Parfums de Coeur • Vanilla Fantasy • Fragrances

rated 4.3(62 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenniStarBrite on 11/19/2009 9:08:00 AM more reviews by JenniStarBrite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of those fragrances that could benefit from a packaging ovehaul. Leave the formula alone and repackage and no one would ever know its not a high end perfume!

I am picky with my vanillas. I don't like the over the top sweetness of the CSP's and some of the higher end lines like Laurence Dumont have plasticky notes which turn me off. $50 bucks for a bottle and it smells like playdoh?? I think not.

I HATE the B&BW vanillas but this..love this. This was my "signature scent" all through highschool and college along with the Avon Vanilla. Both cheap but amazing, This is a very deep, creamy, warm, vanilla witha hint of caramel and just enough musk to round it out. Musk scents always work well on my skin.

I find this wears pretty close to the skin especially as the day goes on. But its always there. If my husband sniffs me I get a "Mmm you smell nice" but he cant pinpoint what it is. Fortunate since he HATES vanilla scents and gourmands unlike most men.

The packaging as I said, stinks. But its so inexpensive that I simply pour the scent into a pretty dark blue glass atomizer bottle I own and you cant tell its a cheap drugstore fragrance. Voila, instant class.

Staying power isn't phenomenal but then again, I find most sweet scents, even "high end" ones do not last more than a few hours. So for the low price tag, no issues reapplying this unliek some of the more expensive but equally fleeting scents.

Def will buy again and again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rapunzelle on 9/10/2009 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Rapunzelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh I do hope they haven't changed the forumlation (it's been three years since I've worn this).

I am very very very picky about Vanilla (I'm even picky about the vanilla I cook and bake with). It's one of those fragrances that tends to be either very very good or very very bad. I've read that vanilla and "foody" scents in general tend to be very appealing to men (though for some reason my BF hates them haha) and vanilla is an integral base to many fragrances, even if it's not a prevalent note.

I tend to stay away from all the "vanilla sugar" scents as they tend to be plasticky, flat, and juvenile-smelling. the BBW vanilla sugar scent, I avoid like the plague. It smells so synthetic and cloying. However, over the holidays they offer a Vanilla Bean Noel scent which is much better. L'Occitane makes a lovely Vanilla fragrance, and Anthropologie used to carry an entire array of vanilla scents that were quite wonderful, but there is one vanilla fragrance that has outshone every other I have ever tried. I'm almost ashamed to admit it, but it's the Body Fantasies Vanilla.

I discovered it years ago when I actually wore "body spray" (I believe I was in 8th grade and thought the fairies on the cap were cute) and was taken in immediately. It is a true vanilla. Rich, creamy, warm, and surprisingly sophisticated. It has undertones of caramel and musk, which lend it an exotic presence. My 50 year old mother (who is a total fragrance snob) adored it as well. I wore it for years (all through high school and college) and would never be without a bottle of their shimmer body cream (every time I would wear it I would get compliments on how gorgeous my skin looked and smelled). It was like my secret weapon. It even layered beautifully under other fragrances.

The only reason I stopped wearing it is because the man who I have been with for the past three years dislikes vanilla fragrances in general. I do hope they haven't changed the formulation over the past couple of years because it is truly divine and I highly recommend it. I rarely re-purchase products because I'm such a junkie that I have to try everything, but when I wore this, i went through bottle after bottle of the lotion. It was the perfect consistency, had just the right amount of fragrance, and left my skin (whether it was fair or a little more tan for summer) looking healthy and glowy, never glittery. I do find the lotion turns bad if you don't use it quickly enough, and as an adult I do find the packaging a little childish, but for the price and the quality I will not complain. I feel inclined to go out and buy some right now as it's perfect for the autumn and winter...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 8/7/2009 10:48:00 AM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Highly recommended if you're OK with white musk and slightly foody, sweet vanilla. This is not the same white musk as Parfums de Coeur's "Fresh White Musk Fantasy," which is a creamy, dense white musk. This is more of a fizzy, sparkling white musk (without the harsh hairspray scent white musks sometimes have). It's foodier than I expected; it reminds me of the creme filling in Oreo cookies (without the cookie). The white musk gives the vanilla kind of a light, puffy aspect. The apple note is subtle, like baked apple (no green apple lollipops here), and fades after a half-hour. The rest of the scent lasts only about three hours. Super-cheap, though, yet very strong for a body spray, with potent sillage, so be careful applying!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sassyrila on 10/24/2008 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Sassyrila

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I've always loved this. But I'm pretty sure they just reformulated it, as it now smells more like bbw sprays. Still yummy and comforting and delicious though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kgreene938 on 8/28/2008 6:43:00 PM more reviews by kgreene938

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE!!!
I fell in love with this years ago after seeing the bottle in my dad's bathroom.. his girlfriend always smelled delicious, and after smelling what then seemed like "the stuff with the cute cap", this was it - I never liked her, but if I had to say a good thing about her, it's that she had great taste in sprays! I wrote it down and hurried to the store to get some, but they were out!
I lost the piece of paper with the name on it, and after they broke up I went a few years, every once in awhile wondering what it was. Then, they started running those ads (with the drawings, and that song - "I don't do it for my lover, I don't do it for my mother, I don't do it for anyone but me") - I had found it! I'm now running low on what must be my fifth bottle, and while it's neither my signature nor my most-used scent, it'll always be a favorite and I'll keep buying as long as they make it. And since it's so cheap, I can stock up! (And probably should).
It's sweet but not too much so, great for layering, and wearable in any season. The bottle is durable and even though it doesn't wear off too badly, I tend to re-apply throughout the day, there are cute smaller bottles that are great for that, you can pop it in your purse and go.
5 lippies!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* butterflyaddict on 7/16/2008 7:29:00 PM more reviews by butterflyaddict

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

YUM!!!!! This is such a perfect and pure vanilla. I love vanillas! I can't believe I've waited this long to purchase this spray. I've seen it at stores for many years and never thought to buy it. One of the main reasons is the ugly packaging. I'm such a sucker for pretty packaging. Had it been in a nicer and more sophisticated bottle, I would have got it a long time ago. Oh well! I'm glad I have it now. This will also layer very well with my other fragrances because it's such a pretty and simple vanilla.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Liita on 7/10/2008 11:22:00 PM more reviews by Liita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my Lord!!! I absolutely LOVE this you cannot imagine how much, well actually is vanilla scent in general, itīs like my signature scent, for years this has been my brand of choice, I love the sweet vanilla smell it has, sweet but not overly so, like caramel-y, itīs a pity that I canīt find it here in my country anymore and Iīve had to buy VSīs "Vanilla Lace" which is good but not the same, wow!!! I think I used to spend like a bottle every three months or something... I love this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bowker2 on 2/28/2008 10:57:00 PM more reviews by Bowker2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Geez, this smells great! Really clean creamy vanilla, potent but never cloying or too sweet. This has to be the best layering device i have, goes great with oils and lotions. I like to spray this all over after a shower, from hair to legs, and then use a 'real' perfume on my wrists. Its literally mouth watering. This also smells great on clothes, which i would never spray with regular perfumes. Will definitely always keep this on hand!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emblis on 1/13/2008 7:47:00 PM more reviews by emblis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product is a secret gem in my fragrance collection. I first started wearing it in college after sniffing it on someone who smelled divine. This was her drugstore secret! I've found that it's a very nice, clean vanilla scent that is not overpowering and does not smell cheap in the least on me (despite how little it actually costs!). One bottle lasts 6 months or longer, and I use this a few times a week at least.

The scent is a very sweet vanilla but not once has anyone commented that I smell like candy, cookies, marshmallows or anything else. While it is somewhat foody, it's very unique compared to some vanilla scents and is suitable for wearing year-round. The smell is not heavy but it has tremendous lasting power--I always catch whiffs of it throughout the day and find that it leaves a nice light scent on my clothes. It really leaves a true scent on the skin, and does not permeate the air or cause any headaches.

In addition, I find that it layers well with many of my foody or even floral and fruity bath and body products. I will purchase again and again, and my only request might be for an update in packaging. The bottle is plastic and quite ordinary and doesn't even hint at the great product inside! But, if you were a big fan of this, you could always decant it into another container. I prefer to do this for aesthetics and for a better spray. All in all, I adore this scent and will always have some on hand!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smittyshe on 1/4/2008 10:41:00 PM more reviews by smittyshe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I liked it OK I guess....I'm not a huge Vanilla fan. I was standing in The Children's Place the other day with it on and some kid said "I smell marshmallows."

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Parfums de Coeur products

More Fragrances products