Bond No.9 • Nuits de Noho • Fragrances

rated 3.7(93 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 11/7/2008 10:46:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Nuits de Noho is similar to Molinard Nirmala in the topnotes, and after that its second-cousinship to Angel ends in a swirl of candy and Coty.

Once the top notes dissipate, a very heady mix of alkaline-like orange candy (Pez?) and strong synthetic floral emerges. Subjectively, this may be a fairly nasty phase. I was torn between recalling a childhood candy and feeling as if I'd just entered Toxic Drugstore Danger Zone, wherein one experiments with cheap fragrances to disastrous effect.

Nuits de Noho smells florid and striving for most of its lifespan, and in some ways it reminds me of the type of drinks menu populated by a creative bartender who hasn't actually any real talent for mixology. In the heart notes, Nuits de Noho tries way too hard to impress; rather than chic one finds Las Vegas-like luridness, a borrowing of heavy-handedness and mistaken metaphor. A child might have mixed this, adding a dollop more of sweet gourmand when the concoction was already confused and bursting to incongruous excess.

This is not the worst Bond. Once the noisiness of the top and heart fade, you're left with patchouli and a Caramel Creme, but this isn't the dry patch of Angel. An indignity has been visited upon this scent. Rather than leaving it alone, the perfumer insisted on keeping gourmand in the drydown. Fortunately, it is nowhere near as tenacious as something like Bleecker.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KACAPANA on 10/16/2008 10:48:00 PM more reviews by KACAPANA

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is beautiful, but so far (30 minutes since I sprayed)
I am waiting for it to change ---
to change into a fragrance that doesn't smell exactly like Angel.
If that happens, I'll edit my review.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tempest322 on 7/11/2008 9:58:00 PM more reviews by tempest322

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Wow, I expected to love this given the list of notes. But unfortunately, not unlike New Haarlem (which I cannot wear at all), Nuits de Noho opens with a terribly shrill, men's aftershave note that is just awful on my skin. It's not just masculine, it's bad. However, I like this better than New Haarlem because the drydown is rather interesting. I seem to get a bit of chocolate and anise (which some despise but I really like), along with patchouli. It's amazing to read some reviews from people who think this is sweet and foody ... I don't get that at all! Even the drydown is rich and dark but not at all foody. I won't even use up my sample of this, let alone purchase it. I'm surprised so many women like this -- it's quite masculine to me, though it is interesting, which is why I give it 3 lippies. I guess skin chemistry really does vary wildly. So New York is still my favorite Bond No. 9 (and I don't find it similar to this at all, though both have been called "gourmand").

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 5/26/2008 3:24:00 PM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I must say that this fragrance (initially) smells like "Angel Innocent" (which btw I LOVE). This differs from 'Angel Innocent" when it starts to drydown. It leaves a very interesting, sophisticated, sexy and very unique fragrance (which I LOVE too). Because of this uniqueness in the drydown and the very good lasting power, I think this fragrance is well worth the money even though it's ridiculously expensive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 52pigtails on 4/23/2008 3:40:00 AM more reviews by 52pigtails

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

At first swiff it really IS like Angel (and I don't like Angel at all). Yet it grows better after a while, revealing some flowers that rescue its uniqueness. To get an idea of the difference, just look at the notes:
The Pyramid of Nuits de Noho

Top Notes: Bergamot, Mandarin, Pineapple Leaves.
Middle Notes: Jasmine, Rosewood.
Base Notes: Vanilla, Patchouli, Grey Musk.

The notes for Angel are:Chocolate, Vanilla, Caramel, Berries, Honey, Bergamot.

The thing in Angel that makes me gag is the gasoline-like smell of labdanum (I don't know if it's there, but I definitely smell it), and labdanum is not in NDN, that's why I can still appreciate it.
I would never wear it on myself (I like flowers, and my favourite Bond is Park Avenue), but I think it's a gracious fragrance, after all, and well done, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alym702 on 3/2/2008 3:24:00 PM more reviews by alym702

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ewww yuck ewww yuck....however if you enjoy Angel you'll love this one. It is an Angel dupe with an even higher price point. Ewww ewww ewww. If your looking for a gourmand from this line try New Haarlem or New York. Bryant Park is gourmand, but more of a raspberry strawberry sorbet, very sweet. Overall just ewww yuck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pussycat74 on 2/26/2008 2:57:00 AM more reviews by pussycat74

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this, am on my third bottle. Have been trying to find a signature fragrance for some time, and this is it [well, for the time being!] I disagree that this isn't unique. I haven't found anything that smells like this, and believe me, I've spent many hours in Harrods/Harvey Nicks spraying on everything there! To me, it's wearably quirky - warm, womanly, chocolatey, but with an edge that takes the sweetness off a bit. It has pretty good lasting power. I get a lot of compliments about it. If it helps, other fragrances I like are Guerlain L'Heure Bleue and Flower by Kenzo. The only thing is the price - it's staggeringly expensive, and I can't quite see why. I'm trying to buy it half price on Ebay as we speak.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tmilstein on 2/20/2008 12:05:00 PM more reviews by tmilstein

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this in the store and a vial. Everyone kept saying it smells like Angel, but better, so I was anxious to try it.
I can say that NONE of the Bond No. 9 fragrances I've tried smell quite like Angel. Unless some people are getting a completely different scent on their skin from one or the other, I don't get it.
Nuit de Noho smells like Mimosa on me. It's got no chocolate or vanilla that I detect. So New York smells like white chocolate and milk, but still not like Angel. New Haarlem has a much more sophisticated, long-lasting coffee aroma. Still not Angel.
I think people get reminded of certain notes that are in common.
Anyway, since I don't like my scents to smell like flowers, this didn't work for me, but it wasn't bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* drvogue on 2/17/2008 4:02:00 PM more reviews by drvogue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Angel at top notes, Angel in heart notes, Angel in the drydown. Do you get the picture? This is a watered-down version of Angel. It didn't give me as strong a headache (and gag reflex) as Angel does.

My husband loves this (and Angel) on me, which is why it gets three starts (sorry lippies, hate that word).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chrissys16 on 2/8/2008 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Chrissys16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this...and love it all the more because most of my friends have never even heard of it nor can remember the name when I tell them what I'm wearing (thus preventing any "cloning"). I don't think it smells at all like Angel but I can see how someone who would like the smell of Angel would like Nuits de Noho as well...I think it must have a lot of the same notes in it.


Chemistry is a funny thing, though. Whereas I have worn Nuits do Noho all day and all night long for three years and am still intoxicated by it me whenever I catch a whiff (love it, love it...), I love Angel but only on OTHER people, not on me. It's great when I put it on but it turns on me and smells like a toxic gingerbread house after half hour, making me tempted to whack my wrists off at the elbows after reinacting Lady MacBeth at the wash basin in the ladies' room.



That said, my friends can keep their Angel! I am all about my Nuits de Noho; it's a world apart and so much richer and more complex...


BTW, I am just now running out of the 3.3 oz bottle of Nuits de Noho I got in July of '05, and the smell/color indicates the small portion left in the bottle is a tad past it's prime. I stored it the exact way you're NOT supposed to (on the shelf in my bathroom, exposed to humidity, light, all that other bad stuff) but I couldn't help it because the bottle was so chic, so gorgeous, so artsy, so glamorous, so blindingly beautiful!! For being 2 1/2 years old, though, it had a good run of it and I'm going out this weekend to buy more...only this time, I am going for the 1.7 oz version. Not sure where I'm going to keep this one, though...have I learned my lesson? I guess we'll see...

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bond No.9 products

More Fragrances products