MAC Satin - Smut

4.5

137 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/20/2011 6:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like smut because it is dark without being as harsh as carbon. I usually line my eyes with urban decay's brown pencil liner, apply smut on top (for extra staying power) and to also to give it a less harsh line usually smudging it out. I highly recommend this as a great neutral! It also looks fab with a smokey eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/7/2011 8:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I recently purchased Smut eye shadow and I am SUPER pleased with this color. I've been searching for a color to create the smokey eye look and this one exceeded my expectation. Smut gave me a beautiful smokey eye. I use it all the time whether alone or blended with other colors. I definitely recommend everyone to have this color in their collection! I believe this color is only available at the Pro Store. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2011 7:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in the pro pan from the MAC store, which makes it so easy to pop into my 15 pan palette. Smut is a shadow I use in the corner of my eyes almost everyday. You can add just a touch for a neutral smokey-ish eye or add a lot for a night time smokey eye. Love it!!


on 3/5/2011 8:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm rather confused by the rave reviews, as Smut turned out to be nothing like I hoped it would. In the pan, it is a rich, beautiful dark brownish-black colour with almost a plummy sheen to it.On my lids, however, it is nothing more than a sheer greyish brown with a bit of shimmer. It's also not the most blendable eyeshadow I've worked with, and I find that it can look a bit splotchy at times. I've resorted to using this to smudge my eyeliner, but overall, I wouldn't repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2011 3:35:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Smut is Satin Taupe's deeper, smokier sister; a warm deep browned down grey, it's a friendlier, easier-to-wear alternative to blacks and dark greys often used for smoky looks. It's very easy to blend and generously pigmented, and it works just as well as a liner as it does as a crease shade. Beautiful!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2011 8:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Smut, as mentioned by the poster below, is a really hard color to describe! Warm grey? With slight purple shimmer. Very smooth, texture is lovely, easy to blend. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2010 10:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is absolutely gorgeous and completely unique. It's a hard shade to describe - it's like a medium warm-toned grey with hints of dirty brown. It seems to have reddish or purple undertones in the pan rather than a flat grey/brown (I have mine in a palette with my greys and the difference is really obvious when comparing side by side).

It's great for a smokey eye or as a less intense alternative to a black shadow like Carbon. It blends easily and because of the mixture of shades it would suit pretty much anyone. If you're new to smokey eyes or apprehensive about using a dark, intense colour like Carbon, this might be the perfect alternative. I think this should be a staple in everyone's collection because it's simply beautiful!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/15/2010 10:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently purchased this eyeshadow and I can't get enough of it! it's smokey brownish gray with a hint of purple? I'm not sure.. I know it looks liek a deep purple in the pan but lets out this beautiful smokey brown that makes any makeup look i do look mysterious and sultry at the same time.. I LOVE IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2010 11:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

An online makeup artist recommended this color for a basic smokey eye look. He recommended I put Smut all over the lid and Nylon on the browbone for a highlight. I had a similar shade to Nylon from Maybelline and I did put Smut all over my lid and I really liked how it turned out. It was a toned down version of the dramatic smokey eye look you might see with a shade like Carbon all over the lid. I'm really glad I found this shade and would definitely purchase it again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2010 11:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i looooove love love this eyeshadow! its one of my favorite ones, i like to put it on the outer corners of my eyes to add drama for going-out looks, like a dark smokey eye. i love this paired with shale, i just put shale all over my lid and smut on the corners with copperplate in the crease. love it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top