AG Hair Cosmetics • Recoil Curl Activator • Styling Products

rated 4.2(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Suil on 3/18/2012 11:40:00 PM more reviews by Suil

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This didn't do much except make my hair softer. I have a good amount of fine-textured wavy to curly hair that I air dry. An SA told me this was one of their top sellers for people with my kind of hair. It didn't help with frizz, and there wasn't much hold. Maybe it works better if mixed with another product or on dry hair? Having better luck with a Giovanni frizz product first, followed by Alba Botanical soft hold styling cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Frenchchick76 on 3/12/2012 9:22:00 PM more reviews by Frenchchick76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product. Been using it for a few years now.
You do not need a lot of product to make it work. I tend to use a small amount and diffuse my hair. Let my hair air dry and gives it a beachy look.

It is pricey but it lasts me about 6 months and i use about a pea size amount and its good for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StephanieD on 3/8/2012 12:48:00 PM more reviews by StephanieD

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have long, fine wavy hair that gets weighed down very easily. Since I have been using this, I have had nothing but great hair days! For me, I have to mix it in with a palm full of mousse, and I only use a little. If I use to much my hair seems greasy. I just rake it through my hair and diffuse, and it works great. I think this is holy grail for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracie114 on 12/31/2011 6:52:00 PM more reviews by gracie114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Good stuff! I get consistent results with this. It defines my curls very well and gives them great volume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hnrenfro on 11/3/2011 12:34:00 PM more reviews by hnrenfro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is my fav when i wear my hair curly<3 it makes them form perfect instead of random different types of curls , it absorbs well into my hair doesnt leave residue at all. recomend it for curlys(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peitho on 9/3/2011 2:42:00 PM more reviews by peitho

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very fine ringlets that like to "frizz." I use this every single day and it's SUPER GOOD!!! I didn't like it at first for I abhor crispy, crunchy, curls. However, after it's in my hair for about half an hour, I....Me, Me, I FINALLY have soft, bouncy, defined ringlets. I could have cried. I got down on my knees and thanked the powers that be for finding this product. I have searched many years, high and low, expensive and cheap, and tried it all and have not found a product that worked as well as this one. I am 50 with dark brown, bouncy, shiny, wonderfully soft ringlets. Praise the Lord!!

I would say give it a go. I bought mine at Total Beauty Experience in Sacramento where a slaes person recommended it. At least there, if I don't like it, I can bring it back for stroe credit and choose something else....as many times as I need, so I didn't mind paying the $20 for 6 ozs.

Bottom line: LOVE!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SinCity on 8/17/2011 12:54:00 AM more reviews by SinCity

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have naturally wavy/curly hair. Previous reviewers have pretty much said it all, but I have to say this worked best for me when I used fastfood leave-in conditioner first to minimize frizz. I let my hair air dry and this combination gave me very nice results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gingerbelle8 on 7/26/2011 7:03:00 PM more reviews by Gingerbelle8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I am a hairstylist and this product was one of my best selling ones. I used it on every client that had naturally curly hair and those that didn't even know they had naturally curly hair! It activates the curls by just emulsifying it in the hands, apply by scrunching it in towel dried hair starting at the ends. Keep emulsifying the hands and scrunch moving up towards the scalp. Allow to air dry or use a blowdryer with diffuser! Great for lazy days!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arnaki on 5/30/2011 9:06:00 PM more reviews by arnaki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have naturally curly, shoulder length color-treated hair - it's in long layers with shorter layers in the front and on the sides (I don't know the whole 3a 3b terminology).

I was introduced to AG: Recoil Curl Activator at least 5 years ago and I've watched it go from $12 for 6 oz to $20. But it is the ONLY thing that really makes my hair look beautiful - when I cocktail with Zerran Glacon styling liquid. I have tried to find a replacement for the past few years with absolutely no luck. BTW as soon as I have 20 reviews I will do a review for Glacon which I can't believe no one talks about. It's the best styling liquid out there!

If you have any suggestions for something that does the same thing cocktailed with a gel or alone (only using one product would be so nice) please share and tag your review - AG Recoil alternative!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maneejih on 5/27/2011 4:06:00 PM more reviews by Maneejih

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My hair is pretty curly, I would say 3B and there is no other product that I like more than this to shape my dry and frizzy curls. Make sure you don't apply too much, a little goes a long way. Just simply pump the product in your hands and I like to rub it in between both hands and than coating my wet hair with it. Scrunch your hair and than diffuse until your hair is 80 percent dry and you will have amazing curls.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More AG Hair Cosmetics products

More Styling Products products