Queen Helene • Cocoa Butter Creme • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.7(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 7/25/2011 10:15:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Starting using this to prevent stretch marks. I love this stuff. Applies easier. Great creme for massage techniques. Can't beat the price! And doesn't cause acne on my chest. Definitely will buy this throughout my pregnancy and afterwards. Great sally beauty find!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fes_fsa on 7/16/2011 2:37:00 AM more reviews by fes_fsa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

my hair loves this stuff and i think it does a better job moisturizing my hair than cholesterol products. i shampoo my hair thoroughly, put some of this on my hair and scalp and work it through, detangle & rinse, then put my hair up in a towel. when my hair is taken out of the towel, i smooth on a bit more, then let my hair air dry as well as it can. yes, my hair is a bit greasy afterward, but i only do this on days when i don't intend to spend alot of time outdoors. the following day, i shampoo and condition with mane n tail original for the protein content, and afterward, my hair is softer, stronger, the brittleness is gone, and so are my dry ends.

i started doing this before i got a boy-cut in October, and have done this at least once a month ever since i cut my hair. it is now July and i've measured just over 8 inches of growth, my hair is just past my scapular, and i haven't had a split end to speak of--this is with me siliconing the crap out of my hair with a bunch of different hair products, letting it build up, and dry my ends out. it also seems to calm my scalp, which breaks out periodically due to weather fluctuations, overwashing, and trying new/different/horrible hair products.

it's nice on my face, but on my body, it's only okay. i actually kinda prefer the lotion for my body, because this product takes too long to soak in.

it's 5 bucks a jar, it's light and fluffy so with 15 oz you're getting alot of product, and it doesn't smell too strong like other cocoa butter products. i'd buy this product again--in fact, i've gone through quite a few jars in the 10 years i've used this. i highly recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SMOOTHGIRL on 3/8/2011 11:01:00 AM more reviews by SMOOTHGIRL

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG of body butters. Great fragrance, coverage, seals in moisture, overnight foot mask, whatever wherever. Amazing.

Very importantly it does not contribute to back-ne, which many of the heavier moisturizers do to me.

Love you Queen Helene!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KristaSelene on 2/9/2011 6:34:00 PM more reviews by KristaSelene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Don't let the price fool you! This is an amazing product that makes my skin feel like a baby's. I wouldn't recommend this to someone with extremely oily or acne-prone skin or who can't handle strong scents. But I use this on my face as a moisturizer and to decrease the appearance of any dryness, redness or wrinkles. I put it on before bed because I find that it does take awhile to absorb into my skin. When I wake up, my skin looks better and feels so smooth! This is also a great product for sunburns, stretch marks and scars and can be used all over the body for a variety of purposes. It is easy to find and so affordable. Most women should have this product in their medicine cabinet or vanity!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 1/16/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great product for an even greater price. The quality is up there with the Body Shop's body butters at a fraction on the price; however, my skin has become sensitive to the mineral oil in this product,so I'm not using it as much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 samhoney on 12/5/2010 4:55:00 PM more reviews by samhoney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have edema swelling in both ankles, feet and mid calves. The swelling and stretching has caused severe dry skin and scaly patches and ashy-ness. I found this at my local Dollar General for $1.

I exfoliated both legs from mid calves down to toes. Got a clump of the butter creme and started rubbing and rubbing and running it in. Wow! The drynes, tightness and itchiness is gone. I can't even get results like this from expensive lotions. The sunflower tattoo on my ankle appears washed out, ashy and very dull due to the dry skin. Now, it looks renewed and rejuvinated, as beautiful today as it was the day I got it in 1994.

This is so cheap and is a total work horse. Buy a jar and let it work hard for YOUR dry skin!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 denise4448 on 9/11/2010 9:00:00 PM more reviews by denise4448

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the ONLY thing that worked when I was trying to ween my skin off of a steriod cream. Yes it is oily but that is what you need when trying to stop using steroids. I gave it 4 lippies because it does take a while to absorb, but when you awake in the morning you will notice a difference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xbanannax on 6/12/2010 2:06:00 AM more reviews by xbanannax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

First of all, the main ingredients are mineral oil, water and wax. The cocoa butter is an after thought. Second, its loaded with dyes. I could deal with the mineral oil and waxes if they were not listed first since they do protect skin and seal in a layer of moisture. However, I can not tolerate unnecessary dyes. I know I am personally allergic to Red 33 and I suspect some of the other people, who indicated they experienced hives or allergies with this product, could be suffering from similar reactions from the dyes. Palmer's cocoa butter formula in a jar maybe a better alternative because it does not contain these dyes.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wiseowl on 6/8/2010 8:27:00 PM more reviews by wiseowl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't find this greasy, provided I'm in an air conditioned place or a coolish to temperate room when I apply this. Actually, this stuff absorbs fairly quickly on me. I'm not bothered by the packaging because I always use a clean q-tip to get some out. I'm not put off by the smell, kind of like it, but if you're not into cocoa butter scents, don't get this.
Reasons for making my score a two. On the directions on the tub, it says to be applied to the face and the body. Well, it has lanolin in it. While lanolin is perfectly fine for a good portion of people, there are definitely people who have bad reactions with lanolin, especially applied on such a sensitive part as the face. There is also mineral oil in this. I'm not one of those anti-mineral oil people: I've known some people on MUA who've had great results with mineral oil. But, I think the effect of mineral oil in a facial moisturizer varies with people. To blithely say in directions to use as a facial moisturizer a product w/lanolin and mineral oil is simply foolish. The other major reason why my score is a two is because it's not moisturizing enough for sore, dry hands or really tough feet. Yeah, I'll get Queen Helene Cocoa Butter Creme again when money is tight, but not when I have enough money for imported German Nivea or Weleda Skin Food.
Update: With the weather getting cooler and drier, I found this product simply didn't do enough for my feet and hands. I threw it out while there was still close to half in the container. I'm changing it to a NO for the will you buy this again category.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starkssb on 5/18/2010 12:40:00 PM more reviews by starkssb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

this stuff is instant relief for my dry feet! its greasy so i have to let it soak in, but only for a few minutes. my heels are so soft and my feet are comfy and moisturized.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Queen Helene products

More Lotions/ Creams products