A/G • Recoil Curl Activator • Styling Products

rated 4.2(89 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 StephanieD on 3/8/2012 12:48:00 PM more reviews by StephanieD

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have long, fine wavy hair that gets weighed down very easily. Since I have been using this, I have had nothing but great hair days! For me, I have to mix it in with a palm full of mousse, and I only use a little. If I use to much my hair seems greasy. I just rake it through my hair and diffuse, and it works great. I think this is holy grail for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracie114 on 12/31/2011 6:52:00 PM more reviews by gracie114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Good stuff! I get consistent results with this. It defines my curls very well and gives them great volume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hnrenfro on 11/3/2011 12:34:00 PM more reviews by hnrenfro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is my fav when i wear my hair curly<3 it makes them form perfect instead of random different types of curls , it absorbs well into my hair doesnt leave residue at all. recomend it for curlys(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peitho on 9/3/2011 2:42:00 PM more reviews by peitho

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very fine ringlets that like to "frizz." I use this every single day and it's SUPER GOOD!!! I didn't like it at first for I abhor crispy, crunchy, curls. However, after it's in my hair for about half an hour, I....Me, Me, I FINALLY have soft, bouncy, defined ringlets. I could have cried. I got down on my knees and thanked the powers that be for finding this product. I have searched many years, high and low, expensive and cheap, and tried it all and have not found a product that worked as well as this one. I am 50 with dark brown, bouncy, shiny, wonderfully soft ringlets. Praise the Lord!!

I would say give it a go. I bought mine at Total Beauty Experience in Sacramento where a slaes person recommended it. At least there, if I don't like it, I can bring it back for stroe credit and choose something else....as many times as I need, so I didn't mind paying the $20 for 6 ozs.

Bottom line: LOVE!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SinCity on 8/17/2011 12:54:00 AM more reviews by SinCity

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have naturally wavy/curly hair. Previous reviewers have pretty much said it all, but I have to say this worked best for me when I used fastfood leave-in conditioner first to minimize frizz. I let my hair air dry and this combination gave me very nice results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gingerbelle8 on 7/26/2011 7:03:00 PM more reviews by Gingerbelle8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I am a hairstylist and this product was one of my best selling ones. I used it on every client that had naturally curly hair and those that didn't even know they had naturally curly hair! It activates the curls by just emulsifying it in the hands, apply by scrunching it in towel dried hair starting at the ends. Keep emulsifying the hands and scrunch moving up towards the scalp. Allow to air dry or use a blowdryer with diffuser! Great for lazy days!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arnaki on 5/30/2011 9:06:00 PM more reviews by arnaki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have naturally curly, shoulder length color-treated hair - it's in long layers with shorter layers in the front and on the sides (I don't know the whole 3a 3b terminology).

I was introduced to AG: Recoil Curl Activator at least 5 years ago and I've watched it go from $12 for 6 oz to $20. But it is the ONLY thing that really makes my hair look beautiful - when I cocktail with Zerran Glacon styling liquid. I have tried to find a replacement for the past few years with absolutely no luck. BTW as soon as I have 20 reviews I will do a review for Glacon which I can't believe no one talks about. It's the best styling liquid out there!

If you have any suggestions for something that does the same thing cocktailed with a gel or alone (only using one product would be so nice) please share and tag your review - AG Recoil alternative!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maneejih on 5/27/2011 4:06:00 PM more reviews by Maneejih

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My hair is pretty curly, I would say 3B and there is no other product that I like more than this to shape my dry and frizzy curls. Make sure you don't apply too much, a little goes a long way. Just simply pump the product in your hands and I like to rub it in between both hands and than coating my wet hair with it. Scrunch your hair and than diffuse until your hair is 80 percent dry and you will have amazing curls.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 5/6/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is 2c--thick, coarse, wavy, and frizzes easily. In other words, it can get fugly, quickly. This is the single most amazing product that has ever touched my head, from the highest end i've tried (prob Kerastase) to the lowest end drugstore brands (I could open my own CVS.) I'd never heard of AG til MUA, and with its nondescript packaging and high price tag, probably would have looked it over at my local Ulta when it showed up recently.

Thank god for MUA, right? Ulta had AG on BOGO, so 2 tubes of recoil ended up being $10 each, and with the comfort of Ulta's return policy and MUA rave reviews, I bought 2 of the smaller sized tubes. Almost six weeks later, I'm nearly through one already, and seriously cannot imagine my life without this incredible product. I had no idea my weird, wavy hair had the ability to twist itself into such lovely spiral curls! Even the odd straight bits underneath find life with AG. Used in conjunction with my favorite leave in (paul mitchell's the conditioner) and a bit of gel (usually deva curl arc angell, but lately suave captivating curls spray,) my hair has never looked better. Just two nights ago a complete stranger at a bar said to me, "you have fantastic hair," and normally men only compliment my straight hair.

I've noticed that recoil works best when you emulsify it first, and is used before any other styling aids (not counting a leave-in). I also use a micro-fiber towel by aquis (mine was only $7 at tj maxx) and air dry for awhile (maybe 60% dry) then diffuse. I've also used the AG product "details" on dry hair after using recoil for a bit more definition, and I like this combo quite well.

if a holy grail existed, this one is mine. HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Alysha1413 on 4/19/2011 6:37:00 PM more reviews by Alysha1413

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have 3c curls and I'm black with relaxed hair 

Pros: easy to get
-smells nice
-can be air dried or you can use a diffuser 
-makes nice curls
- curls last a couple of day
-looks natural

Cons

-some don't like the smell
-you need to use a little bit of trial and error


I bought this for $19(CAN) . The first time Is used this my hair was damp and i used a really small amount . About the size of a quarter . I dried it a little bit with a diffuser and air dried the rest, it made my hair really poofy and frizzy. 

The second time I used more. About 1/3 of my palm worth. And I  dried it completely with my diffuser. I also used an anti frizz serum. It was better but still poofy and frizzy.this was also with damp hair

The next time.I squeezed enough to cover half of my palm.( I have long thick hair). And I spread it all throughout my hair. I also used some leave in conditioner . With my hair still wet I braided my hair into 12 braids , put them in a bun and went to sleep. The next morning my hair looked a lot better no frizz!!! Or poofy- ness!!! I was so happy and I looked so good!!

Overall I have to remember to let it air dry overnight with braids because without them it would be really poofy and frizzy. Try it out!!   

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More A/G products

More Styling Products products