MAC • Satin - Smut • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(133 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliastyle on 2/23/2011 3:35:00 PM more reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smut is Satin Taupe's deeper, smokier sister; a warm deep browned down grey, it's a friendlier, easier-to-wear alternative to blacks and dark greys often used for smoky looks. It's very easy to blend and generously pigmented, and it works just as well as a liner as it does as a crease shade. Beautiful!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ladehc on 1/24/2011 8:45:00 AM more reviews by ladehc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Smut, as mentioned by the poster below, is a really hard color to describe! Warm grey? With slight purple shimmer. Very smooth, texture is lovely, easy to blend. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emivnc on 12/20/2010 10:52:00 PM more reviews by emivnc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is absolutely gorgeous and completely unique. It's a hard shade to describe - it's like a medium warm-toned grey with hints of dirty brown. It seems to have reddish or purple undertones in the pan rather than a flat grey/brown (I have mine in a palette with my greys and the difference is really obvious when comparing side by side).

It's great for a smokey eye or as a less intense alternative to a black shadow like Carbon. It blends easily and because of the mixture of shades it would suit pretty much anyone. If you're new to smokey eyes or apprehensive about using a dark, intense colour like Carbon, this might be the perfect alternative. I think this should be a staple in everyone's collection because it's simply beautiful!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mellypmakeup on 12/15/2010 10:05:00 AM more reviews by mellypmakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased this eyeshadow and I can't get enough of it! it's smokey brownish gray with a hint of purple? I'm not sure.. I know it looks liek a deep purple in the pan but lets out this beautiful smokey brown that makes any makeup look i do look mysterious and sultry at the same time.. I LOVE IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sweetienat123 on 10/23/2010 11:10:00 PM more reviews by Sweetienat123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

An online makeup artist recommended this color for a basic smokey eye look. He recommended I put Smut all over the lid and Nylon on the browbone for a highlight. I had a similar shade to Nylon from Maybelline and I did put Smut all over my lid and I really liked how it turned out. It was a toned down version of the dramatic smokey eye look you might see with a shade like Carbon all over the lid. I'm really glad I found this shade and would definitely purchase it again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 macaddict87 on 10/19/2010 11:27:00 PM more reviews by macaddict87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i looooove love love this eyeshadow! its one of my favorite ones, i like to put it on the outer corners of my eyes to add drama for going-out looks, like a dark smokey eye. i love this paired with shale, i just put shale all over my lid and smut on the corners with copperplate in the crease. love it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yone53 on 10/14/2010 3:39:00 PM more reviews by Yone53

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The only comment I have to add is about this shadow being difficult to blend for some other reviewers. Do you all use some kind of eyeshadow primer for example Urban Decay Primer or whatever primer of your choice? I find that this if I don't use a primer first, then many of MAC shadows will either streak or I'll have a hard time blending. There are brands that don't seem to require a primer first, but MACS darker pigmented shadows are not one of those brands. IMO.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carrasco on 10/14/2010 2:50:00 PM more reviews by carrasco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently fell back in love with this shadow, I have so many that I tend to neglect some of them from time to time. This color is a mix of black, purple, dark grey? I'm not really sure to be exact. I love using to really darken up any eye look. You can have a simple look with 1 shade on the lid and pop this on the outter v and bam you have a great smokey dramatic eye. This was a late love for me, as I do have many dark colors. I prefer this over carbon any day. Would def repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mrsleonidas on 10/5/2010 9:07:00 PM more reviews by mrsleonidas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First let me say that........I am a MAC addict.
I love me some MAC!
I especially love any dark or light cool toned browns, blacks, and browned/tauped purples....for my crease or entire lid for a smokey eye.



With that being said,
Smut is a very "slight velvet"......(but imo, this is really a matte!)
Its a cool toned muted black with just a very small hint of a reddish purple undertone shimmers. Though to me, the shimmers are only evident while in the pan.


I WISH THAT MINE LOOKED LIKE THE PIC ABOVE WITH THE LID OPEN! And the swatch on MAC's site!
Unfortunately, mine does not!
And I bought mine straight from MAC.com, too!
So, I know it is not an old or a knock off shadow!


(I really really really wanted the shadow to look exactly like the cool toned dark blackened brown with the dark reddish/purple shimmers......just like the image above shows and the swatch on MAC.com!)
I want that color above so bad...for my crease
and for a smokey look on my lids.
If any of you have one that is similar to that color,please message me.....I will be so grateful!


I am very confused about the review below.....that is stating that her shadow is soft and easy to blend!
Because.... this shadow is so HARD!!!!
It doesn't blend well either!
I get darker spots here and there...no matter how long I blend my primer and base out. My 224 and 217 brushes can;t even do the trick easily!
And its not from lack of experience.....because I always use MAC, U.D, and Smashbox makeup!!


Its too bad that this one was just so disappointing for me!
And for $11.00 and the name MAC stamped on it.....I think that this texture is crazy and should be wayyyy better!


On a better note,
I can say that this is good for a different type of black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lisalisa29 on 9/27/2010 2:14:00 PM more reviews by Lisalisa29

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got Smut for curiosity sake because some friends raved out it and I have to say it's my #2 shadow from MAC...my #1 is Espresso.

I really like the color which to me is like a plum brown with some sparkle and it really makes my green eyes pop. It's so soft and easy to work with....can go light or darker for an edgier look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products