John Frieda • Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Leave-on Perfecting Glosser • Styling Products

rated 4.1(279 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 kateleblanc on 2/13/2011 5:30:00 PM more reviews by kateleblanc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this product in Australia, dont even know if you can buy it in Europe. I like the smell. I use it when I go to work and my fringe is just hanging in front of my eyes. With this product I can put my fringe to the side and it lasts through the whole day at work.There are some glitters inside, but I don't really see them on my hair.Its not sticky, doesn't make my hair greasy, doesn''t weight it down.As far as I remember it was reasonably prised as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LucyHayes on 10/30/2010 5:11:00 AM more reviews by LucyHayes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

great product, does what it says, but i cannot bear smelling like ma grandmas soap

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katie411 on 10/11/2010 10:13:00 AM more reviews by Katie411

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this on my long brown hair for years. I don't like to use too many products on my hair and keep my routine very simple. I don't even blow dry or colour etc.. I love this product and would really recommend it. A small amount goes a long way, it lasts ages, it's very reasonably priced and you can usually find it on offer somewhere, as it is sold in many places (in the UK). I use if after a little towel drying and it doesn't make my hair greasy. I leave my hair to dry naturally and it always looks shiny and non frizzy. It's the one hair product I always use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princessa00 on 5/18/2010 2:31:00 AM more reviews by princessa00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know john freida doesn't have the best reputation in terms of product quality.. but this is a gem in the line. Applied before a blow out, this really does make my hair extremely silky. As far as shine goes, it made my hair shiny, but luckily my hairs shine is decent (thank you, freezing cold water hit to wrap up a shower).. so the difference was not that noticeable. I like a product with some more hold, so I don't really like using it on it's own. Works well with some styling cream. I'll keep using this to switch up with moroccan oil to not quickly finish the latter. Good product for those looking for a frizz buster that won't hurt the wallet.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arahen on 5/13/2010 8:08:00 AM more reviews by arahen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I recently bought this product for my colour treated, thin, and straight hair. I first applied it on my dry hair and got ok results: sligthly more shine, and less frizz at my hair ends. The next day I applied it while my hair was a bit more wet than towel dry/damp hair, and the results were great: my hair smelled wonderful, was soft and shiny, and had a sleek look :) However, the shine isn't very 'shocking' and I feel that the sleek look can look a bit too limp.
So far I am still pleased with this product and would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 4/24/2010 3:05:00 PM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product two weeks ago at a BOGOF sale and it was free, so I thought what the heck! I am always looking for products (serums, glosses, leave-in conditioners, etc.) to keep my human hair extensions from drying out, which is almost impossible living in the desert.


This is my first John Frieda's Shine Shock purchase and this product goes a long way. My hair hits the middle of my back and a dime size amount of product works perfect. I use this product at night, comb it through and clip it up. In the morning, the ends of my hair are so soft and tangle free (which never happens with hair extensions). My DH has been using this too ~ he has long hair, and this product makes his curls so beautiful. I like this product and I will buy this again...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ltn on 4/13/2010 5:37:00 AM more reviews by ltn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is colored and when it fades, my hair looks dull and damaged. I squeeze a dime size amount into my fingers and spread it throughout my hair. It is very light. The product has little "glitters" in it, but it is not visible when applied to the hair. It also smells really good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nakedmannequin on 3/23/2010 9:49:00 PM more reviews by nakedmannequin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My hair is long, wavy, medium-thick, color-treated and pretty frizzy if left natural.

I first tried this product a few years ago and disliked it, probably because I was using it as a finishing balm on dry hair.

Bought another tube about a month ago and I don't know how I lived without it!

I just followed the directions on the packaging: I applied about a quarter size amount through SOAKING wet hair: right out of the shower, wring it out - no towel drying. I comb it though, wrap in in a towel for a few minutes, then towel dry. I usually use a serum afterwards, but I'm finding that I don't necessarily have to.

If I blow dry straight, I get great sleek results and have minimal need for a flat iron (less heat damage yay)

If I let it dry naturally, my waves are defined and have minimal frizz.

AND if I happen to get lazy and fall asleep on wet hair, it's a breeze to brush and run a straightener through in the morning and my hair looks freshly done.

A+++ I love this product. The only this that beats this one for me is Frederick Fekkai glossing creme, and that ain't cheap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sonjabra on 3/23/2010 4:14:00 AM more reviews by sonjabra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this with the Marie Claire Goodie Bag and was hooked upon first try. After my absolute fave (John Frieda Beach Blonde Ocean Waves) was discontinued, I never thought that I'd find something that would be equally great to get my stubborn hair under control.
I have extremely thick hair with kinda frizzy ends - very difficult to manage. But this stuff does the trick. It does weight down my hair a bit, but I have too much volume by nature, so it's fine with me...;-)

Due to my thick hair, I do need more of it, but it doesn't make my hair greasy. I just apply it to the ends and the frizz disappears, than, with a bit of it left on my hands, I comb thru the layers with my fingers. And look like freshly from the hair-stylist - healthy, shiny, just great, also really soft.

It also seems to make my hair color (brunette with blonde highlights) much more vibrant and accentuates the layers in the way I want them to be. And the scent is just to die for...

I use it in combo with the Shine Release Shampoo, I also use it on wet hair, but with my type of hair, it seems to work better on dry hair. However, it makes a great base on wet hair for styling later on. No more bad-hair-days for me, this is certainly something I'll buy over and over again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippihanna on 3/16/2010 6:48:00 AM more reviews by hippihanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could say 'maybe' because im not sure if id buy this again.. Its not expensive so if im in need of some product thats not going to cost too then much i might consider this.
Its nothing fabulous but its not so bad either, I use it as a polisher after flat ironing, it tends to smoothen a bit and give some shine but not alot. As a polisher it works better than some more expensive things I own. I dont notice any results if I put it into my hair wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products