i am going to buy another for my back up.. lol :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nadeen4ever on 10/4/2011 10:09:00 PM more reviews by nadeen4ever

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i'm really impressed by the quality of this shadow ..very intense blackest black ....blends easily ..i do use it to set my black eyeliner to keep it from budging ...i use it with angle brush as eyeliner too ..very finely milled ...of course a staple in my makeup bag ..love it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jaguayanflawer on 9/28/2011 7:18:00 PM more reviews by jaguayanflawer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought it because it's a true black, and I like that of it. I wanted it to set my eyeliner... and it did look wonderful after I applied it. Nevertheless, a couple of hours after, marvelous black was gone!!! It's staying power is really bad, and since it's one of the most importart issues for me, I think I will not be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChanelLove07 on 8/19/2011 9:59:00 AM more reviews by ChanelLove07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

To be honest, i'm not a big fan of this eye shadow. Yes it is a true black colour and yes it does blend quite well. But it doesn't have the greatest staying power. I use it to line my waterline after I applied my eyeliner pencil. And it makes my eyeliner really smudgy and muddy and it runs down. Doesn't stay on matte. But it is good for the lids like a smokey eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products