John Frieda • Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Leave-on Perfecting Glosser • Styling Products

rated 4.1(282 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 musiclives on 3/4/2011 6:48:00 PM more reviews by musiclives

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. I don't use this on wet hair, instead I wash my hair at night and apply this in the morning after straightening my hair. I use a pea sized amount and rub it onto the ends first, then apply the rest. Definitely avoid the scalp area because this does weigh your hair down a little. This product can make your hair goopy and heavy if you do not use in conjunction with a good anti-residue shampoo once a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karriwhel on 3/2/2011 10:21:00 AM more reviews by karriwhel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have a huge problem with products weighing my hair down & making it sticky, unfortunately this one was no different. Perhaps I just have not found a happy medium on amount to use because either I have weighted down hair or no results at all, so not sure. I do know it has no glossing or shine properties for my hair. Won't purchase again, pretty boring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anotherpartofme on 3/1/2011 9:30:00 AM more reviews by anotherpartofme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like using a small amount before blow drying my hair because it makes my hair less fluffy. I had high expectations for this product because it has such a great ratings here but my dark brown hair isn't much shinier after using this and! Shine shock?? LOL! It's a good product but it nothing special for me really. I'd buy it again but it cost me 9 euros and I'm not sure if it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kateleblanc on 2/13/2011 5:30:00 PM more reviews by kateleblanc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this product in Australia, dont even know if you can buy it in Europe. I like the smell. I use it when I go to work and my fringe is just hanging in front of my eyes. With this product I can put my fringe to the side and it lasts through the whole day at work.There are some glitters inside, but I don't really see them on my hair.Its not sticky, doesn't make my hair greasy, doesn''t weight it down.As far as I remember it was reasonably prised as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LucyHayes on 10/30/2010 5:11:00 AM more reviews by LucyHayes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

great product, does what it says, but i cannot bear smelling like ma grandmas soap

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katie411 on 10/11/2010 10:13:00 AM more reviews by Katie411

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this on my long brown hair for years. I don't like to use too many products on my hair and keep my routine very simple. I don't even blow dry or colour etc.. I love this product and would really recommend it. A small amount goes a long way, it lasts ages, it's very reasonably priced and you can usually find it on offer somewhere, as it is sold in many places (in the UK). I use if after a little towel drying and it doesn't make my hair greasy. I leave my hair to dry naturally and it always looks shiny and non frizzy. It's the one hair product I always use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princessa00 on 5/18/2010 2:31:00 AM more reviews by princessa00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know john freida doesn't have the best reputation in terms of product quality.. but this is a gem in the line. Applied before a blow out, this really does make my hair extremely silky. As far as shine goes, it made my hair shiny, but luckily my hairs shine is decent (thank you, freezing cold water hit to wrap up a shower).. so the difference was not that noticeable. I like a product with some more hold, so I don't really like using it on it's own. Works well with some styling cream. I'll keep using this to switch up with moroccan oil to not quickly finish the latter. Good product for those looking for a frizz buster that won't hurt the wallet.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arahen on 5/13/2010 8:08:00 AM more reviews by arahen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I recently bought this product for my colour treated, thin, and straight hair. I first applied it on my dry hair and got ok results: sligthly more shine, and less frizz at my hair ends. The next day I applied it while my hair was a bit more wet than towel dry/damp hair, and the results were great: my hair smelled wonderful, was soft and shiny, and had a sleek look :) However, the shine isn't very 'shocking' and I feel that the sleek look can look a bit too limp.
So far I am still pleased with this product and would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 4/24/2010 3:05:00 PM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product two weeks ago at a BOGOF sale and it was free, so I thought what the heck! I am always looking for products (serums, glosses, leave-in conditioners, etc.) to keep my human hair extensions from drying out, which is almost impossible living in the desert.


This is my first John Frieda's Shine Shock purchase and this product goes a long way. My hair hits the middle of my back and a dime size amount of product works perfect. I use this product at night, comb it through and clip it up. In the morning, the ends of my hair are so soft and tangle free (which never happens with hair extensions). My DH has been using this too ~ he has long hair, and this product makes his curls so beautiful. I like this product and I will buy this again...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ltn on 4/13/2010 5:37:00 AM more reviews by ltn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is colored and when it fades, my hair looks dull and damaged. I squeeze a dime size amount into my fingers and spread it throughout my hair. It is very light. The product has little "glitters" in it, but it is not visible when applied to the hair. It also smells really good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products