Pro Activ • Proactiv Repairing Lotion • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.3(280 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 missidek on 1/11/2013 12:41:00 AM more reviews by missidek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have to agree with everyone on this product. Overpriced for what it is and I'm a little concerned with the long-term effects. I'm actually in the process of weaning myself off of this for good (if you stop cold-turkey, be ready for massive breakouts like everyone else has mentioned. I tried once before and panicked when I broke out so I was forced to start using it again.)
I actually have never had terrible skin but way back when, I decided that I would try this to take care of the odd blemish. Big mistake because I believe what happens is that the BP/repairing lotion almost becomes an addiction for your skin and disrupts the natural detoxification your body needs to go through. As a result, cysts have begun to appear instead of that odd blemish. Now, in all fairness, I don't know if I can blame Proactiv completely (since I have also read about hormones/stress being a possible cause) but at the same time, I have to say that I do find it strange that more than one person has claimed the same thing after using Proactiv for more than a year. (I've been using it for 5 years!) Interesting that we all have come to the same conclusion in time. Another issue for me is the dryness/redness it causes. If only I could turn back time and tell my younger self not to buy this. Anyway, I do not recommend this for anyone. I suppose Benzoyl Peroxide does help control oil to some extent but overall I think Proactiv causes more harm than good and in no way is it the be all and end all of clear skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alrynlds on 11/30/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by alrynlds

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Over counter works just as good and for a lot less. I would not recommend nor buy this product or their vitamins again..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leoisillon on 11/25/2012 10:51:00 AM more reviews by leoisillon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I got this about a year ago as a gift and when I first started using it, I swear it worked on my blemishes! Then after setting in my bathroom cupboard for some time (don't always need to use it), I noticed it started to not work as well. Now normally benzoyl peroxide doesn't do much for my skin anyways and I believe that is the main component that helps fight acne in this product. So I was quite surprised that I got any good results in the first place. What I noticed is that it had expired so I threw it out. I think it's a good product but you have to watch the expiration dates for sure in order to get the most out of it. The amount that comes in the bottle is insane I think for someone only using it to treat pimples (a generous sized bottle). I believe you can spread it all over your face like a cream if you have more severe acne. I don't find it extremely drying like some pimple creams and it does reduce bumps very quickly. It just doesn't do it as quick as Clearasil for me. The other thing I thought I'd mention is I hate the packaging. It comes in a bottle that you squeeze and it comes out the top like shampoo or conditioner. It would be less awkward to get out if it came in a squeeze tube. Less waste IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 daniellejmckenzie on 10/23/2012 6:28:00 PM more reviews by daniellejmckenzie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Just doesn't help improve my skin at all. The minute you stop using it the bumps come back...I believe the 2nd step which is the toner is extra drying. It may work wonders for some people but it does nothing for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smiles4life on 9/16/2012 1:52:00 PM more reviews by smiles4life

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I started getting pimples in 6th grade. And I began using store products (clean and clear, st. ives, neutrogena, eveeno, biore, etc) but nothing ever really worked! I've had black heads on my nose for the past 5 years of my life! And just last year, I began to break out on my cheeks, which left me horrible scars. I began to ask people about proactiv, and some said to not use it because my skin will get addicted and other said it worked wonderfully. I was in desperate measures so I bought it and began using it. At first, proactiv brings out all the bad stuff, which is a good thing! This takes a while, but then i really began to see changes in my skin. and i liked it! i would still get minor pimples with proactiv, but not as bad. but then the area around my eyes began to dry out.and when i would put concealer, you could totally see the peeling skin. it looked horrible. so i stopped using it. but i realized i shouldnt have used it around my eye area. and its true, your skin does get addicted, but as long as you keep using it until you grow out of the whole pimple era, you'll be fine. I havent used proactiv in a few months and i did break out so i went to the doctors. and if this perscription med doesn't work, im going back to proactiv but using extra caution around my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmibabyy on 8/19/2012 11:29:00 AM more reviews by emmibabyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

A necessity for me. I used to use the whole proactiv treatment which pretty much ruined my skin. Now I just use this, keeps most break outs at bay. When I feel a really bad painful one coming on, I put a whole bunch of this on the area and usually it never even comes. It stops hurting and never comes to a head. Best benzoyl peroxide treatment you can buy in my opinion. But do NOT buy directly from Proactiv, buy on amazon. You can get a huge bottle for a little less than 20$. Lasts me for months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SummerlForster on 8/5/2012 7:17:00 AM more reviews by SummerlForster

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

So ,my acne isnt to bad but it is very persistent and all of my pimples are these weird,under the skin,no head kinda of pimples. I have about 5 full blown active pimples on my forehead generally whenever but along with that i have alot of permanent acne scarring and red blotches in the same area :l I got the proactive 3 step system in june and i noticed results in about 1 weeks. The pimples were'nt so red and the area that the pimples were in wasnt so....inflated. However i stopped noticing these results about 3 weeks later. My forehead become very oily and red :( I decided to try and use the cleanser and the toner by itself AND OMG! My pimlples are nearly all gone and the reddness is basically non-existent! The toner basically dries the pimple out and adding heaps of moisure to it ontop is just going to undo the drying out process. Even though this product leaves your skin feeling nice and smooth, it does nothing for the actual acne itself. The cleanser and the toner are a much better combination!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kloud04 on 7/8/2012 10:38:00 AM more reviews by kloud04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Summertime causes tiny little bumps on my hairline, I am guessing from perspiration. A BP cream at night is the only thing that makes them go away. This product is completely overpriced and super dupeable. Nature's Cure Acne treatment (the one with the pills) has a cream that is ten times better than this. I tried this proactiv product again the other day b/c I found it tucked away in a drawer and quickly remember why I stuck it there. This causes tiny clogged pores on my face (jawline and chin) no matter how little I apply.If used as a spot treatment it causes the entire area to become inflamed and over a period of a couple of days you end up with dry flaky patches. I pitched this and went back to my natures cure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 texasbeautyaddict on 6/25/2012 2:39:00 PM more reviews by texasbeautyaddict

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this lotion in combination with Purpose Gentle Cleanser and Dan's AHA + lotion.
The Pro-activ system as a whole (I used it when I was 16), is unnecessary, but the lotion by itself is a good component as it is actually the step that you want to treat your acne with because it is what is soaking into your skin (versus the wash that well...just washes off).
The lotion has a mild fragrance, and there is nothing moisturizing about the product (at least, not for me), and it will more than likely dry out your skin and make it red. As a stand alone product (if I'm lazy or going to be in the sun a lot, I may skip the AHA), I use it to treat my pimples and have had great success so far in doing this. I started my regimen in December 2011, and break out much less now (if ever- unless I have finals or I've been physically active lately...you can treat acne...but acne and stress on your body is a different story). It dries out pimples and kills the bacteria inside them quickly, and in combination with the AHA+ essentially annihilates them and allows for quick recovery if they pop up.
Salicylic acid breaks me out like no other. Consider trying BP if this is a problem for you, but take into consideration what else you are doing as well and experiment with your regimen to find what works for you.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jrbmua on 5/21/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by jrbmua

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Lenth of use: 7 years
Frequency of use: Daytime only.
PROS:
-Prevents major breakouts... I am prone to cystic breakouts and several pimples at a time.
-Does not irritate skin and I have tried MANY lotions and creams... I always go back to this.
-Works well on its own. I used to do the whole 3 step system for the first couple years. Then found a cheaper toner and cleanser as my skin calmed down.
-Absorbs well into skin. I wait 15 min before applying foundation.
-Does not make my skin look oily.
-Feels hydrating enough for me and I do not need too much hydration having oily skin.
-A nickle size is enough to cover my whole face.
-For daytime use only, the 3oz bottle lasts me about 6 to 7 months... not bad at $20 something dollars for a bottle.
*CONS:
-I prefer tubes versus bottle so I can really squeeze out the last bit left.
*Notes:
Do not expecta a miracle. This does not completely prevent acne... what product actually does though? The occassional pimple I get, which is a lot less than prior to use of this product, is a pimple usually related to my cycle, sleep, activity and eating pattern. The major flareups I have ever had were the three times I strayed from using this BP lotion and tried other acne fighting lotions which only gave me more acne. This seems to be the only BP lotion that works with my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Treatments (Face) products