Cover Girl • TruBlend Liquid Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.1(729 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 popcornlover722 on 3/18/2014 12:28:00 PM more reviews by popcornlover722

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I'm surprised to see so many low reviews for this foundation, it has been out for quite some time but CG repackaged it and changed the foundation colors recently. I'm not sure if it has been reformulated or not but my review is for the new Tru Blend foundation in shade M3. I have nothing but good things to say about this foundation. I hate drugstore foundations because it is impossible to find the right shade, I was wearing the wrong L'oreal True Match foundation for the longest time due to their complicated shade system(cool/warm/neutral than you pick your number). I was using a "neutral" tone which basically meant PINK toned. I have olive skin and the TruBlend was easy to find my color, I'm in the Medium range and I swatched the tester bottles and found my shade number quickly.

This blends seamlessly, gives me a light-medium coverage, tones down my redness and feels like I have nothing on. I use this for work(bakery so I sweat alot) and it lasts all day. Gives a dewy finish, doesn't make me oily(I have combo skin). I'm in love with this foundation and I use it every single day it is so easy to blend and looks undetectable. I wouldn't use this for photos or going out, but it is the perfect every day foundation to wear to school or work. It doesn't cover my acne scarring but I don't mind my natural skin peaking through because this evens out my entire skin tone and makes me skin look healthy and as I have nothing on. WORTH TRYING!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 3/11/2014 3:54:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I went to Walgreens the other day looking for a new foundation, and an employee there showed me this in their brand new display, I was the first to look at it, so they had every shade available. She told me she had tried it, and recommended it to me (SIDE NOTE: when a drugstore employee recommends something TRY IT. They are not paid to recommend things to you, if they take time to tell you what they think would work for you, you should try it, because they are being sincere) When I brought this home and tried it, let me tell you...

BLESS THE EVERLOVING HEAVENS THIS IS WONDERFUL.
The shades. Just...can we just kneel down and praise Cover Girl for these freakin shades? I am very pale with yellow undertones, never in my life have I had an easy time finding a foundation that matched me. It is always difficult, and sometimes results in me crying on the floor in the makeup section of local drugstores. BUT THIS. This I could write sonnets about. This foundation matched me perfectly (I got L2) and there was VERY LITTLE oxidation (ladies please don't refuse to buy a foundation because it oxidizes, they all oxidize. Find one that oxidizes only slightly darker, and you can take precautions to reduce the oxidization) The lasting power is average, it is not cakey, it does not take the power of the force to get off, it does not feel heavy. It feels as if you're not wearing ANY makeup, but also gives you coverage. It is beautiful, with a natural skin-like finish.

Oh yeah and the pump. I hope every drugstore makeup brand follows in Cover Girls footsteps and puts their foundations in pump bottles, that would be glorious.

This foundation is amazing, and I'm so glad that they decided to make displays with the new bottles, because if not, I probably wouldn't have found this amazing product.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 2/4/2014 4:03:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm not sure why this product tends to separate, or at least it did. The new version doesn't do that for me and I don't see any of the white ingredient. That is the main reason that I wouldn't buy it until now. I assume it's spf and any brown product is just pigment separation. Most foundations say "shake well" for the same reason. This gives light to medium coverage. If foundations tend to oxidize on you, go for a shade or two lighter. Anyone with blemishes, redness, or pigmentation will probably have to conceal, but it does give a soft focus look. I don't feel it's cakey at all, and since it blends easily it's hard to get streaks or lines. It's pretty close to a "natural skin" look for daytime. I'm going to use it for a few more weeks and update.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kittywompus on 2/3/2014 7:49:00 PM more reviews by kittywompus

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product has recently been remarketed/repackaged with some new shades. I got M3 Golden Beige which look nice on me. I like the pump dispenser but the actual makeup has some issues. After the bottle has sat for a day without use, the first pump dispenses a separated product--white streaks in the foundation. So I wipe the nasty stuff up with a tissue and throw it away--major waste of product. The next pump is fine to use but leaves an odd whitish cast or undertone which seems to fade after a while. Doesn't turn orange or greasy like the Outlast 3 in 1 did on me. Medium coverage and lasting ability which is fine but I will not buy again because of the product separation.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelkompier on 1/31/2014 8:36:00 AM more reviews by rachelkompier

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this on a whim in the color l6. I've been trying to find a foundation that really works for me forever and I've tried many different types! I was pleasantly surprised with this foundation and it is just what I was looking for. I have combination skin with very dry patches and very oily areas, this foundation made everything even and provided just the right amount of coverage for daily wear. I applied by just buffing on with a makeup brush and then setting with a few sweeps of Mac Powder + Foundation in the color NW20. It doesn't feel like you're wearing foundation at all (I hate that heavy makeup feeling!) and feels good on the skin. I will be re-purchasing!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Philipmom02 on 1/13/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by Philipmom02

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was pleasantly surprised when I tried this foundation again after decades of using it. I loved it years back in high school so when I tried the new 3 in 1 and felt it was too heavy and turned slightly orange on me, I'd give it a shot. This gives me a flawless, weightless and perfect match to my skin tone. (I use the -10 series in CG, 110, 210, 310, etc. I believe its the neutral fair undertone for their lines) So Classic Ivory is the shade I use in their foundations and its always the best match.

I apply this over their new silicone primer thats like Mallys. I pat it on one pump with my fingers which is the perfect amount. Since it is water based it feels very hydrating which I wasn't expecting. It also feels weightless and blends in beautifully before setting. After a minute I fluff on some trublend powder on top to set it with the new crayon concealer (which is also great in its own right, barely any creasing undereyes and brightens well) It stays put from when I take my son to school, 7am, to when i put him to bed,7 pm. It looks nearly the same as when I first put it on which is pretty amazing for a DS that doesnt claim to be long lasting like the 3 in 1.

Comparing it to the Cream Foundation its much lighter but doesn't have that nice almond scent to it. But still feels very hydrating. Comparing it to the 3 in 1 it has a similar finish and staying power if you use a primer and powder, but since it is less pigmented it doesn't turn orange on me (yes i know its a full coverage but I wanted to try it out).
I am actually preferring this over my Jane Iredale Dream Tint TM which is quite expensive and gives a better finish. If this is how far DS have come since I've tried HE, I think I'm going to be spending more time at the DS!

Give it a shot! Find it when its BOGO or you have 50% sale. I think you might be quite surprised with this one if you have fairly balanced skin. If you are more oily I'd definitely use a primer and a powder.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 1/4/2014 1:11:00 PM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to try a cooler foundation. I usually when I get matched they lean to giving me a yellow base but lately they are looking very orange to me. So at $9.99 with a $5.00 coupon at Walgreens I decided to try the new formulation. I went with L4 Classic Beige in the lighter tone. And for what it is I did like the results. I have the Benefit Hello Flawless in Champagne which was $30 and the consistency is exactly the same. It's a liquid and a bit runny but I dabbed it on my face and blended it in with my ELF flat brush. I didn't get a lot of transfer on the brush because it is synthetic vs Hair and I got a decent blend. It set fairly quickly and I used ELF HL powder. I'm now at hour 8 with another 6 hours to go on a busy day and the foundation has not set into my pours or faded. So far so good. While not a HG I think it's a good everyday or at least a busy day foundation that I can use instead of my more expensive brand and I like the range of colors. If your a foundation picky person, no this may not appeal to you , but if you're budget minded and/or don't want to use your expensive foundation everyday this maybe a good alternative for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KyraMillard on 1/2/2014 12:23:00 AM more reviews by KyraMillard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I finally found a foundation that matches my skin tone.
I bounced around from product to product for years before finding one that actually matches. I have very pale skin, so most foundations called Ivory that are the lightest the line carries were too dark. This one matches perfectly.
It is a bit thin, but that's fine for me since I don't need a ton of coverage. It doesn't break me out at all and doesn't cake up as long as it's applied with a sponge or a very light hand with a dry fluffy brush (it's called dry-brushing and is my preferred method of applying foundation since it only applies a thin layer and looks more natural and not streaky or anything). I do find that I need to set it with powder or that it looks a little oily after a few hours so it would not be good for someone with oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tracygraham on 12/31/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by tracygraham

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is total garbage...no coverage, doesn't last and the color changes dramatically the first hour you wear it! Had to return it..even at $9.99 I expected better than this from Covergirl. I did love the pump..it was the perfect amount of product! Otherwise, this was a dud!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/18/2013 11:42:00 AM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My review is for the new truBlend in the clear glass bottle with raised clear writing on the side, and white letters on the front, in the shades #L5 (formerly 420 - Creamy Natural) and #L6 (formerly #425 Buff Beige).

I used to wear the old "trublend with blendable minerals" liquid foundation in Buff Beige which matched okay, was easy to blend, gave nice light to medium coverage and looked natural - and that is what I was expecting with this version of truBlend. But of course - like many reformulations, unfortunately this one looked terrible on my skin!

I bought 2 shades because Buff Beige was what I wore most of the time in CG foundations, and got Creamy Natural just in case it was too dark. The lighter one, Creamy Natural, is about 2-3 shades too light for me, but when I first applied it, looked okay - just a bit too light obviously but within 3 SECONDS I kid you not - this oxidised on my HAND before I could even finish applying it. I had dabbed it on my cheek and I could see nude and orange-brown streaks appearing like waves. Even my husband laughed and asked what the heck was wrong with my face as I stood bewildered in front of my mirror. I've never seen anything like this. That was two weeks ago, and I thought I'd try it again - same thing. The shade Creamy Natural and Buff Beige both oxidised horribly to the colour of pumpkins. I tried experimenting just to see if it was workable in any way, using different moisturisers, no moisturiser beneath at all, primer, other primers, no primers, with powder or without, sponges, brushes etc. . ..the results was always the same : streaky and orange. I also didn't like the texture very much, it's kind of thick and feels like almost like tinted moisturiser or moisturising gel but then becomes a bit more watery. The coverage is light to almost medium.

I have never, ever in my life had a foundation that oxidised so fast - and I honestly never even believed this could happen when others would mention it, but this foundation has made me believe. Worst foundation I have ever used. This is worse than my former #1 worst base product - WnW Intuitive Blend - which has larger than average balls in it that burst with "skin colour". I'd rather use that junk, and mash bizarre balls into my face - that's how bad this is. If you're considering buying this - try and test it out on your hand. It's like a Cinderella magic trick, turns your hand into a pumpkin in 12 seconds, you don't have to wait till midnight. Just awful! I don't know if it's just the bottles I got or all of them - but if you buy this get a few shades at least, and something way lighter than your skin tone - also keep a receipt just in case. I also posted a picture above, of the new bottles before they went sailing into the trash and of the shade "Creamy Natural" as it oxidises on my hand, and I think the orange streakiness pretty much says it all.

Well, at least it was kind of neat to watch it change colour. Thank goodness I didn't go into work like that or I'd be laughed out of the building.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Liquid products